What ‘Doctor Who’ novels would I like to see adapted into audio?

Ma-29 Blood%20Harvest%20Cover Goth%20Opera%20Cover Empire_of_Death

Hello everyone! 🙂

I’m not usually one for reading lots of ‘Doctor Who’ books due to my lateness coming into the series in 2005/06. But with the recent ‘Novel Adaptions’ by Big Finish for ‘Doctor Who’, I’ve been excited by the prospect of having my favourite ‘Doctor Who’ books turned into Big Finish audio dramas.

The books I have in mind are ones featuring Nyssa, my favourite ‘Doctor Who’ companion. I’ve read most of the books with Nyssa in ‘Doctor Who’ and from the varying taste of the Virgins novels and the BBC books from the 1990s and early 2000s, I know which ones I want to be adapted for audio.

Here are the books, I’d like to see adapted for audio by Big Finish.

Virgin ‘Doctor Who’ Books

There are three ‘Doctor Who’ books by Virgin Publishing from the 1990s I’d like to see adapted for audio. These are most likely candidates to be adapted for audio since the main focus of Novel Adaptations by Big Finish are on adapting the books from the 90s by Virgin Publishing.

The books are ‘Cold Fusion’ and ‘Goth Opera’ with Peter Davison’s Fifth Doctor and ‘Blood Harvest’ with Sylvester McCoy’s Seventh Doctor.

‘Cold Fusion’ is a book that features the Fifth Doctor; Tegan; Nyssa and Adric. It also features the Seventh Doctor with his companions Chris Cwej and Roz Forrester. This would be very exciting for audio, especially as Chris and Roz have made their Big Finish audio debut in ‘Damaged Goods’.

I can see the cast list for ‘Cold Fusion’ already.

‘COLD FUSION’
Starring
PETER DAVISON as the Fifth Doctor and SYLVESTER McCoy as the Seventh Doctor
With
JANET FIELDING as Tegan Jovanka; SARAH SUTTON as Nyssa; MATTHEW WATERHOUSE as Adric; TRAVIS OLIVER as Chris Cwej and YASMIN BANNERMAN as Roz Forrester.

There’s also ‘Blood Harvest’ and ‘Goth Opera’ which are two linked ‘Doctor Who’ books featuring vampires. ‘Goth Opera’ is the one book I’d like to see adapted for audio especially since it would feature a brilliant performance from Sarah Sutton as Nyssa as she can ‘get her teeth’ into this one.

‘Blood Harvest’ would feature the Seventh Doctor; Ace and Bernice Summerfield with Romana II and ‘Goth Opera’ would feature the Fifth Doctor; Nyssa and Tegan with Romana. I can see the cast lists for both of these stories if they were adapted for audio.

‘BLOOD HARVEST’
Starring
SYLVESTER McCOY as the Doctor; SOPHIE ALDRED as Ace and LISA BOWERMAN as Bernice Summerfield
With
LALLA WARD as Romana

‘GOTH OPERA’
Starring
PETER DAVISON as the Doctor; SARAH SUTTON as Nyssa and JANET FIELDING as Tegan
With
LALLA WARD as Romana

I hope these ‘Doctor Who’ books will get adapted into audio soon. It would be very fantastic if they did by Big Finish.

BBC ‘Doctor Who’ Books

There are two ‘Doctor Who’ books I’ve enjoyed reading from BBC Books. I doubt these books will get adapted by Big Finish as BBC Audio are currently adapting them as audiobooks to be read by one of the actors in the TV series. But it would be nice if they were adapted by Big Finish all the same.

The books are ‘Empire of Death’ with the Fifth Doctor and Nyssa and ‘Festival of Death’ with the Fourth Doctor; Romana II and K-9.

‘Empire of Death’ is a fantastic and lovely ‘Doctor Who’ book with the Doctor and Nyssa set in Queen Victoria’s time. I’m surprised this isn’t a Big Finish audio as it’s clearly a strong character story for Nyssa and is set after ‘Time-Flight’ and before her solo travels with the Fifth Doctor in Big Finish.

I would like this to be adapted as an audio drama by Big Finish with Peter Davison and Sarah Sutton as I’m sure they’ll enjoy doing this. But I’m equally happy to have this as a BBC audiobook and hope that Sarah Sutton will read it as it should rightly be since the story’s mostly about Nyssa here.

‘Festival of Death’ is a Fourth Doctor adventure by Jonathan Morris from the Douglas Adams. I’ve been enjoying listening to the three audio adaptations of the Gareth Roberts novels with the Fourth Doctor. This isn’t a Gareth Roberts novel, but I’ve enjoyed reading it during the summer of 2015.

It’s got plenty of Douglas Adams’ style wit and humour and is a pretty good timey-wimey story with the Doctor; Romana and K-9. If Big Finish adapted this for audio, I’ll be very happy indeed. Or else, I’ll be happy to hear this as an audiobook by the BBC and hope that Lalla Ward will narrate it for audio.

So there you have it. Those are the ‘Doctor Who’ books I’d like to see adapted into audio. I hope my wishes get granted whether by BBC or Big Finish. I’m hoping to keep track on the latest news on the novel adaptions and audiobooks coming out way for the rest of 2015 and for next year in 2016.

I hope the ‘Doctor Who’ books you’d wish to see adapted into audio come true too.

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

This entry was posted in Doctor Who, Nyssa and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What ‘Doctor Who’ novels would I like to see adapted into audio?

  1. Constonks says:

    I think BF tries to avoid the reprints if possible so Festival of Death is pretty unlikely but the others are potential hits I think! (I’m personally hoping Cold Fusion is the mystery eleventh adaptation that I paid for last year!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tim Bradley says:

    Thanks Constonks. Yes I hope ‘Cold Fusion’ is the mystery 3-disc adaptation from Big Finish. I wonder when this announcement will be made, especially as Peter; Janet; Sarah and Matthew are doing more audio adventures as the Doctor; Tegan; Nyssa and Adric (hopefully later this year according to Sarah at a convention recently). Tim. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

