Day 2 – Bradley’s Basement’s Advent Calendar 2015

ChristmasDate2

Hello everyone! 🙂

It’s Day 2 of ‘Bradley’s Basement’s Advent Calendar 2015’.

Today, I’d like to share with you one of my favourite BBC TV sitcoms from the 1970s. It lasted for two seasons sadly, but it’s very good with the comedy and the writing.

Fawlty Towers’ is an absolutely brilliant comedy series by John Cleese and Connie Booth, starring John Cleese; Prunella Scales; Andrew Sachs and Connie Booth. I love this series as the twelve episodes are brilliantly funny in their way and they never tire out as they’re so compelling to watch.

I watched these episodes when my parents and I were lent the original BBC VHS videos by my grandparents on my dad’s side back in the 90s. When we got our own DVD player, one of the earliest DVDs we had was the complete box set of ‘Fawlty Towers’ with Series 1 and 2 and bonus features.

My favourite episodes from this series include ‘Gourmet Night’; ‘Communication Problems’; ‘The Kipper and the Corpse’ and ‘Basil the Rat’. They’re so funny and I love the characters of Basil; Sybil; Manuel and Polly throughout this series. I do feel sorry for Manuel who gets bullied a lot by Basil.

I did my own version of ‘Fawlty Towers’ with my best mate from school. I also attended amateur stage shows of ‘Fawlty Towers’ in 2012 and 2013 and ‘The Fawlty Towers Dining Experience’ in September, 2015 that both took place in Cardiff.

‘Fawlty Towers’ is a TV comedy series that I enjoy re-watching from time to time throughout the years. Both the writing and the comedy are superb and it never tires. I’d like to see a Christmas special of ‘Fawlty Towers’ one day. Whether John Cleese and Connie Booth will write it, I don’t know.

Bye for now.

Tim. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 2 – Bradley’s Basement’s Advent Calendar 2015

  1. Well considering my dad is actually Basil Fawlty which has been his nickname for years this is a must.

    Classic comedy gold, they don’t make em this funny today.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No they certainly don’t make comedy like this anymore. I wish I was living back in the 70s and 80s to have seen what these classic comedy shows were like to watch on TV.

    Thanks Timelord Simon. Interesting comments of yours about your dad being actually like Basil Fawlty who you’ve given him the nickname. 😀 Tim. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

