Alan Rickman 1946-2016

Alan_Rickman_after_Seminar_(3)

Hello everyone. 😦

I’m sorry to be the bearer of sad news, but it turns out that Alan Rickman has sadly passed away today at the age of 69. This is such a shock and my prayers and thoughts are with his family who were with him when he died. Alan passed away after a long battle with cancer and he will be sorely missed.

I first saw Alan in the BBC drama series called ‘The Barchester Chronicles’ made in 1982 where he plays Mr Slope. He would go on to appear in many films including ‘Sense and Sensibility’; ‘Galaxy Quest’ and also in the ‘Harry Potter’ film series where he played the mysterious Professor Snape.

I will always have fond memories of Alan Rickman as an actor, and it’s such a shame he passed away so suddenly and tragically. I’ve read some of the tributes made by actors like Stephen Fry and Eddie Izzard who have fond memories of him. Here’s to one of the finest British actors ever in the world!

Tim.

This entry was posted in Tribute and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Alan Rickman 1946-2016

  1. timelord007 says:

    And don’t forget Die Hard as Hans Gruber, he stole the film from under Bruce Willis, a great actor who always gave brilliant believable performances.

    A very nice written tribute Tim.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tim Bradley says:

      I’ve yet to see ‘Die Hard’ with Alan Rickman in it. I’ll always remember him for being Slope in ‘Barchester Chronicles’ and Snape in ‘Harry Potter’.

      Thanks Simon. Glad you like my tribute to Alan Rickman. Tim.

      Like

  2. IWishIHadATardis says:

    Hi Tim

    Sad news indeed. It’s not been a good week for such sad deaths. I’m glad you mentioned remembering Alan Rickman in the Barchester Chronicles series. I loved the Anthony Trollope adaptations that the BBC did, and Alan Rickman’s take on Obadiah Slope was truly memorable.

    He was certainly a marvellous actor, and will be sorely missed.

    Leigh

    Liked by 2 people

    • Tim Bradley says:

      Hi Leigh

      No it hasn’t been a good week with sad deaths. First David Bowie, now Alan Rickman. I don’t know much about David Bowie, but I do know he sang a song for ‘Shrek 2’ and was a contender to play Sharaz Jek in ‘The Caves of Androzani’ which is interesting.

      I remember seeing ‘The Barchester Chronicles’ when I was very young and remember seeing Alan Rickman as Slope in that before he did ‘Harry Potter’. I’m glad you saw him in that series as that was a role that he was pretty well remembered for before his rise to fame.

      Thanks Leigh. Glad you like my tribute to Alan Rickman.

      Tim.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. IWishIHadATardis says:

    I didn’t know David Bowie had been a contender for Sharaz Jek; that’s very interesting; he would have been great in the part, I feel sure. He was a very talented all-round artist, and has left a cultural legacy that would be hard to match by anybody, I think.

    I remember Alan Rickman well in Barchester Chronicles; I re-read Anthony Trollope’s Barchester books often, and his Palliser novels, as well as many of his other works. I really like his work, and Alan Rickman played Slope tremendously well.

    I remember seeing Anthony Ainley in one of Trollope’s adapted works; he played the Rev. Emilius in the adaptation of The Eustace Diamonds as part of the Pallisers tv adaptation; he was wonderful in that. Funny how many references we can find to Doctor Who in these actors’ work.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Tim Bradley says:

      Yes I knew that Anthony Ainley was in ‘The Pallisers’ with Susan Hampshire and Phillip Latham (who played President Borusa in ‘The Five Doctors’) 😀 In fact, I believe it was from ‘The Pallisers’ that producer John Nathan-Turner cast Anthony to play the Master in ‘Doctor Who’ during the eighties. Thanks Leigh. Tim. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

