Movie Review – ‘The Revenant’

The_Revenant_2015_film_poster

Hello everyone! 🙂

I’ve seen ‘The Revenant’ with Leonardo DiCaprio on the big screen!

NB. This is a 15-rated film, as it’s suitable for persons of 15 years and over. It contains strong violence, bloody injury detail and strong language.

This was recommend to me by Sarah Sutton (Nyssa of ‘Doctor Who’), when I saw her recently at the ‘Science of the Time Lords’ event in Leicester, January 2016. She asked, ‘had I seen ‘The Revenant’ yet?’. I said “No, I hadn’t” and she recommended I’d see it on the big screen, and that’s just what I did.

My parents and I saw this movie at our local cinema. It was an amazing; extraordinary and thought-provoking experience for me to see. ‘The Revenant’ has lately been awarded at the BAFTAS awards for Best Leading Actor (Leonardo DiCaprio); for Best Director (Alejandro G. Iñárritu) and Best Picture.

‘The Revenant’ is a gritty; American western story based on true events of frontiersman and fur trapper Hugh Glass in 1823. Attacked and injured by a grizzly bear; Glass seeks revenge on John Fitzgerald who killed his son and journeys through the wintry cold landscapes of the Northern Plains.

As well as a story about revenge, it’s also a story about survival as Glass tries to keep alive whilst journeying the harsh weather and obstacles of the Northern Plains. The film is pretty gory (too much for my liking); but the film work by director Alejandro G. Iñárritu is pretty amazing on the big screen.

The cast are also superb. Leonardo DiCaprio steals the movie as he delivers one of his best performances in a film. He’s come a long way from doing films like ‘Titanic’ and ‘Romeo and Juliet’. Tom Hardy (who I’ve seen in ‘Star Trek: Nemesis’) was also superb as the villainous John Fitzgerald.

I’m pleased that I’ve now seen ‘The Revenant’ on the big screen. It truly is a spectacular movie experience. It’s no surprise to see why this film became amazing successful at the awards. I was pleased with movie’s conclusion and the plot twists that happened whilst watching it at the cinema.

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

Leave a Reply

