Holiday Report – Blenheim Palace, Woodstock (February 2016)

DSCF6560

Hello everyone! 🙂

I’ve had a nice weekend at the end of February! I was with my parents when we went to Woodstock, outside of Oxford. We spent two days on Saturday 27th to Sunday 28th of February, going to; having a look around and enjoying the sites of Blenheim Palace. This was where Winston Churchill was born.

Blenheim Palace is an amazing place and I greatly enjoyed seeing everything that was there. I enjoyed having walks with my parents in the grounds of Blenheim Palace as well as looking inside. There were indeed a few surprises for me when I was inside Blenheim Palace itself.

The weather was very good for both days as it was sunny and dry, although it was pretty cold. But I enjoyed going on the walks around Blenheim Palace and to see all the beautiful scenery.


Saturday 27th February 2016

Inside Blenheim Palace, we did ‘The Untold Story’ exhibition. This was an exciting exhibition telling the story of Blenheim Palace using holograms; film footage and waxwork models. ‘The Untold Story’ had actors playing historical characters who lived at Blenheim Palace from the 1700s to the present.

On ‘The Untold Story’ tour, I was surprised to see…and I’m not kidding on this…Nicola Bryant (who plays Peri in ‘Doctor Who’) playing Winston Churchill’s mother in the 1940s section of the tour! I couldn’t believe it! It was a nice surprise for me as I’ve met Nicola Bryant already at conventions.

In the gardens, there was a model village of Woodstock. My mum and I also went into a hedge maze and had an exciting adventure going through it. I felt like Laurel & Hardy from ‘A Chump at Oxford’!

Going back and forth on the train ride from Blenheim Palace to the gardens was exciting for me. The train engine was called Winston and it made me feel like a little boy again as I loved ‘Thomas the Tank Engine’. My parents and I had plenty of cups of tea in the cafes at Blenheim Palace!


Sunday 28th February 2016

Inside Blenheim Palace, my parents and I had a look around the State Rooms which was very enjoyable to do. I was able to take some photos of the State Rooms including some of the dining room; the library and the organ. The organist had a hard time playing the organ as it was so cold.

We then did ‘The Churchill Tour’, that told the story of Winston Churchill’s life from a little boy to Prime Minister. I found Churchill’s early life interesting as he was a painter and liked the story of how he fell in love with Clementine Churchill. I got to listen to his ‘fight on the beaches’ speech on audio.

Afterwards, we went to the chapel of Blenheim Palace. There were some nice plaques on display as well as some amazing statues of angels (not ‘weeping’ ones thankfully 😀 ). That afternoon, my parents and I went on a four and a half mile walk in the grounds of Blenheim Palace which was enjoyable to do.

The weekend away in Woodstock was great! I enjoyed going to Blenheim Palace. It was a nice, relaxing break for me.

I highly recommend visiting Blenheim Palace. Check out the website for more details about Blenheim Palace.

It was a great time for me and my parents. I look forward to going there again soon!

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Holiday Report – Blenheim Palace, Woodstock (February 2016)

  1. Sounds like you had a very entertaining and illuminating time at Blenheim, Tim. I’ve never been, but your description of your visit certainly makes me want to go there at some point. Glad you had such a good time. Peri as Churchill’s mother? Who’d have thought it? Doctor Who everywhere!!

    Mark

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Mark. I had a lovely time in Woodstock and visiting Blenheim Palace. I highly recommend going. It certainly is a very interesting place and lots to see. I know, I couldn’t believe it when I saw Nicola Bryant in that exhibition. Every time I try, I can never get away from ‘Doctor Who’. 😀 I hope to ask Nicola about her appearance in ‘The Untold Story’ next time I see her at a convention. I’m sure she’ll remember doing it.

    Tim. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! That’s right, there’s nearly always a Doctor Who connection, and it’s often when you least expect one to pop up. I’m sure Nicola will remember playing Churchill’s mother, when you ask her about it. Glad you had a great weekend break.

      Mark.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like you and your parents had a great weekend visit, Tim. Blenheim Palace would be an amazingly interesting place to visit, and spending two days being able to absorb the area would be fantastic.

    Isn’t it funny how you can’t get away from Doctor Who no matter where you go? Nicola Bryant would, I’m sure, have played the part of Churchill’s mother very well.

    I can imagine the grounds of the Palace being wonderful to walk about in, too.

    Leigh

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks Leigh. Glad you enjoyed my holiday report on Blenheim Palace. It certainly was a nice weekend. I’m sure you’d enjoy going there to see the historical aspects of the place with Winston Churchill; the State Rooms and ‘The Untold Story’ tour. I’m glad we did two days looking around Blenheim Palace to see what it was like. I’ve now got an annual pass to go there now whenever I want to.

    It is funny, isn’t it? It’s the same with watching TV shows or films, as there’s always somebody familiar you recognise in ‘Doctor Who’. I hope I will see Nicola Bryant again to ask her about her appearance in ‘The Untold Story’ as she performed pretty well as Churchill’s mother.

    Oh I enjoyed the grounds of the Palace as they were so refreshing and enjoyable walks to do.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

  5. Hi Tim

    Oh, wow, getting an annual pass to go there whenever you want is a brilliant idea. What a great place to know that you can go to whenever you feel like a day or two away and relaxing!

    I would imagine the grounds on their own would be well worth spending days wandering about, and would be extremely interesting.

    Really great stuff, Tim
    Leigh

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

