DVD review – ‘Bonnie Scotland’

51crwynikgl

Hello everyone! 🙂

Just want to share a few brief thoughts of what I made of a ‘Laurel & Hardy’ film I’ve never seen before. I saw this last Saturday during the Easter weekend. This is ‘Bonnie Scotland’, a film featuring Stan and Ollie visiting Scotland where they hope to inherit a fortune and get drafted into the army.

This film cheered me up on Saturday. It was great to see these two in a film I’ve never seen before and doing their usual blundering antics. It was also fun to see them in a film about Scotland. It turns out Stan is called Stan MacLaurel and he gets an inheritance of a set of bagpipes and a box of snuff.

Pretty soon, Stan and Ollie get drafted into the Scottish army and are sent to the frontier of India. This rather sets ‘Bonnie Scotland’ not in Scotland anymore, as the second half of the film is set in India. This rather disappointed me, as I wished the whole film was set in Scotland with Stan and Ollie.

Aside from this, ‘Bonnie Scotland’ was entertaining and fun to watch. I’m glad I saw this ‘Laurel & Hardy’ film and I’m sure you will enjoy it too. It’s a piece of classic black-and-white comedy made in 1935. Stan and Ollie are funny as ever. It was nice James Finalyson in this film too and being a foil for the duo.

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

This entry was posted in Comedy, Movies, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DVD review – ‘Bonnie Scotland’

  1. IWishIHadATardis says:

    Hi Tim

    I haven’t seen this movie, but I know you are a great fan of Laurel and Hardy. I bet it was fun, seeing them in Scotland, and then getting drafted into the army.

    It sounds like this was a lovely way to spend a Saturday, watching a good movie and having a good laugh.

    I’m glad you liked the movie, Tim, and thanks for the review.

    Leigh

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tim Bradley says:

    Hi Leigh.

    This was the first time I’d seen this movie. My Dad purchased it from Amazon and he knew I would like to see this movie. It’s very funny and Laurel & Hardy are great in it, being in Scotland and drafted into the army.

    It was a lovely way to spend a Saturday afternoon over lunch and it was very relaxing to watch and enjoy too.

    Very pleased you enjoyed my review, Leigh. Thanks for your comments.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

