Character Talk – Nyssa of Traken (‘Doctor Who’)

Hello everyone! 🙂

I had this lovely belated birthday present from a friend on YouTube this week!

This is a video on Nyssa of Traken, my favourite ‘Doctor Who’ companion, made by Elinor Ekman of the ‘Everything and the TARDIS console’ channel on YouTube. This was a request I made to Elinor after seeing her YouTube videos on her channel. I’m grateful to Elinor for making his video for me!

I first encountered Elinor when I was on the now-deceased Big Finish forum in 2015. For those of you who were on the Big Finish forum, you’ll remember her as YamiRin. Elinor has been reading my reviews on the Nyssa stories I wrote on the forum. She knows my love for Nyssa and Sarah Sutton in ‘Doctor Who’ and I’m very pleased my Nyssa reviews have kept Elinor entertained.

After seeing Elinor’s videos on YouTube and hearing that she took requests, I asked her if she could do a video on what her thoughts were of Nyssa in ‘Doctor Who’. It took a while for her to make, but thankfully her video is now online and I’m pleased it was perfect timing for my birthday.

I have also met Elinor in person at the ‘Doctor Who’ convention ‘Dimensions 2015’ in Newcastle, October 2015. Elinor lives in Sweden, so it was nice to meet her at last after having chatted to her online through the Big Finish forum and on Facebook. She’s a very nice and friendly person to meet.

Her video on Nyssa of Traken is very enjoyable; interesting and entertaining indeed. I wanted to watch it again after seeing it for the first time. I really liked the dedication she made to me at the end of her video and I’m pleased the positive aspects of my Nyssa reviews have been ‘contagious’. 😀

Check out Elinor’s video on Nyssa of Traken in ‘Doctor Who’ on YouTube. It is very good!

There are also other videos on Elinor’s ‘Everything and the TARDIS console’ YouTube channel. This includes an ‘Audio Talk – The 6th Doctor: The Last Adventure’ and a ‘Merchandise Talk: My TARDIS Collection’. Please feel free to make requests to Elinor on YouTube, as I’m sure she’ll welcome them.

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Character Talk – Nyssa of Traken (‘Doctor Who’)

  1. Tim Bradley Post author

    Thanks Elinor. I’m glad you enjoyed reading my post for your video. I have seen the link you’ve given to my blog on your video in the description. Thanks for that!

    I like the ‘Doctor Who’ DVD collection you have in the background. I assume that’s all in chronological order in terms of the stories.

    Thanks again for a wonderful video on Nyssa of Traken. Tim. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Elinor

      Yeah, the Doctor Who DVD collection is sorted in chronological order on those shelves. Also, I’m only missing like, four DVD’s. Underwater Menace, Planet of Evil, Image of the Fendahl and Remembrance of the Daleks are like, the only ones I don’t have now and that’s only because they weren’t in stock, at the store I buy most of my Doctor Who DVD’s from, when I decided it was time to fill the gaps in my collection.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. IWishIHadATardis

    Hi Tim (and Elinor)

    I really enjoyed Elinor’s video on Nyssa, and how you have come to appreciate her more for her qualities, including her brilliance, her bad-ass’ness :-), her beauty and Tim’s contagious admiration for Nyssa, and of course Sarah Sutton.

    A most interesting and thoughtful analysis of Nyssa, and one which I haven’t really stopped to think about before.

    Thanks!
    Leigh

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Tim Bradley Post author

      Hi Leigh.

      Very pleased you enjoyed Elinor’s video on Nyssa of Traken. I’m very pleased she did this video for me at my request.

      Likewise, I found Elinor’s thoughts on Nyssa intriguing and interesting. It gave me food for thought to think about Nyssa in a different context. I’m glad my contagious admiration allowed Elinor to appreciate Nyssa and Sarah Sutton more in my ‘Doctor Who’ reviews. 🙂

      Thanks for your comments, Leigh. Glad you enjoyed this.

      Tim. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. Elinor

      Thank you very much ^_^. Of course I(like many others, I imagine) have often dreamt about becoming a companion of the Doctor… doubt I’ll ever get to be an official one though. Best I can hope for is probably to get into some fan producton.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.