‘Tim’s Glenn Miller Favourites’ – Part 4

Tim's Glenn Miller Favourites

Hello everyone! 🙂

Here is ‘Part 4’ of my ‘Tim’s Glenn Miller Favourites’ presentation.

orchestra_wives_1942_poster

It’s back to the Hollywood movies again. This time, it’s the film ‘Orchestra Wives’ which was made in 1942. It starred Glenn Miller with Ann Rutherford and George Montgomery.

Here’s something else that shocked me. George Montgomery’s trumpet-playing for the song ‘At Last’ was ‘dubbed’ by trumpeter Johnny Best and Lynn Bari’s voice for the song ‘Serenade in Blue’ was dubbed by Pat Friday. 😀

This film included a great Glenn Miller hit called ‘American Patrol’ (OW). This was a popular marching song written by Frank White in 1885. Jerry Gray arranged a swing version of the march which Glenn Miller then used as a recording in 1942.

Now! It’s time for something to wake you up! This was a very noisy number in the film ‘Orchestra Wives’. It was first recorded in 1922 by the New Orleans Rhythm Kings before it became popularised by many of the Big Bands since then. It’s a drum number and Maurice Purtill is on drums in the film ‘Orchestra Wives’. It’s called… Bugle Call Rag’ (OW).

The major musical number in ‘Orchestra Wives’ was the song: I Got A Gal In Kalamazoo’ (OW). This was a number one hit for Glenn Miller that lasted for 19 weeks. Tex Beneke; Marion Hutton and the Modernaires feature in this extended version of the song. It also includes the dance routine of the song performed by the Nicholas brothers.

Stay tuned tomorrow for ‘Part 5’ of ‘Tim’s Glenn Miller Favourites’.

Thank you for reading; watching and listening!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

This entry was posted in Music, Video and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ‘Tim’s Glenn Miller Favourites’ – Part 4

  1. IWishIHadATardis says:

    Hi Tim

    It’s interesting how many of these songs became well-known through the movies of the times. Have you watched these movies, or do you really just prefer to hear the songs as stand-alone tunes?

    Very interesting indeed, thanks Tim.

    Leigh

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tim Bradley says:

    Hi Leigh

    Glad you enjoyed ‘Part 4’ of my Glenn Miller presentation.

    Yes it is interesting these songs became well-known through the movies, which is a good things really. I have seen these movies, as my Dad showed them to me on VHS back in the 90s. Now we have them on DVD. ‘Sun Valley Serenade’ is my favourite of the two movies. If you ever get the chance to see these movies, I’m sure you’ll enjoy them.

    Very pleased you found this interesting. Thanks for your comments, Leigh.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

  3. IWishIHadATardis says:

    Hi Tim

    I’m glad you’ve seen the movies these songs came from; it’s nice to think that they work well in the movies, as well as in the arena of stand-alone songs.

    I’m sorry I haven’t had a chance to comment so much lately; I’ve started a new job, and my time is not quite as flexibly free as it formerly was. I will, of course, pop in and check out things on the blog when I get a chance.

    Leigh

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tim Bradley says:

    Hi Leigh.

    Good to hear from you.

    That’s okay. I understand that you’ve been busy lately. Hope all is going well for you with your new job. I know I’m currently busy with my job at the moment as we’re in the busiest period of the year during the summer.

    Please feel free to comment on any posts and pages on my blog when you can. I’m sure there will be more interesting things for you to see on my blog later in the year. I’m hoping to make a start on ‘The Tree of Riverloth’ story in two weeks time. Can’t wait.

    I’m pleased my Glenn Miller presentation blog posts have kept you entertained.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

