DVD review – ‘Batman Forever’

417dwjak-sl

Hello everyone! 🙂

I’ve just seen the first of three birthday presents from my best mate from school, Stephen.

I enjoyed ‘Batman Forever’!  This was the third movie of the original ‘Batman’ film series. It was produced by Tim Burton and directed by Joel Schumacher in 1995. I’m not claiming to be an avid ‘Batman’ fan, but this was a superhero movie that I found very engaging and entertaining to watch!

I was impressed with the stellar cast featured in the film. I liked Val Kilmer’s portrayal of Bruce Wayne/Batman. I liked the balance Val Kilmer put in his performance as both Bruce Wayne and Batman and found it interesting how he interacted with Chase Meridian; Robin and his two enemies.

The two villains of the movie are Tommy Lee Jones as Two-Face and Jim Carrey as the Riddler. Both were superb as villains, but Jim Carrey stood out for me as the wacky and sometimes over-the-top Riddler. Sometimes it was difficult to take him seriously, but he fitted the role perfectly as the Riddler.

Nicole Kidman stars as Dr. Chase Meridian, the romantic interest of Bruce Wayne/Batman in the film. I really liked Nicole’s sexy performance as Chase and when she shows an interest in both Batman and Bruce. It was nice how she interacted with the two men before she discovers the truth.

Chris O’Donnell also stars as Robin, who makes his first appearance in the ‘Batman’ film series. I liked Robin’s introduction in this film. It was interesting how he meets up with Batman; becomes his side-kick and wanting to get revenge on Two-Face. Both Batman and Robin are a good team in this.

The cast also includes Michael Gough, who I’ve seen in ‘Doctor Who’ and is great as Alfred. There’s also Pat Hingle who stars as Commissioner James Gordon. It was a nice surprise to see René Auberjonois (Odo from ‘Star Trek: Deep Space Nine’) make an appearance as Dr. Burton in the film.

‘Batman Forever’ has been an action-packed and enjoyable superhero movie with a great cast; superb villains and a good story. I enjoyed the action sequences with the Batmobile; other Bat vehicles and I really liked the performances of Val Kilmer as Batman and Jim Carrey as the wacky Riddler!

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

This entry was posted in Birthday, Movies, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DVD review – ‘Batman Forever’

  1. Timelord007 says:

    Arrrgghhh Batman Forever really winds me up lol.

    Simply because it had great potential to tap into Batmans psyche of why he chose the life he did but instead it became the overbearing Jim Carrey show who ruined any potential the movie had(checkout my comments on G+).

    The batwing & batboat did hardly anything cool except get blown up & the ending didn’t have any real cool fight scenes barring one against robin & two-face.

    Val Kilmer was awesome in the role & most of the cast were good barring Jim Carrey who’s movies i loathe lol.

    I’m a grumpy old sod ain’t i lol, anyway another great review Tim as ever you grasped what the movie & the characters are all about.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tim Bradley says:

    Oops! I had a feeling this ‘Batman’ movie might not be your cup of tea! 😀

    Thanks for your comments, Timelord Simon! I’m glad you enjoyed my review on ‘Batman Forever’ and I enjoyed reading your insight on this movie.

    Yes, Jim Carrey is way over-the-top as the Riddler in this movie. But for me, it seemed to make sense with his performances with the Riddler being wacky throughout. I think Jim Carrey and Tommy Lee Jones enjoyed playing their parts as villains too much in this movie! 😀

    My best mate Stephen said that this was more like a comedy film than a ‘Batman’ film, and I think he’s right about that. I think Jim Carrey would do well as the Riddler in the ‘Lego Batman’ movies! 😀

    I do like Jim Carrey’s movies including ‘The Grinch’ and ‘Liar, Liar’. I know he can over-the-top, but I sometimes find him easily entertaining.

    I’m glad you agree with me about Val Kilmer’s performance as Batman. I’m sorry he only played Batman in one film and didn’t do more afterwards.

    I appreciate your honesty about your thoughts on this movie. Thank you for sharing them.

    Great comments, Simon. Glad you enjoyed my DVD review on ‘Batman Forever’. Perhaps I should start watching the Batman film series from the beginning with Michael Keaton for reviews on my blogs.

    Could you send me a link to your thoughts on ‘Batman Forever’ on Google+ please?

    Thanks again!

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

  3. Timelord007 says:

    I’ll try to send a link through Tim, Actually Tommy Lee Jones scared Jim Carrey on set & quoted he’s not a person you want to be around with for too long, Tommy Lee Jones only did the film cause his son begged him too.

    Val Kilmer clashed frequently with director Joel Schmacher & caused tension throughout the shooting of the movie with Shumacher claiming he’d never direct Kilmer in any movie.

    Originally Michael Keaton was to return but Warner wouldn’t pay his $15 million dollar fee while Robin Williams was originally in line for the Riddler but again it fell through at the last minute.

    There you go some trivia for you there my friend.

    One thing that does impress me is the opening 10 minutes of Batman Forever if only it had kept up this momentum.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Timelord007 says:

    Can’t seem to send link to G+, if you have a account on there just type in timelord007 & follow me as a friend & I’ll do the same then you can get my updates as i only allow people i know on there to view my posts & comments.

    My artworks on there too & my movie rants blog which i must warn you i get a little heated on lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

