Day 15 – Bradley’s Basement’s Advent Calendar 2016

advent-calendar-2016-15

Hello everyone! 🙂

It’s Day 15 of ‘Bradley’s Basement’s Advent Calendar 2016’.

What do Clark Kent and Sweep from ‘Sooty’ have in common?

Well they’re both superheroes! No honestly they are! Clark Kent is Superman and Sweep is Superdog! I’m not making this up! In ‘The Sooty Show’, Sweep the cute little dog was sometimes the greatest superhero Superdog in the series. It’s so surprising when Sweep is such a ‘sausage brain’ at times.

Here’s a video introducing Sweep as Superdog in ‘The Sooty Show’, presented by Matthew Corbett from the 1980s. The scene is from the opening of the 1988 episode ‘Superdog and the Comedian’. I love this introduction to Sweep as Superdog. It’s so funny when Sweep can’t find his Superdog outfit!

I used to watch ‘Sooty’ when I was a young kid back in the 90s. I enjoyed watching the ‘Sooty’ episodes on VHS and recorded some of them on video when they were shown on CITV. Sweep is my favourite character from ‘The Sooty Show’. He’s a loveable little dog who’s so funny in all of his scenes.

In the full episode of ‘Superdog and the Comedian’, the villain happens to be Derek Deadman as the Comedian. Derek Deadman played the Sontaran called Stor in the ‘Doctor Who’ story called ‘The Invasion of Time’. Isn’t that interesting?! And of course the Comedian is a take on the Joker, isn’t he?!

I love this introduction to Sweep as Superdog from the ‘Superdog and the Comedian’ episode of ‘The Sooty Show’! Sweep is a very funny little dog and I love how he gets introduced by Matthew Corbett who narrates most of the scene. You should enjoy it when Sweep as Superdog flies across the sky!

Thanks for watching and reading!

Find out what ‘Day 15 – Bradley’s Basement’s Advent Calendar 2015’ was about!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Day 15 – Bradley’s Basement’s Advent Calendar 2016

  1. Haha! Sweep was always my favourite. Think there’s a YouTube clip available of the time he was dreaming of appearing on Stars In Their Eyes. He was dressed as Pavarotti and ‘sang’ Nussun Dorma. None shall sleep? That was an absolute certainty, the way Sweep was performing it!

    I’m enjoying reading your Advent Calendar Tim, highly entertaining!

    Sir T

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hi Sir T.

    Is this the YouTube clip you’re talking about with Sweep as Pavarotti?

    I’ll have to watch that later on as I’m sure Sweep’s singing would be pretty entertaining and funny at the same time.

    Glad you enjoyed my video about Sweep as Superdog. I liked it when his ears go up when hearing someone screaming for help and when he peeks back, unable to find his Superdog outfit! 😀

    Glad you’re enjoying my Advent Calendar so far, Sir T. I hope you’ll enjoy more in the rest of the calendar!

    Tim. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Tim

    I thoroughly enjoyed your stories about Sooty, and of course Sweep. I loved watchiing Sooty and Sweep when I was a youngster, and Sweep was always my favourite. It did make me laugh to watch the clips of him, singing as Pavarotti, and being Superdog – after remembering that he’d left his Superdog costume in the linen basket! Thanks for the fun memories, Tim.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Leigh.

    Glad you enjoyed my advent calendar blog post on Sweep as Superdog from ‘The Sooty Show’. Glad you enjoyed me sharing my memories about Sooty and thank you for sharing your memories of watching Sooty and Sweep when you were favourite. I’m glad Sweep was your favourite too.

    I’m glad you enjoyed watching the clips of Sweep as Superdog and Pavarotti. I’m more familar with the Superdog clip and the Pavarotti clip is I think the first time I’ve seen it of Sweep from ‘Sooty & Co’, even though I did watch that show on VHS and CITV when I was young. And of course Sweep’s singing is terrible and funny at the same time! 😀

    I’m glad you enjoyed it when Sweep eventually remembered that he left his Superdog outfit in the linen basket.

    Here’s another clip for you to enjoy with Sweep as Superdog in ‘Return of Superdog – Part One’

    Glad you enjoyed the fun memories, Leigh! 😀

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

