Christmas DVD review – ‘Mindgame Saga’

mindgame-saga-dvd

Hello everyone! 🙂

I’ve now seen the ‘Mindgame Saga’ on DVD! This is a DVD I had for Christmas this year and it contains two stories including ‘Mindgame’ and ‘Mindgame Trilogy’. This saga stars Sophie Aldred (who plays Ace in ‘Doctor Who’) as a human space pilot and there’s also a Sontaran and a Draconian!

I enjoyed the ‘Mindgame Saga’ DVD and Sophie Aldred is brilliant in both dramas. Although I don’t this has been the most exciting and inspirational DVD release compared to ‘Downtime’ last year. I found ‘Mindgame’ better than ‘Mindgame Trilogy’, but they’re both interesting tales to tell on DVD.

The first story ‘Mindgame’ has Sophie Aldred as the human meeting a Sontaran and a Draconian. All three are held prisoner on an asteroid by an unknown alien. They’re forced to fight to save their lives. It was an interesting tale on how the human, Sontaran and Draconian interact with each other.

The second story ‘Mindgame Trilogy’ features the three characters, Sophie Aldred as the human, the Sontaran and the Draconian after the events of ‘Mindgame’. There are three tales in this drama about what happened to those three characters and how they reflect when they face certain fates.

‘Mindgame Trilogy’ was disappointing compared to ‘Mindgame’. Whilst the character journeys were interesting in themselves, I couldn’t see where they were going. The Draconian story fell flat for me, but Sophie Aldred’s performance in the third story shone throughout and was pretty heart-breaking.

The ‘Mindgame Saga’ came from the mind of ‘Doctor Who’ writer Terrance Dicks. I enjoyed all performances of the cast, especially with Sophie Aldred; Miles Richardson who played the Draconian and Toby Aspin and John Wadmore who played the Sontaran respectively in the saga’s two stories.

I found Sophie Aldred’s human character the most intriguing of all. Though not claimed as Ace in the story, she does have certain character traits that are similar to Ace. She mentions a certain ‘professor’ and I’d like to think this is Ace from the ‘New Adventures’ series of ‘Doctor Who’ novels.

I hope to write a complete DVD review of the ‘Mindgame Saga’ soon.

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

This entry was posted in Christmas, Doctor Who, Reviews, sontarans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas DVD review – ‘Mindgame Saga’

  1. Timelord007 says:

    Your on a role Tim I’m struggling to write one review lol, I agree this spin off lacked something, Sophie Aldred was excellent but deserved better scripts.

    A excellent review Tim, you really do grasp the fundamentals of good & bad points in your fantastic reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tim Bradley says:

    Hi Simon.

    I did write some of these reviews, namely the more detailed ones like ‘Genesis of the Daleks’, early in December 2016 before Christmas. I wrote the latest reviews on my Christmas DVD/CD presents after Christmas.

    I was hoping for something better than what I saw in the ‘Mindgame Saga’ DVD. It was interesting, but it could have been more action-packed. I enjoyed Sophie Aldred’s performances in both dramas, but it was rather lacking for me.

    Very pleased you enjoyed my review on this DVD, Simon. I hope to review the ‘Mindgame Saga’ and ‘Downtime’ in full detail soon. Let’s hope ‘Shakedown: The Return of the Sontarans’ comes out on DVD next.

    Thanks Simon.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

