Quick DVD Box Set Review – ‘Batman: The Motion Picture Anthology’

batman-movie-anthology

Hello everyone! 🙂

I’ve finished watching all four movies of the original ‘Batman’ movie series from 1989 to 1997. I purchased this DVD box set in Cardiff after Christmas, following my enjoyment of ‘Batman Forever’ last year. I wanted to see these original ‘Batman’ movies and to find out what each were like in turn.

I must say I’ve thoroughly enjoyed each ‘Batman’ film from this DVD collection. They include ‘Batman’, ‘Batman Returns’, ‘Batman Forever’ and ‘Batman & Robin’. Each film was different in terms of taste and style and it was interesting and fun to see how Batman was made during the late 80s/early 90s.

The first film ‘Batman’ was directed by Tim Burton and stars Michael Keaton as Batman. I think this is the best ‘Batman’ movie ever made and this was the second time I’d seen this movie from the collection. Jack Nicholson is very good as the Joker in this movie as well as Kim Basinger as Vicki Vale.

‘Batman Returns’ is a follow-up to the first ‘Batman’ movie. It was again directed by Tim Burton and stars Michael Keaton as Batman. I equally enjoyed this movie and it features two super-villains with Danny DeVito as the Penguin and Michelle Pfeiffer as Catwoman. It was a pretty ‘dark’ film to watch!

‘Batman Forever’ is the third ‘Batman’ movie in the series and was directed by Joel Schumacher. It stars Val Kilmer as Batman; Tommy Lee Jones as Two-Face; Jim Carrey as the Riddler; Nicole Kidman as Dr. Chase Meridian and Chris O’Donnell as Robin. Check out my thoughts in the review link above.

‘Batman & Robin’ is the fourth ‘Batman’ movie and was again directed by Joel Schumacher. It stars George Clooney as Batman; Chris O’Donnell as Robin; Arnold Schwarzenegger as Mr. Freeze; Uma Thurman as Poison Ivy and Alicia Silverstone as Batgirl. I don’t think this is the best film of the series.

‘The Batman Motion Picture Anthology’ has been a treat for me and I enjoyed all four movies in turn. I hope I’ll get a chance to write detailed reviews on each of the four movies. If I were to choose favourites, it’ll have to be ‘Batman’ and ‘Batman Forever’ as they’ve been great fun movies to watch!

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

This entry was posted in batman, Movies, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quick DVD Box Set Review – ‘Batman: The Motion Picture Anthology’

  1. Timelord 007 says:

    Love 89 Batman, it’s a cracking Batman movie, Batman Returns was good until the ending which i thought lost it’s way, Batman Forever had potential to be a awesome Batman movie ruined by Jim Carreys overacting hammy face pulling performance, while Batman & Robin……Arrrrrrrrrgggggghhhhh my eye’s make it stop.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tim Bradley says:

    Hi Simon.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on these ‘marvellous’ Batman movies! 😀 I look forward to re-watching these movies again and giving them detailed reviews. I look forward to seeing your reactions on each of the four movies! They’re such classics, aren’t they?! 😀

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

  3. Tim Bradley says:

    By the way, Simon!

    Would you say that Bruce Wayne/Batman in these four ‘Batman’ movies is a Time Lord? After all, he can regenerate from Michael Keaton into Val Kilmer into George Clooney without anyone commenting on it. Alfred and Robin don’t seem to comment on it and they’ve stayed the same as well as Commissioner Gordon.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

  4. Timelord007 says:

    Lol he could be my friend but sadly it was due to Michael Keaton being rebuffed for wanting $15 million dollars to play Batman in Batman Forever, Val Kilmer left cause he & director Joel Schumacher didn’t get along & Batman & Robin still gives me nightmares which I’ll explain more when you do a lengthy review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

