Peter Capaldi to leave ‘Doctor Who’

Hello everyone! 🙂

I just like to share some thoughts on the latest news about ‘Doctor Who’!

Peter Capaldi is leaving ‘Doctor Who’! Whoa! This is a bit of surprise I’m sure to all you ‘Doctor Who’ fans! I’m saddened that Peter Capaldi is leaving as the Twelfth Doctor in ‘Doctor Who’. I would have expected him to stay on after Steven Moffat left the series and Chris Chibnall took over! Sadly not!

I feel rather sorry for Peter Capaldi as I don’t think his era has been long enough. Peter Capaldi started playing the Doctor in 2014 with ‘Deep Breath’. He has done two seasons with Series 8 in 2014 and Series 9 in 2015. His third season of ‘Doctor Who’, Series 10, is set to be aired in April 2017.

Technically this is Peter Capaldi’s fourth year as the Doctor, but I don’t think this is his fourth year since he never did a third season in 2016. 2016 had an absence of a ‘Doctor Who’ series and we only had ‘The Return of Doctor Mysterio’ Christmas Special. It’s a shame Series 10 is to be his last season.

I’ve enjoyed Peter Capaldi’s era of ‘Doctor Who’ in a strange way. It hasn’t been the best compared to the other eras I’ve enjoyed like Peter Davison’s and David Tennant’s. But I’ve enjoyed Capaldi’s interesting interpretation of the Doctor, as he clearly had a good time playing the role of his dreams.

I wonder what’s to come after Peter Capaldi and who would take on the part of the Doctor after he’s gone. Who will be the next Doctor under Chris Chibnall’s regime? My personal preference is Alistair Mackenzie from ‘Monarch of the Glen’, but then we could end up having a woman as the Doctor. 😀

I hope this won’t be the complete end of Peter Capaldi’s era of ‘Doctor Who’. I’m looking forward to seeing Series 10 this year starting in April. I hope one day Peter Capaldi will reprise his role as the Twelfth Doctor in some Big Finish audios. They’ve done it with Ten! Let’s hope it happens for Twelve!

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Peter Capaldi to leave ‘Doctor Who’

  1. Yeah i thought he had one more season in him but i think the BBC want a younger actor in the role to appeal to younger audiences, they want Doctor Who to return to the ratings success of David Tennants era, such a shame as i like Capaldi but i don’t think the casual viewers have warmed to him.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Simon.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this.

    Interesting that you think the BBC want a younger actor as the Doctor to appeal to younger audiences. I can see how that would be the case since David Tennant and Matt Smith won fans over with their youthful performances.

    I found the whole of the Steven Moffat era rather messy since all of his seasons went all the place with being divided into two halves in the Matt Smith era and then having one season out of Capaldi’s era in 2016.

    Interesting you think casual viewers didn’t warm to Peter Capaldi’s Doctor. I thought they had, but then I don’t check up on the ratings and latest reviews on recent ‘Doctor Who’ episodes these days.

    Thanks again, Simon.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

  3. Thanks Elinor.

    I’m glad now that Series 10 isn’t the last of Peter Capaldi’s Doctor as we can still enjoy him for the 2017 Christmas Special before he regenerates for 2017. I wonder who will take Peter Capaldi’s place as the Doctor. It’ll be something to look forward to.

    I have enjoyed Capaldi’s era on TV very much. I’m looking forward to what’s in store for Series 10!

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

