7th Anniversary – My 1st Meeting With Sarah Sutton

1-04-to-tim-best-wishes-sarah-sutton 1-06-to-tim-best-wishes-sarah-sutton

Hello everyone! 🙂

Guess what?! It’s the seventh anniversary since I met my favourite ‘Doctor Who’ companion Sarah Sutton as Nyssa of Traken with Peter Davison’s Fifth Doctor on the 7th of February 2010! Check out my 6th anniversary post from last year to read more about that special event from seven years ago!

To commemorate this special day, I’d like to share with you the time that I wrote my first fan letter to Sarah in late 2009. It was after seeing my letter about Nyssa in ‘Doctor Who Magazine’ (see ‘Terminus’) that I got so excited and decided to write a fan letter to Sarah Sutton to thank her for her performances as Nyssa.

Here’s what I wrote to Sarah in the letter back in 2009:

Dear Sarah

Thank you so much for reading this letter.

I really want to say how much I like you as Nyssa from ‘Doctor Who’. I’ve really enjoyed your on-screen adventures and have especially enjoyed the Big Finish dramas you’ve been doing with Peter Davison. The ones which are my favourites are ‘Circular Time’ and ‘Return to the Web Planet’.

I don’t know if you’re aware of this, but I’ve written a letter to ‘Doctor Who Magazine’ about Nyssa and it got published in a recent edition. I was so thrilled and pleased that my letter was in the magazine!

Could I have a signed photograph of either yourself or as Nyssa, please?

I really love the way you’ve developed the character of Nyssa. I feel that Nyssa is the best-served of the companions from the Fifth Doctor era and I really want to thank you for making these ‘Doctor Who’ adventures enjoyable for me.

At the moment I can’t wait for more Big Finish adventures and the remaining TV adventures that you’re in on DVD. I’ve been looking in the shops for DVDs of some of the other work you did like ‘The Moon Stallion’ and ‘Alice Through The Looking Glass’, but I can’t seem to find them somehow.

Well done for making Nyssa of Traken wonderful!

Thanks again.

Yours sincerely

Tim Bradley

I sent the letter to Sarah in the post, not expecting to receive a reply from her for at least quite a while. A week later, I received an envelope in the post containing not one, but two photos of Sarah Sutton signed by her to me (see above). I was over-the-moon and really pleased that she’d responded so quickly.

Sarah also wrote a little note at the back of one of the signed photos on a pink posit, saying…

1-05-dear-tim-many-thanks-for-your-kind-letter-hope-this-finds-you-well-kind-regards-sarah

This was before I finally met Sarah at conventions, the first one ‘The Fifth Element’ at the GEORGE IV Public House & Comedy Club in Chiswick, London, 7th of February 2010. I’ve been so lucky to have met Sarah at conventions. I’ve got on so well with her and shared my enthusiasm for her work as Nyssa.

It’s through Sarah Sutton that I’ve been able to write my ‘Doctor Who’ reviews and to enjoy posting them on ‘Bradley’s Basement’ via ‘The Nyssa Challenge’. It’s also through Sarah that I’ve enjoyed writing my fan-fiction stories and to enjoy uploading them in ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ series!

So thanks, Sarah! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

This entry was posted in Doctor Who, Nyssa, Sarah Sutton. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

