Theatre Review – ‘Pride and Prejudice’

pride-and-prejudice-open-air-theatre-1470910840-list-handheld-0

Hello everyone! 🙂

Last Tuesday, I saw the stage production of ‘Pride and Prejudice’ at the Wales Millennium Centre in Cardiff. I had a great time seeing this theatre production of the well-known novel by literary author Jane Austen. Having seen and heard the story plenty of times, I was able to get into this pretty well.

I enjoyed how fast-paced this production of ‘Pride and Prejudice’ was for the theatre. The play lasted for 2 hours and 30 minutes with a 20 minute interval in-between two acts. The first act was longer than the second act, but they’d managed to put so much of the story within that length on the stage.

Miss Austen’s novel was adapted for the theatre by Simon Reade. It starred Tafline Steen as Lizzie Bennet and Benjamin Dilloway as Mr. Darcy, who were both very good in this. It also starred Felicity Montagu as Mrs. Bennett and Matthew Kelly as Mr. Bennett, who I enjoyed immensely in this play.

I later discovered that Felicity Montagu played Mrs. Mainwaring in the 2016 film of ‘Dad’s Army’, which is amazing and I liked her as Mrs. Bennett in this. There was also Doña Croll as Lady Catherine De Bourgh, who’d played Matron Casp in the ‘Doctor Who’ episode ‘New Earth’ with David Tennant.

There were plenty of comedic moments throughout this stage version of ‘Pride and Prejudice’ that I enjoyed and I found myself laughing throughout as well as the audience. There were also plenty of dramatic moments, especially concerning the love story between Lizzie and Darcy which was sweet.

The themes of Jane Austen’s novel shone throughout this stage version of ‘Pride and Prejudice’ as well as the comedic and dramatic aspects to the story. I found how I was able to see the story in a new light and it was interesting the cast provided their interpretations of the characters they played.

This theatre production of ‘Pride and Prejudice’ has been great to watch at the Wales Millennium Centre in Cardiff. I found it an interesting version of the story. The performances of the cast were good and the story moved at an intriguing pace and kept everything together within over two hours.

The stage had one rotating set throughout which didn’t distract me from enjoying the story at all. I’m very pleased my parents also enjoyed this theatre production of ‘Pride and Prejudice’ as well as me.

Thanks for reading!

Check out my DVD review of the 2005 film of ‘Pride & Prejudice’ with Kiera Knightley from ‘The World of Jane Austen’.

Also check out one of my latest ‘Doctor Who’ fan-fiction stories with Jane Austen called ‘The Austen Code’ from ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ series.

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

Leave a Reply

