TV Review – ‘The Pilot’ (Doctor Who)

Hello everyone! 🙂

SPOILERS ALERT!!!

‘Doctor Who’ has returned!

Series 10 has begun with the episode called ‘The Pilot’ (unusual title for a ‘Doctor Who’ episode in my opinion), which I saw yesterday on Easter Saturday at 7.20pm. I enjoyed this opening episode and it was a decent introduction to the new companion Pearl Mackie as Bill.

The series sees Peter Capaldi back as the Doctor with Matt Lucas as Nardole where they meet Bill in this opening episode. The episode takes place at a university where Bill is a canteen girl and she is seen serving chips! She seems to be an uninspiring companion for the Doctor at first, but the Doctor grows to like her.

Pearl Mackie makes a good first impression as the new ‘Doctor Who’ companion in Bill. I admit, I personally miss Jenna Coleman as Clara from the previous ‘Doctor Who’ series. But I suppose I’ll get used to Bill over time. Bill also happens to be gay which is an interesting and new approach to a regular companion.

I thought Bill’s reaction to both the TARDIS and the concept of travelling in time and space was really good and realistic, as I think anyone coming across the Doctor and his time machine would find it an awesome and somewhat scary experience! If the first episode is anything to go by, I think Bill will make an impressive and effective companion.

The story is pretty average where Bill comes across another girl named Heather who looks into a puddle that doesn’t exactly match her reflection. Soon Heather becomes a flood-like creature who seems to be chasing the Doctor, Bill and Nardole wherever they go in the TARDIS in time and space.

The Daleks make an appearance in this episode too. I was rather disappointed they didn’t turn out to be the main baddies in this episode but it was nice to see them in this. And also…oh my goodness! The Movellans from ‘Destiny of the Daleks’ are in this story! I was thrilled to bits to see them in this.

So ‘The Pilot’ is a good opening episode to Series 10 of ‘Doctor Who’. I enjoyed watching it. It’s not the best opener to a series, but it’s a decent introduction to Bill as the new companion by Steven Moffat. I wonder where the series will go with Bill aboard the TARDIS with the Doctor and Nardole?

Even my Dad found himself enjoying this episode as he watched it. He didn’t fall asleep, as he usually does when we watch TV! 😀

Next week’s episode is called ‘Smile’ by Frank Cottrell-Boyce.

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

This entry was posted in Daleks, Doctor Who, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to TV Review – ‘The Pilot’ (Doctor Who)

  1. Ali H says:

    Fantastic Review Tim! I especially enjoyed the music used throughout this episode. I believe Bill will grow into a strong companion for the doctor. I think she compliments the 12th Doctor very well. I’m looking forward to the next episode! 😀 Ali

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tim Bradley says:

    Thanks Ali.

    Glad you enjoyed my review on this first episode of Series 10. I look forward to reviewing it probably when I get to review the DVD for Series 10 episodes. I look forward to what happens next with Bill, the Doctor and Nardole in the upcoming stories.

    Many thanks for leaving a comment.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

  3. Timelord 007 says:

    I liked Bill as a companion, but I’d get rid of Nardole who does nothing in this episode, the main plot though wasn’t great & i do think the show looks tired & needs a major revamp.

    A excellent summary of the episode Tim.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tim Bradley says:

    Yeah Nardole doesn’t seem to do much in this series and is mostly there to provide comic relief in the TARDIS. It would be nice to see him have a character journey in the series, but Steven Moffat doesn’t seem to do that with Nardole which is a bit annoying.

    I get what you mean about the showing looking tired. As well as the writing on the series, the direction of the stories tends to be too fast-paced for me to catch up on…no, no, I take that back. The editing is so fast-paced that it’s sometimes difficult to follow the stories.

    Let’s hope Chris Chibnall’s era of the show will start with a brand-new flesh slate.

    Glad you enjoyed my review on this opening episode, Simon.

    By the way, a theory just occurred. The Doctor had two picture frames of Susan and River Song in the episode. Since River Song is the Doctor’s wife and Susan is the Doctor’s granddaughter, it makes me wonder whether River Song happens to be the grandmother of I DON’T WANT TO GO THERE!!!!!! 😀

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

