Quick Book Reviews – ‘Doctor Who Meets The World Of Hargreaves’ (April 2017)

dr men hargreaves

Hello everyone! 🙂

Last weekend, I purchased these four brand-new books from the World of Hargreaves that features the ‘Mr. Men’ and ‘Little Misses’ characters. These four new books are very special, because…they are ‘Mr. Men’ regenerations of ‘Doctor Who’! I loved reading these four new books when I bought them!

As a kid, I used to love reading the ‘Mr. Men’ books by Roger Hargreaves! My favourite was ‘Mr. Clumsy’. So these four new ‘Doctor Who’/’Mr. Men’ books were a delight for me to see! The books capture the children’s book spirit of ‘Mr. Men’, whilst also evoking the ‘Doctor Who’ series at the same time.

The books are by Adam Hargreaves, the son of Roger Hargreaves, who must be a ‘Doctor Who’ fan to write and illustrate these. The four books are on four specific Doctors, including ‘Dr. First’ (William Hartnell); ‘Dr. Fourth’ (Tom Baker); ‘Dr. Eleventh’ (Matt Smith) and also ‘Dr. Twelfth’ (Peter Capaldi).

I was dismayed that they didn’t do all of the Doctors from the series so far all at once. But they are releasing the books gradually and there’s recently been an announcement for four new ‘Doctor Who’/’Mr. Men’ books in August 2017! I’m looking forward to see those books when they come out!

The first book, ‘Dr. First’, features the First Doctor and Susan. I enjoyed ‘Dr. First’ very much and it was fun to see how the William Hartnell Doctor looked in ‘Mr. Men’ form and became grumpy in the story. The Cybermen also appeared in this story and it was funny when the Doctor revealed…a cat!

The second book, ‘Dr. Fourth’, features the Fourth Doctor and Sarah Jane. I got to say I really like how Tom Baker’s Doctor looks in ‘Mr. Men’ form, especially in the scarf. The Daleks also appear in this story and I love it when it points out that there’s only thing Daleks love – exterminating people!

The third book, ‘Dr. Eleventh’, features the Eleventh Doctor and River Song. This was decent enough and I enjoyed the appearance of the Zygons, the Silurians, the Weeping Angels and the Doctor looking for his fez. I wonder why Amy and Rory didn’t appear in this story with Eleventh Doctor in it.

The fourth book, ‘Dr. Twelfth’, features the Twelfth Doctor and Missy. Like the previous book, I wonder why Clara wasn’t in this story with the Twelfth Doctor. The story has the Doctor chase Missy back in time to various time periods and stopping her plans. He soon goes off back in time for lunch.

These four latest ‘Doctor Who’ books from the world of Hargreaves have been a joy for me to read. They’re not to be taken too seriously and it was fun to see these four Doctors in their ‘Mr. Men’ form. I thought the idea was absurd at first to do these books, but recently they have grown on me.

I’m looking forward to the next set of ‘Doctor Who’/’Mr. Men’ books with ‘Dr. Second’, ‘Dr. Seventh’, ‘Dr. Eighth’ and ‘Dr. Ninth’. I hope it won’t be long before we get ‘Dr. Third’, ‘Dr. Fifth’, ‘Dr. Sixth’ and ‘Dr. Tenth’ released. I look forward to ‘Dr. Fifth’ and to see what Nyssa, Tegan and Adric look like! 😀

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

This entry was posted in Doctor Who, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

