Quick DVD review – ‘The Mask’

Hello everyone! 🙂

I’ve now seen the second of three birthday presents from my best mate Stephen for 2017!

‘The Mask’ is a comedy superhero movie that I’ve enjoyed watching! I remember watching this film on VHS in the 1990s. However I had vague memories from watching the film, since I was a kid and couldn’t remember the story. So it was great to revisit the film on DVD and also watch it as an adult.

This movie stars Jim Carrey as Stanley Ipkiss/The Mask…and BOY IS HE OVER-THE-TOP!!! 😀 I’ve become aware of Jim Carrey’s record as a comedic actor over the years in films like ‘Liar, Liar’ and ‘Bruce Almighty’. He also starred as the villainous Riddler in ‘Batman Forever’, which I saw last year.

‘The Mask’ is a film about Stanley Ipkiss who is a mild-mannered bank clerk in Edge City. He discovers a mysterious and ancient mask. When he puts it on, his innermost desires come to life. Stanley becomes the Mask, a wacky person that could either be the hero or cause havoc in the city.

I didn’t like this movie very much when I was a kid back in the 90s. This was due to me not getting what the film was about and being overwhelmed by Jim Carrey’s wacky performance. Now that I’ve seen it again, I’ve been able to enjoy the movie properly and appreciate the ‘fantastic fun’ within it!

Jim Carrey delivers an enjoyable and interesting performance, balancing from the mild-mannered Stanley Ikpiss to the wackiness of the Mask. Sometimes his performance as the Mask is way over the top and hard to take seriously, but that didn’t spoil my enjoyment and be entertained by the movie.

The movie also features the film debut of Cameron Diaz as leading lady Tina Carlyle. I didn’t realise ‘The Mask’ was Cameron Diaz’s film debut! For me, Cameron did the voice of Princess Fiona in the ‘Shrek’ films and she’s known for starring in the ‘Charlie’s Angels’ films. It was good to see her in this.

I enjoyed the romance aspect of the film between Jim Carrey and Cameron Diaz. It’s sweet when Stanley Ikpiss and Tina Carlyle fall in love with each other. Tina’s amazed by the Mask’s wacky cartoon abilities that include being a good dancer. But she clearly wants Stanley instead of the Mask.

A thing about ‘The Mask’ that I can’t take seriously is the cartoon aspects of the main hero. I found it unusual that the Mask can put on clothes of whatever he wants and be able to do cartoon faces with his eye-balls popping out. This makes the film all too silly for it, but Jim Carrey is in it so there you go!

Another little character I liked in the film is Milo, Stanley Ipkiss’ cute sidekick dog. I enjoyed seeing this little Jack Russell terrier in the film, especially when he’s loyal and helps his master out of jail. Milo does get to wear the mask at one point in the movie, and he looks very scary to see on screen.

‘The Mask’ is a very wacky and bizarre film with Jim Carrey as the main hero. I enjoyed seeing this with Jim Carrey and Cameron Diaz in it. It is way over-the-top and too silly with so many cartoon elements in it. But I found the film very entertaining in the end and it will leave you…s-s-s-smokin’!!!

Thank you for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

Leave a Reply

