Tim Bradley with Sarah Sutton – Part 2 (2013-2015)

Hello everyone! 🙂

If you missed ‘Part 1’ of this, check out the link here!

Here’s ‘Part 2’ of my blog post trilogy featuring my memories of meeting the lovely Sarah Sutton (Nyssa in ‘Doctor Who’) at conventions. In this blog post, here are memories of me seeing Sarah for the 50th anniversary of ‘Doctor Who’ during 2013 as well as seeing her for the years 2014 and 2015.

Here’s a photo gallery of my meetings with Sarah from 2013 to 2015.

For 2013, the first time I saw Sarah for the 50th anniversary of ‘Doctor Who’ was at the ‘#celebrate 50 – The Peter Davison Years’ event in Chiswick, London in April 2013, run by Fantom Films. It wasn’t a great event, but I enjoyed seeing Sarah there and I looked forward to see her again later that year.

The second time I saw Sarah that year was at the ‘Project Motor Mouth 2’ event in Slough, August 2013, run by Janet Fielding with 10th Planet Events. That was where the anniversary started for me, as it was an event full of companions including Sarah Sutton, Janet Fielding, Matthew Waterhouse, Carole Ann Ford, Anneke Wills, Deborah Watling, Katy Manning, Louise Jameson, John Leeson, Lalla Ward, Sophie Aldred and Lisa Bowerman. It was also where I met Peter Davison for the first time. I had a group photo shoot with the companions and one with Janet, Sarah and Matthew that day. It was also where Peter Davison filmed the companions dream scene in ‘The Five(ish) Doctors Reboot’.

The anniversary celebrations continued with attending the ‘Regenerations 2013’ convention in Swansea, September 2013. I had a happy time from that convention, as I saw Sarah again for two days as well as many ‘Doctor Who’ stars I’ve met before. I even had a special group photo shoot with Sarah Sutton, Frazer Hines, Deborah Watling, Anneke Wills, Wendy Padbury, Peter Purves, Louise Jameson, Sophie Aldred and Sylvester McCoy. I would like to re-live that two-day weekend over again.

My last convention for the year was ‘Dimensions 2013’ in Newcastle, October 2013. I attended the convention for the whole weekend, but Sarah was only there for the Friday evening drinks reception and the Saturday. I’m pleased I saw Sarah for signings, photo shoots, a panel talk and even had a coffee session with both Sarah and Matthew Waterhouse. I had a group photo shoot with Sarah for the guests on Saturday and also one with Sarah, Janet and Matthew for the second time that year.

For 2014, I saw Sarah early at the ‘Cardiff Film and Comic Con’ in March 2014. I was so pleased to see Sarah at an event closer to home and she was pleased to see me too. I saw her signings, photo shoots and a panel talk on the Sunday of that weekend. I even had a photo with Sarah and Cuddles.

I later saw Sarah at the ‘Time Warp’ convention in Weston-super-Mare, July 2014. That was a two-day convention and Sarah attended both days. It was a pretty messy convention, but I loved seeing Sarah for signings, panel talks and social minglings. Sarah even bought me an ice lolly that weekend. I had photo shoots with just Sarah and then with Sarah and Mark Strickson (who I met the first time) on Saturday. I also had photo shoots with Sarah, Deborah Watling and Wendy Padbury on Sunday.

In November, I saw Sarah for two convention weekends in a row. The first was at the ‘Collectormania 22’ event in Milton Keynes, November 2014. Sarah was only there for the Sunday of that weekend and it was a cold day as well. But I had a happy time seeing Sarah for that convention.

The second time I saw Sarah that November was an exciting one. It was at the ‘Timey Wimey 1’ convention in Brighton, November 2014, run by Louise Jameson. It was a lovely convention where I met Tom Baker for the first time and saw five companions including Sarah Sutton, Louise Jameson, Sophie Aldred, Wendy Padbury and John Leeson. I was pretty happy from going to that convention.

The last convention of that year for me was the ‘Timeless Collectors’ sci-fi fair in Fareham, December 2014. I was pleased to Sarah at that event before Christmas 2014. I even said “Hello!” to Sarah whilst having a cup of tea before I went in. It was pretty cold inside the venue, which was a gym, and Sarah and I kept our coats on that morning. It was great seeing Sarah and I wished her a “Merry Christmas!”

For 2015, I saw Sarah early at ‘Big Finish Day 6’ in Slough, January 2015. As well as Sarah, Janet Fielding and Matthew Waterhouse were also there and I had a third group photo shoot with them to add to my collection. I was helpful to Sarah when informing her on her next convention appearance.

I later saw Sarah at the ‘Valiant 2015’ convention in Sheffield, March 2015, run by Fantom Films. I attended a ‘backstage’ group social chat session with Sarah; had a photo shoot with Sarah and saw for her panel and signings. I even had a group photo with Sarah and the other guests that Saturday.

But it was in the summer of 2015 that I was thrilled about. First, I saw Sarah Sutton and Peter Davison at the same convention for the first time. It was at ‘H-Con’ in Eastleigh, Hampshire in July 2015. I had photo shoots with them, met them for signings and even asked a question to them during a Q&A session, which you can listen to during this exciting ‘Gallifrey Stands’ podcast link here.

The second exciting thing of that summer of 2015 was me seeing Sarah at the ‘Bournemouth Film and Comic Con’ in August 2015. I saw Sarah and plenty of other ‘Doctor Who’ stars that weekend. But what made me happy from that weekend was me getting to record an interview with Sarah at the convention, which I’ve now posted online as ‘A Conversation with Sarah Sutton (Nyssa in ‘Doctor Who’) by Tim Bradley’.

The penultimate convention of 2015 for me was ‘Pandorica 2015’ in Bristol, September 2015. I saw Sarah on the Saturday of that weekend. I had a happy time seeing Sarah, since I got to interact with her more, not just during the signings, but also during the panel talk which made me happy indeed. I had photo shoots with Sarah as well as a group photo shot with Sarah and other guests on Saturday.

The last convention of 2015 was the ‘Dimensions 2015’ convention in Newcastle, October 2015. This wasn’t as good as the previous three conventions I saw Sarah at. But it was nice to see her and I had some photo shoots with Sarah as well as a group photo with Sarah, Mark Strickson, Daphne Ashbrook and Maureen O’Brien. Sarah was just there for Saturday. I looked forward to see her again.

TO BE CONTINUED…

Stay tuned for ‘Part 3’ of my memories meeting Sarah Sutton at conventions next week!

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

This entry was posted in Conventions, Doctor Who, Sarah Sutton, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

