Quick TV Soundtrack Review – ‘The Pirate Planet’ (Doctor Who)

the pirate planet tv soundtrack

Hello everyone! 🙂

I love ‘The Pirate Planet’! It’s one of my favourite stories from the Tom Baker era of ‘Doctor Who’ as well as one of my favourites from ‘The Key To Time’ season (Season 16). It’s bonkers; it’s funny; has Tom Baker in it and it has the hilarious Pirate Captain, played wonderfully by Mr. Bruce Purchase. 😀

In October 2012, the TV Soundtrack of ‘The Pirate Planet’ was released on audio CD by the BBC. This had linking narration provided by John Leeson, who played K-9 in the TV series. Now I admit, I was surprised and wondered why ‘The Pirate Planet’ TV soundtrack was getting released on an audio CD.

‘The Pirate Planet’ isn’t one of the lost stories from the 60s, so I didn’t know why they’d release the audio of the TV story on CD, as we can see it today on DVD. But I suppose the audio CD is something to enjoy while playing it in the car on holiday or when staying in a cottage in the middle of nowhere.

I purchased ‘The Pirate Planet’ TV soundtrack as a download via Audible and listened to the story on my tablet. I found the listening experience of ‘The Pirate Planet’ on audio very invigorating and refreshing. Knowing the story inside out, I was able to know what was to come next and still enjoy it.

The linking narration provided by John Leeson is superb. John engages throughout the story with describing what goes on in the story and being full of energy and enthusiasm. It was interesting how John describes certain scenes in the story, compared to how I viewed ‘The Pirate Planet’ via the DVD.

At the end of ‘The Pirate Planet’ TV soundtrack, there is an interview with John Leeson. I love the tribute John made to Mary Tamm who played Romana in the TV series. It was also very lovely to hear him talk about his acting career as well as his ‘Doctor Who’ career with playing the loveable K-9.

‘The Pirate Planet’ TV soundtrack was a wonderful treat for me to listen to. I enjoyed listening to the download on Audible and hear John Leeson provide the linking narration to one of my favourite ‘Doctor Who’ stories with Tom Baker. It’s not necessary to have this TV soundtrack, but I did enjoy it!

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Quick TV Soundtrack Review – ‘The Pirate Planet’ (Doctor Who)

  1. I don’t understand the release of this when the story is available on DVD , this is a story I’d rather watch not listen too although like you said listening to it in the car or on holiday..

    As ever though a excellent review my friend i love Tom’s Doctor rant at the Captain gives me goosebumps every time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Simon.

    Glad you enjoyed my review on the TV soundtrack of ‘The Pirate Planet’.

    It doesn’t make sense why this story was released as a TV soundtrack on CD. But I enjoyed listening to it on my tablet via a download and John Leeson is very good narrating the story.

    ‘The Pirate Planet’ was one of my inspirations to write ‘The Space Hotel’ from ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ series and I have fond memories enjoying it on DVD.

    I’m currently reading/listening to ‘The Pirate Planet’ novelization/audiobook. I’m looking forward to giving a review on that soon.

    Thanks again, Simon.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

