Movie Review – ‘Spider-Man: Homecoming’

Hello everyone! 🙂

SPOILERS ALERT!!!

I really enjoyed seeing ‘Spider-Man: Homecoming’ (terrible movie title!) at the cinema! It was an interesting brand-new take on the web-slinging superhero that I’ve grown to love over the years!!!

As many of you know, ‘Spider-Man’ is my favourite superhero from the Marvel Comics universe of superheroes! There are now three incarnations of Spider-Man at the movies, played by three actors. My favourite era of ‘Spider-Man’ movies will always be with Tobey Maguire, directed by Sam Raimi.

So what did I make of ‘Spider-Man: Homecoming’ as a film? I really liked it! I thought it was worthy in being a proper ‘Spider-Man’ film. But that doesn’t mean to say it’s perfect. There are a few issues I have with this movie, but I still found Tom Holland absolutely amazing as Peter Parker/Spider-Man!

This is technically Tom Holland’s second appearance as Spider-Man, since he made his first appearance in ‘Captain America: Civil War’. I was really looking forward to seeing Tom Holland swing into action proper as Spider-Man in his own film and he makes a really good impression here.

I’m rather glad that they didn’t start this ‘Spider-Man’ film series starring Tom Holland with another origins story, since they did that a lot in the first two ‘Spidey’ movie eras and we didn’t need it for this era. It makes sense to go straight into the story and to establish Peter Parker is Spider-Man already.

As I said, there are a few issues I have with regarding to this ‘Spider-Man’ movie. Spider-Man is now a part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe of superhero movies. Now whilst I have no objection to this, I felt that there were elements of this that distracted me to make it less of a ‘Spider-Man’ movie.

First of all, there’s the Spider-Man suit. Apparently the Spider-Man suit is a property of Stark Industries when it was given to Peter by Tony Stark. It ruined it for me when the Spider-Man suit was technologically advanced like Iron Man’s suit, especially when it had its own computer voice called Karen.

It takes away the originality of the Spidey suit when it was handmade by Peter Parker in the comics and the previous two movie eras of ‘Spider-Man’. I would have liked it if Peter designed the familiar Spider-Man suit based on the one Tony Stark gave him, especially when it was taken away from him.

This leads me onto my next point. Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark/Iron Man. Now whilst I appreciate Tony’s appearance in this movie is to provide a link from ‘Captain America: Civil War’, I didn’t think he really needed to be there. He didn’t do much, apart from being a mentor for Peter Parker.

Spider-Man doesn’t need a mentor! Tobey Maguire and Andrew Garfield coped alright without a mentor for their ‘Spider-Man’ movies. Why did Tom Holland need one? I suppose it’s meant to help with that Peter was 15 years old and inexperienced, but I honestly didn’t see the need for a mentor.

My next point is Marisa Tomei as Aunt May. Now I’m not saying that Marisa was bad as Aunt May. On the contrary, she’s good. But why was Aunt May made to be younger. I understand it’s to provide longevity of the character in the movies. But for me, this didn’t feel very true to the original comics.

My final issue with the film is this. When I saw the original ‘Spider-Man’ trilogy with Tobey Maguire, I felt emotionally invested with the characters and the story in all three films. It wasn’t the same with ‘The Amazing Spider-Man’ films with Andrew Garfield, but it was bolstered by a very engaging story.

Now I’m not saying that ‘Spider-Man: Homecoming’ was a bad story. But since I’m grown up, I couldn’t feel emotionally engaged as I had with the Tobey Maguire films. It was more of Spidey fighting the bad guys in this. But it’s early days and I suppose I will get emotionally invested later on.

Aside from these issues, there are lots of things with ‘Spider-Man: Homecoming’ that are amazing! As I said, Tom Holland is excellent as Peter Parker/Spider-Man and I could enjoy his character journey! That scene when Spider-Man was under a ton of rubble was brilliantly performed by Tom Holland.

The cast also includes Michael Keaton! Oh hey! Michael Keaton! He’s back for ‘Batman Forever’! 😀 Yeah okay, he’s not Batman in this. He’s actually playing the villain, Adrian Toomes a.k.a. the Vulture. I was so impressed by Michael Keaton’s villainous performance as the Vulture in this ‘Spidey’ movie.

I liked the armoured costume that Michael Keaton/Adrian Toomes wore as the Vulture in this movie. I did think at first that the Vulture seemed two-dimensional as a villain. But I liked the twist later on in the movie when he turned out to be the father of Liz Allen, whom Peter Parker fancied in the film.

The film also featured Jon Favreau as Happy Hogan from the ‘Iron Man’ movies and a surprise appearance by Gwyneth Paltrow as Pepper Potts from the ‘Iron Man’ movies. There was also Jacob Batalon as Ned, Peter’s best friend; Laura Harrier as Liz Allen; Zendaya as Michelle and Tony Revolori as Flash Thompson.

There was also Bokeem Woodbine as Herman Schultz a.k.a. the Shocker. Great! They had two villains in this ‘Spidey’ movie. And of course, this ‘Spider-Man’ movie wouldn’t be complete without a cameo appearance by Stan Lee, the original creator of ‘Spider-Man’ in the comics, whom I enjoyed.

As ever, the humour and the action sequences in this ‘Spider-Man’ movie are superb. It didn’t spoil my enjoyment in the movie. There were moments when I found myself laughing during the film. It matched exactly to what a proper ‘Spider-Man’ movie should be all about really.

The defining moment of this ‘Spider-Man’ movie is when Peter Parker turns down Tony Stark’s offer to join the Avengers at the end. Throughout the film, Peter had been trying to prove himself in that he was Avenger material. By the end, he has decided to ‘stay on the ground’ and defend his neighbourhood.

‘Spider-Man: Homecoming’ has been a great movie to watch at the cinemas! I wouldn’t consider it the best ‘Spider-Man’ movie in my humble opinion. But I’m still recommending this! If you are a ‘Spider-Man’ fan like me, that shouldn’t stop you to see it! Again, Tom Holland is great as Spider-Man!

I’m very pleased that I’ve seen this ‘Spider-Man’ movie at last!

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Movie Review – ‘Spider-Man: Homecoming’

  1. Good review Tim & you make some very valid points, i agree with you about the suit, when Tony reclaimed the suit Peter should’ve designed his own Spider-Man suit & prove he doesn’t need Stark tech to fight crime that would’ve shown Peter proving himself I’d have thought.

    I didn’t like the casting of Tony Revolori as Flash Thompson who was completely miscast & was nothing like the Flash in the comics.

    Michael Keaton was awesome as The Vulture, he brought a intensity to the role.

    Loved Marisa as Aunt May but that’s because I’ve fancied Marisa since she starred in My Cousin Vinny lol.

    There’s plenty of easter eggs in this film & i loved Peters best friend Ned who had me in hysterics throughout, Spider-man trapped under the rubble was a homage to one of the classic comics were he has to use all his strength to free him.

    Even though he turns the Avengers down we know he’s in the next two Avenger films so I’m a little surprised at that scene.

    I know i probably enjoyed this more than you but i found this to be possibly the most faithful adaptation of the character, but at least we can forget about Amazing Spider-Man 2 which was just awful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Simon.

    Glad you enjoyed my review on ‘Spider-Man: Homecoming’. I saw this movie again last night at the cinema and enjoyed it more a second time. I hope I’ll see it a third time at the cinema soon.

    I’m pleased you agree with my points about this movie and that you found them valid. I don’t know why Peter Parker didn’t make another version of the familiar Spidey suit given to him by Stark but without the technology. It certainly would have made him prove himself that he could cope without the enhancements to his suit and become a straight-forward crime-fighting superhero fighting on his own initiative. I would have liked Peter Parker fighting Vulture in a familiar Spidey suit that he made himself without the technology, instead of the make-shift costume he wore before the one Tony gave him.

    I didn’t mind Tony Revolori as Flash, although he didn’t have a major part to play in the ‘Spider-Man’ story in this movie. Some moments with Flash were funny, including when Spidey stole his Dad’s car to get to the Vulture’s hideout.

    I really enjoyed Michael Keaton as the Vulture in this movie. My mum however didn’t realise it was Michael Keaton until I told her, even though I said he was in the movie before we saw it. 😀 It’s a complete contrast to how he played Batman in the movies isn’t it?

    Not seen ‘My Cousin Vinny’ with Marisa Tomei, but I’ll take your word for it. I wouldn’t mind it if Aunt May was younger looking, if she was in her 50s and perhaps maybe not look so ‘hot’-looking but still pretty.

    Yes I picked up that Spider-Man under the rubble was a nod to the classic comics in the 60s. I remember seeing that image when I checked out the original ‘Spidey’ comics and am pleased that imagery was used in the film and performed well by Tom Holland.

    Yeah it does spoil the fact that Spider-Man is going to appear in the next two Avenger movies for 2018 and 2019, but I’m pleased with how that scene was played out with Peter turning down Tony’s offer to join the Avengers team. It shows how Peter has proved himself and he doesn’t need to be an Avenger but a proper friendly neighbourhood Spider-Man. I’d like to see another ‘Spider-Man’ movie with Tom Holland that’s ‘Spider-Man: Homecoming 2’ or something.

    I still enjoyed this ‘Spider-Man’ movie and whilst I had issues with it, I consider it to be great and my favourite superhero film of the year over ‘Wonder Woman’. I’m looking forward to re-watching the ‘Marvel Cinematic Universe’ movies from scratch and review them on my blog when I can.

    I don’t hate ‘The Amazing Spider-Man 2’ as you seem to. The problem I have with it was its depressing end and the complexity of elements that didn’t need to be there. It’s such a shame that era of ‘Spider-Man’ ended so abruptly as there was promise for future stories from the film’s climax.

    But anyway, I’m looking forward to when Tom Holland returns to play Spider-Man again in the next Avengers movie he’s in.

    Thanks for your comments, Simon. Glad you enjoyed reading my review.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

  3. Well Tom’s signed up to do 2 Avengers & 2 solo Spider-Man movies & absolutely loves the character, the trouble with The Amazing Spider’Man 2 is it’s purely a sequel bait movie for the Sinister Six & didn’t set up its own characters & identify.

    What did you make of Peters friend Ned? He cracked me up lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Two ‘Avenger’ movies and two ‘Spidey’ movies with Tom. That’s great! I’m looking forward to that.

    I’ve read this article about what ‘The Amazing Spider-Man 3’ would have been like had it been made. From reading the article, it’s just as well they didn’t make that movie – https://www.forbes.com/sites/danidiplacido/2017/07/10/sonys-the-amazing-spider-man-3-couldve-been-the-worst-film-in-the-franchise/#636a6639d808

    I like Peter’s friend Ned. He seemed to provide both moral support and comic relief when he saw he was Spider-Man. That scene was funny when Ned was in Peter’s bedroom and Peter as Spidey crawled his way in without even realizing. From what I’ve read, this could be Ned Leeds from the comics. Betty Brant was in the movie, so perhaps J. Jonah Jameson is at Peter’s school too! 😀

    Thanks Simon.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

