‘The Space Hotel’ – Part One, Chapter 4

Hello everyone! 🙂

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog and I’m Tim Bradley!

Today we’ve come to the end of ‘Part One’ of ‘The Space Hotel’. It’s now time for Chapter 4 of this story. As Nyssa and Billy enjoy themselves for a dance, the Doctor discovers some interesting and disturbing revelations about Rotenhend Hotel 360. Stay tuned next week for ‘Part Two’ of this story!

Here is a brief summary of what ‘The Space Hotel’ is all about.

The TARDIS takes the Doctor, Nyssa and Billy to Rotenhend Hotel 360 in the 37th century. They meet a rude hotel manager and murders take place.

Enjoy!

Tim. 🙂


Billy and Nyssa

4. Nyssa and Billy

SCENE #26 – INT – DANCE VENUE (SIMI-SUITE #5) – 37TH CENTURY – EVENING
On Level #60, in simi-suite #5, the dance venue for Nyssa and Billy takes place here. The setting has a 1930s feel to it, though there is a sense of smallness as the venue is relatively simple and not overcrowded. Big band music is played in the background whilst a few dancing couples are on the dance floor doing an energetic waltz. The music played is by Guy Lombardo. The suite doors open, as Nyssa and Billy enter. They are in awe once they enter.

NYSSA
“Is this what you had in mind, Billy?”

BILLY
“Oh yes! This is exactly the same place I wanted to take you to back on Earth. But I thought since records of precise detail are kept at this hotel of what the eras of Earth’s history looked like, which is astounding, why not have it in the nineteen twenties or thirties style.”

NYSSA
“Well I like it! It’s lovely!”

BILLY
“I’m glad to hear you say that!” (Pause) “Shall we get a table?”

NYSSA
“Yes, alright.”

Nyssa and Billy make their way towards a table in the dance hall. They sit down and watch the fellow couples enjoying themselves.

BILLY
“The dancing looks good.”

NYSSA
“Yes. I believe it’s some sort of waltz.”

BILLY
“Yes. And the music’s Guy Lombardo.”

They watch and see the other dancers dance to the music on the dance floor.

NYSSA
“So why this time period, Billy? Why did you want to do it in nineteen-thirties style?”

BILLY
“Well music and dancing was at its hype by this time. Everybody wanted more of Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers. They couldn’t get enough. And of course it was the depression.”

NYSSA
“The depression?”

BILLY
“Yes. In America, they had quite a turnover of job losses and poverty during the nineteen thirties before the Second World War. The only way that people could cheer themselves up was to embrace the luxuries of this time period. Dancing and music were among them.”

NYSSA
“You seem happy with what this simulation’s turned out to be then.”

BILLY
“Yes I am.” (Pause) “Though I don’t know why not many people have turned up. I thought this would be happy music to everybody’s ears.”

NYSSA
“Maybe human society of this time period might not like the sort of music you like. It could have gone past its prime!”

BILLY
“Well, that’s a shame! And sad!” (sighs) “It’s all the fault of that new rock music I suppose.”

NYSSA
“If you want more people here Billy, the computer on the simi-suites can provide that you know.”

BILLY
“Yes but it wouldn’t be the same though, would it. Those animated people would just be dancing because that’s what they’re supposed to do.”

Billy becomes silent and feels sad. Nyssa then stands and takes Billy’s hand.

NYSSA
“Come on. They’re bound to finish soon. Let’s get started with a few steps on the dance floor.”

BILLY
“Don’t you want to have something to drink first before we get started?”

NYSSA
(frustrated) “What is it with boys that they can’t get started with the dancing first?”

BILLY
“Nyssa, I was only…”

NYSSA
(bossily) “Follow me, come on!”

Nyssa drags Billy up from his seat and takes him to the dance floor. They begin their dance together, whilst Guy Lombardo’s music is played by the band in the background.


SCENE #27 – INT – LOBBY, LEVEL #1 – 37TH CENTURY – EVENING
At reception in the lobby on Level #1, Mr. Stedman enters and approaches the desk with Elizabeth behind it.

STEDMAN
“Excuse me?”

ELIZABETH
“Yes? Oh hello, Mr. Stedman! How are you?”

STEDMAN
“Not too good, I’m afraid.”

ELIZABETH
“Oh dear. Are you ill?”

STEDMAN
“Yes I am.”

ELIZABETH
“Oh. Well, would you like me to fetch you something…?”

STEDMAN
“No, no, no. I’ll be alright. I was wondering if I could have some buttered croissants in bed for breakfast tomorrow morning.”

ELIZABETH
“Croissants in bed?”

STEDMAN
“Yes.”

ELIZABETH
“Certainly, Mr. Stedman. I’ll make a note of it to the chef!”

STEDMAN
“Thank you.”

ELIZABETH
“Would you like a cup of tea or coffee with your croissants?”

STEDMAN
“Err…tea, please. That would be nice.”

ELIZABETH
Newspaper?”

STEDMAN
“Uh, no thanks. I’ll be alright without a newspaper.”

ELIZABETH
“Okay then.”

Stedman then starts to feel queasy again.

ELIZABETH
“Are you sure I can’t fetch you anything, Mr. Stedman?”

STEDMAN
(queasily) “I really don’t want to put you to any trouble…”

ELIZABETH
“It’s no trouble at all!”

Elizabeth presses a switch which opens a drawer in the reception desk. She takes out a bottle from the drawer and opens it.

ELIZABETH
“Here have one of these.”

STEDMAN
“What are they?”

ELIZABETH
“Pain relaxant pills. They ease the pain and make you sleep better. They’re very effective.”

STEDMAN
“Well, I don’t know…”

ELIZABETH
“They’re quite harmless. I have tried one and they’re really good.”

STEDMAN
“Well okay. I’ll just take one and have it when I go to bed.”

Elizabeth takes a pill out from the bottle and passes it over to Stedman, to which he takes.

ELIZABETH
“Here you are. Just take a glass of water and pop it into your mouth. Then you should be fine.”

STEDMAN
“Well thank you very much, Mrs. Rotenhend. Thank you.”

ELIZABETH
“Good night then.”

STEDMAN
“Good night.”

Elizabeth closes the bottle of pills before putting it back into the drawer and closing it at the reception desk. Stedman leaves the reception desk, as he makes for the lift. Gordon then passes by.

GORDON
“Good night.”

No response.

GORDON
(shouts) “I said good night!”

Stedman turns round.

STEDMAN
“Oh good night.”

Gordon then goes behind the reception desk where Elizabeth is.

GORDON
“What’s the matter with him? Is he deaf?”

ELIZABETH
“He’s not well, Gordon. Please be gentle with him.”

GORDON
“But I said goodnight to him! And people should respond when they’re said goodnight to.”

ELIZABETH
“Don’t be such a bully. He seems ill and I just gave him one of my pills!”

GORDON
(shouts) “What?! You gave him one of your pills?!”


SCENE #28 – INT – CORRIDOR, LEVEL #46 – 37TH CENTURY – EVENING
Meanwhile on Level #46, the lift door opens as the Doctor steps out. The lift door closes, as the Doctor walks down the corridor to find Larry and Bob’s room.

DOCTOR
“Now…as I remember correctly, the room was two twenty-five. Let’s see if we can find it.”

The Doctor walks further, before he comes to the door that has the number ‘225’ on it.

DOCTOR
“Ah, here we are!”

The Doctor walks to the door, clears his throat and knocks gently at the door.

DOCTOR
“Err, gentlemen?” (Pause) “Mr. Cooper; Mr Hill, are you in there?”

No response. The Doctor knocks again.

DOCTOR
“I really think we should talk you know.”

Still no response. Moment of silence.

DOCTOR
“I’m sorry I have to do this.” (to himself) “Let’s get my sonic screwdriver.”

The Doctor looks in his coat pocket for the sonic screwdriver. He takes it out and places it at the lock of the door. Switching it on, it buzzes away to unlock the door. There is a click and the Doctor switches his screwdriver off. He places his hand on the door handle.

DOCTOR
“Mr. Cooper; Mr. Hill? I’m coming in!”

With no response, the Doctor makes his way in.


SCENE #29 – INT – LOBBY, LEVEL #1 – 37TH CENTURY – EVENING
Bursting forth from the lift are Larry and Bob who enter the lobby on Level #1. They huff and puff, before breathing a sigh of relief.

LARRY
“Well. That was a close one, wasn’t it?”

BOB
“Did we really have to run that fast?”

LARRY
“Well, what else could we do? That Doctor was on our tail, we had to move fast! Anyway, I hope our little deception fooled him.”

BOB
“Oh you mean when you pressed the lift button for our floor where our room is and then the one for here in the lobby, the first floor.”

LARRY
“That’s right! He’ll think someone’s got the lift from above whilst we got in on the floor to get to our hotel room. Hopefully nobody will be any the wiser!”

BOB
“Why would he be so interested in those stabilisers of ours?”

LARRY
“I don’t know. Let’s just hope our little trick fooled him.”

BOB
“Can we go for a drink now?”

LARRY
“Yeah. Good idea. We’ll both have drinks!”

LADY MITE
“Don’t underestimate the Doctor.”

Larry and Bob are startled, once they see Lady Mite before them.

LARRY
“Your ladyship!”

LADY MITE
“The Doctor has a really crafty mind. So you’d better make sure he doesn’t get under your skin.”

BOB
“You said you weren’t coming.”

LADY MITE
“I said I’d been delayed.

LARRY
“We didn’t tell him anything. The Doctor. About our business.”

LADY MITE
“It doesn’t matter. Now, talking of business, will you two gentlemen accompany me to my chambers? We can have those drinks you two suggested there if you like!”


SCENE #30 – INT – DANCE VENUE (SIMI-SUITE #5) – 37TH CENTURY – EVENING
Meanwhile at the dance event in simi-suite #5 on Level #60, the music has changed from Guy Lombardo to Ray Conniff. Nyssa and Billy happily dance along with the other dancers, as they do the foxtrot. Trumpets, trombones; clarinets and the piano are played out loud.

BILLY
“So he wouldn’t dance with you? That’s a bit sad, isn’t it?”

NYSSA
“Well, he did a little bit! But all he wanted was to look at the buffet!”

BILLY
(laughs) “Oh dear.”

NYSSA
“And when I saw the amount of food he had on his plate, I called him a pig and he just gave the excuse that he hadn’t had any breakfast.”

BILLY
“This um…what was his name?”

NYSSA
“Adric.”

BILLY
“Adric. He must have been quite a character.”

Moment of silence.

BILLY
“So this Ann. She looked like exactly like you.”

NYSSA
“Yes, she did. And that was where our troubles started for the Doctor, me, Adric and Tegan.”

BILLY
“How come she looked like you?”

NYSSA
“I don’t know. We didn’t really find out. We were too busy enjoying ourselves.”

BILLY
(laughs) “I wished I’d been there. I could have enjoyed it.”

NYSSA
“I don’t think being claimed as an accessory to the Doctor would be an enjoyable experience, since he was charged with murder.”

BILLY
“Oh I wouldn’t have minded that! It would have been fun.”

NYSSA
“You’re very peculiar, Billy.”

BILLY
“That’s me all over!”

Both laugh together, as the dance comes to an end. Everybody claps in applause for the band and their music. Nyssa and Billy then go back to their seats and sit at their table.

NYSSA
“I enjoyed that dance!”

BILLY
“So did I. I thought the band played rather well.”

Moment of silence.

NYSSA
“So, Billy? How many girls have you taken to dances?”

BILLY
“Err…not many actually.” (Pause) “The truth is Nyssa, I…I’ve never taken anyone out before. You’re the first girl I’ve been on a date with.”

NYSSA
(astonished) “How come you’ve never gone out with anyone? Before me?”

BILLY
(gradually) “Been too busy, really. I was wrapped up in my exams that I hadn’t had a chance to think about going out with girls. I mean I wanted to. But there was so much to think about. And so little time to spend with anybody.”

NYSSA
(gradually) “I suppose in a way…I know what that feels like. I spent a lot of time understanding science, and never really had a time to think about anything else. Not that I’d blame my studies. I wanted to learn.”

BILLY
(astounded) “I would have thought someone like you would have a lot of admirers. That you would have gone out with lots of blokes.”

NYSSA
“Oh I did have admirers on Traken. I just never got round to forming an attachment to them”

BILLY
“Well thank you for spending time with me. I hope I’ve not been too boring for you.”

NYSSA
“Don’t say that, Billy. I’ve enjoyed your company.”

BILLY
“Thank you.”

Moment of tender silence. The band leader then makes an announcement.

BAND LEADER
“Thank you very much! Thank you!” (Pause) “Now get your partners! We’re going to do one of those all time classics made in the US composed by one of the finest composers and pianists in the whole of Broadway. James P. Johnson. It was a hit during the nineteen twenties! It’s one that you know and love. Yes, you’ve guessed it! It’s the Charleston!”

The band starts again, as the dance for the Charleston begins. Everyone on the dance floor gets into a happy mood, as they dance to the Charleston. Nyssa is in the mood too, as she taps her feet away on the floor.

NYSSA
(encouragingly) “Come on! It’s the Charleston! Surely you can’t resist doing this one!”

BILLY
(apprehensively) “Oh err…I’m not good at that dance, Nyssa. Maybe I better fetch another drink.”

Nyssa stops Billy.

NYSSA
“No, you don’t. You brought me here and you’re going to do the Charleston with me.”

BILLY
“But, Nyssa…”

NYSSA
“Come on!”

BILLY
(nervously) “Oh. Alright.”

Billy joins in, as he dances with Nyssa to the tune of the Charleston. Eventually, he picks up the steps and performs well to the dance.

BILLY
(surprised) “Oh. Oh it doesn’t seem as bad as I thought.”

NYSSA
“See…you can do it. It’s a bit of fun anyway.”

BILLY
“Yes! Yes I’m getting into this!”

They both happily dance away, as the music plays.


SCENE #31 – INT – ROOM #225, LEVEL #46 – 37TH CENTURY – EVENING
Meanwhile the Doctor searches Larry and Bob’s room on Level #46, unable to find them.

DOCTOR
“Hello! Anybody home? Hello!”

The Doctor receives no response. He searches a little while longer, but the two men are nowhere about.

DOCTOR
“Well’s that peculiar. Where could they be?”

Moment of silence.

DOCTOR
(thinks) “Hmm. They must have slipped away whilst I was not looking. Or maybe they deceived me when going in the turbo-lift.” (Pause) “Well, there’s no point sticking around. I’d better see if I can find those stabilisers.” (Pause; thinks) “Now, I wonder where they can be.”

The Doctor looks about the place for a while, before spotting something that disturbs him.

DOCTOR
“Oh. Oh dear me.”

The Doctor steps down to the floor. Moment of silence.

DOCTOR
“Blood on the floor.” (Pause) “And coming from upstairs. Leaking through the ceiling.”

The Doctor looks up to see blood, dripping through a crack in the ceiling above to the floor. He moves on to something else that distracts him.

DOCTOR
“Ah! Those are the luggage cases where the stabilisers are being kept!”

The Doctor picks up the cases to check inside. He opens them up, before turning the cases over to find that they are empty.

DOCTOR
“And now they’re empty.” (Pause) “Well, surely the two gentlemen wouldn’t take them and expose them to the open, now would they?!” (thinks) “Unless, they’d been stolen. It’s forty-nine-point-two-three-zero-eight-four-seven-six-six-seven-seven-eight-four plus fifty-point-seven-six-nine-one-five-two-three-three to one against!”

The Doctor ponders on this mystery, whilst blood keeps dripping down from above.

DOCTOR
“I better check to see who’s bleeding up there!”

The Doctor stands and makes his way to leave the room.


SCENE #32 – INT – CORRIDOR, LEVEL #46 – 37TH CENTURY – EVENING
Outside in the corridor, the Doctor shuts the door of Room #225 behind him.

DOCTOR
“Now. Before I am spotted…”

GORDON
(loudly) “Ah, Doctor! How nice to see you again!”

The Doctor turns to look and see Gordon Rotenhend coming down the corridor to meet him.

DOCTOR
(sighs) “I spoke too soon.”

GORDON
“I have been meaning to chat with your good self about a very delicate matter.”

DOCTOR
(apprehensive) “Well so would I, Mr. Rotenhend. But I really have to…”

GORDON
“Oh, please let’s talk. It’s actually a matter of cricket!”

DOCTOR
“Cricket?”

GORDON
“Yes, cricket! I’ve observed how you seem to like cricket with your gear on and thought you would be interested to partake in a game of that calibre with me!”

DOCTOR
“Well that’s very kind of you, Mr. Rotenhend. But I really…”

GORDON
(puzzled) “What are you doing standing outside this room?”


SCENE #33 – INT – DANCE VENUE (SIMI-SUITE #5) – 37TH CENTURY – EVENING
Back in simi-suite #5 on Level #60, the Charleston dance has finished. The dancers applaud the band and their music. The band leader speaks into the microphone again, making another announcement.

BAND LANDER
(through microphone) “Now do take your partners again, as we’re about to perform one of the finest songs ever to exist in music history. Performed originally by Vera Lynn and lyrics by Ross Parker and Hughie Charles in nineteen thirty-nine…the song that brought us all together in some form or other…yes you’ve guessed it…‘We’ll meet again’!”

The band starts again, as the song and music are played in Ray Conniff style. The dancers dance to the music, including Nyssa and Billy. The band leader sings the song through the microphone.

BAND LEADER
(singing; through microphone) “We’ll meet again…don’t know where…don’t know when…but I know that it will be some sunny day…”

Whilst the band leader sings the song, Nyssa and Billy chat quietly as they dance together.

NYSSA
“I never thought I would enjoy something like this again.”

BILLY
“We certainly came to the right place.”

Moment of silence.

NYSSA
“I’m afraid it won’t always be like this, Billy. From what happened earlier with two deaths, it’s seemingly grim. And the Doctor would want to investigate this further.”

BILLY
(calmly) “I know that. I’m not complaining.” (Pause) “I mean…I know I’ll be going back to Earth when all this is over.”

NYSSA
“You want to go back home?”

Moment of silence.

BILLY
“Well I…I assumed…that’s what’s going to happen to me. I’ll be taken back home once the Doctor sorts this out.”

NYSSA
“Not if you don’t want him to.”

BILLY
(intrigued) “You…you’ll think he’ll let me stay?”

NYSSA
“If you ask him.”

BILLY
(hesitant) “No, I-I-I I better not.”

NYSSA
“Why not?”

BILLY
(hesitant) “Well I…”

But before Billy answers Nyssa’s question, there is a scream as two 1920s gangsters barge their way into the dance venue. Everyone stops dancing and the band stops playing music in an instant.

NYSSA
“What’s going on?”

Nyssa and Billy turn to see the newcomers enter. The gangsters have their firearms which are loaded. The gang leader steps forward and speaks in a strong American accent.

GANG LEADER
“Alright! Everyone on the ground, hands in the air and no funny business!”

BAND LEADER
(protests) “Now just what are you fellows doing? How dare you come barging in here?!”

GANG LEADER
“Shut up!”

The gang leader shoots the band leader. The band leader falls to the ground dead. Everyone screams as they, as well as Nyssa and Billy, are horrified.

GANG LEADER
“Now do as I say! Hands up and lie down!”

Everyone gets down to the floor, as threatened by the gangsters. Except Nyssa and Billy.

NYSSA
(concerned) “Billy? Did you include this in the program?”

BILLY
“No, I didn’t!”

NYSSA
(calls out loud) “Computer! End program!”

No response from the computer.

NYSSA
(calls out loud; repeats) “End program!”

BILLY
“What’s wrong?”

NYSSA
“The computer’s not responding to my commands. There must be an error in the functioning pattern!”

BILLY
(calls out loud) “Hey! You stupid contraption up there! Stop this at once!”

NYSSA
“Billy! That’s not going to help.”

The gang leader sees Nyssa and Billy and he makes his way towards them. He stands right in front of them.

GANG LEADER
(threateningly) “Hey! You two! I said ‘hands up and on the ground’!” (Pause) “Do it now before I smack you in the face!”

NYSSA
“Billy.”

BILLY
(reassuringly) “It’s alright, Nyssa. He won’t harm us!”

NYSSA
“I’m not so sure about that, Billy.”

BILLY
“He’s not real!”

A loud smack occurs, as the gangster hits Billy in the face with his firearm. Billy falls to the floor.

NYSSA
(cries; shocked) “Billy!”

Nyssa gets down to the floor to help Billy. She tries to wake him up.

NYSSA
(panics; concerned) “Billy! Are you alright? Billy, wake up!”

The gang leader raises his firearm at Nyssa’s head.

GANG LEADER
“You, girl! Get on your face!”

NYSSA
(protests) “That was entirely unnecessary! You didn’t have to…”

GANG LEADER
(yells) “Do as I say!”

Before Nyssa complies with the gang leader’s demands, the whole place phases in and out, as the holographic simulation goes fuzzy, bizarre and all over the place. Nyssa’s voice becomes distorted as she speaks.

NYSSA
“It’s happening again! Like before!”

Nyssa watches, as everything gets awry and out of place in the simi-suite.


SCENE #34 – INT – CORRIDOR, LEVEL #46 – 37TH CENTURY – EVENING
Back in the corridor with the Doctor and Gordon on Level #46, the lights flicker as everything goes dark.

GORDON
(shrieks; shouts) “What’s happening?! What’s wrong with the stinking lights?!”

DOCTOR
“I wonder.”

Eventually the lights go out in the corridor.

GORDON
(annoyed) “Bah! Comets and coconuts! Useless engineers! I don’t know why we bother with them!” (Pause) “I can’t see now!”

DOCTOR
“That’s because it’s dark, Mr. Rotenhend!”

GORDON
(realises) “Err…hey! Who’s that down there?” (shouts) “Who’s that down there?”

The Doctor looks in Gordon’s direction.

DOCTOR
“I can’t see anything.”

GORDON
“There in the shadows! It was there as I saw it from the tip of your celery!”

DOCTOR
“You can’t even see the stick of celery on my lapel, Mr. Rotenhend!”

GORDON
“Nevertheless, I can see him…or her…or it…as I can see the plain of day…or night…or whatever!”

Moment of silence. Gordon then takes out a laser gun from his pocket.

GORDON
(shouts) “There he is! Whoever he, she or it is!” (calls) “Stop, you! Stop or I’ll shoot!”

Gordon then fires his laser gun. The Doctor lets out a pained groan.

DOCTOR
(groans) “Mr. Rotenhend. I don’t think you should…”

GORDON
(shouts loudly) “I said stop!”

Gordon fires again. There is then a slump to the floor. Moment of silence.

GORDON
(triumphantly) “I got him! I got him!” (laughs out loud) “Doctor! I got him!” (puzzled) “Doctor?”

The lights are then switched back on.

GORDON
(pleased) “Ah! The lights are back on!”

Gordon then gasps, as he looks to the floor.

GORDON
(gasps; despairingly) “Oh no! I got him alright!” (Pause) “I shot the Doctor! I shot the Doctor!”


Sting music. Roll original 1982 Peter Davison end credits.


TO BE CONTINUED…


© Tim Bradley, 2016

Leave a Reply

