‘The Space Hotel’ – Part Two, Chapter 7

Hello everyone! 🙂

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog and I’m Tim Bradley!

The murder mystery gets more interesting as the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa and Billy begin to work out who the suspects are at Rotenhend Hotel 360….also known as ‘The Space Hotel’. Find out what happens in Chapter 7 of this story. Is it Gordon Rotenhend? Could he be responsible? Or is it Bruce the android?

Here is a brief summary of what ‘The Space Hotel’ is all about.

The TARDIS takes the Doctor, Nyssa and Billy to Rotenhend Hotel 360 in the 37th century. They meet a rude hotel manager and murders take place.

Enjoy!

Tim. 🙂


John-Sessions

7. Finding out the Suspects

SCENE #58 – INT – KITCHEN, LEVEL #44 – 37TH CENTURY – AFTERNOON
In the kitchen on Level #44, Truk the chef tries to woo Enuji. Enuji runs away from him.

ENUJI
“Na, Na, Monnoir! Cuddle no! Cuddle no!”

TRUK
“Oh please, Enuji! You’re so cute!”

ENUJI
“Na, Monnoir!”

TRUK
“Just one kiss, please!”

ENUJI
“Na!”

Enuji leaves the kitchen whilst Truk remains, upset and distraught.

TRUK
(sobs) “Enuji! She doesn’t love me! I want her!”

Whilst Truk sobs, Nyssa enters, now fully-clothed. She approaches Truk in the kitchen.

NYSSA
“Excuse me?”

TRUK
(distraught) “Go away and leave me alone!”

Truk takes a bottle of wine and drinks it down. Nyssa watches him do this.

NYSSA
(gradually) “My name’s Nyssa. I’m here on behalf of the Doctor!”

TRUK
“Doctor? There’s no doctor that can help me with my sorrows!”

NYSSA
“The Doctor’s conducting the investigation of these murders happening at this hotel, didn’t you know?” (Pause; intrigued) “What do you mean ‘your sorrows’?”

TRUK
“You wouldn’t! You wouldn’t want to know about my sorrows!”

NYSSA
“I would!”

TRUK
“No! You wouldn’t want to know about the suffering I’m having with not having the woman I love working at this hotel!” (sobs) “Just before you came in here, that dear girl Enuji, the waitress, happened to be in here, and I expressed my love to her! But she wouldn’t accept me!”

NYSSA
“Well you have to give these things time, Mr…”

TRUK
“Time?! She’s so sweet! So wonderful! I can’t wait for her!”

NYSSA
“Well, I’m sorry about the way you feel. But I really need to ask you some questions.” (Pause) “You were the one who made Mr. Stedman’s croissants before he died, weren’t you?”

TRUK
“Not just any croissants, miss! The greatest croissants! The finest that Truk has ever made in his entire cooking career! Of his life!”

NYSSA
“Yes I’m sure, Mr. Truk. But what I want to know is who took them up when you finished making them?”

TRUK
“Mr. Rotenhend, of course. Although it was Bruce the android that was supposed to take them up. Then it was Enuji.” (sobs) “Oh! Sweet Enuji!” (gradually; snaps out of it) “Anyway, Mr. Rotenhend took them up in the end! Then his son took up the jug of milk.”

NYSSA
“I see.”

Nyssa then shows the knife, found in Mr. Stedman’s room, to Truk.

NYSSA
“This knife was found in Mr. Stedman’s room. I don’t suppose it’s yours by any chance?”

Truk sees it and immediately takes the knife from Nyssa.

TRUK
“Hey! I was looking for that! That’s kitchen property!”

NYSSA
“Where were you last night, Mr. Truk?”

TRUK
“I was here! In the kitchen!” (sobs) “Drowning my sorrows!”

NYSSA
“And you hadn’t been in Mr. Stedman’s bedroom all this time?”

TRUK
“Of course not!”

NYSSA
“You’re sure?”

TRUK
“Of course I’m sure! What do you think I am? A murderer?”

NYSSA
“There was a couple that was murdered yesterday. Were they in the dining room by any chance before they died?”

TRUK
“Of course. Two days ago. They had a meal together in this dining room. The man was having a fish platter and the other had roast duck. They kept complaining how awful their food was and that it was the wrong shape!”

NYSSA
“Did you protest?”

TRUK
“Of course I did. No chef who had made sure a fine meal gets complaints!”

NYSSA
“Did you check the right ingredients to prepare the meal, Mr. Truk?”

TRUK
“What are you implying, miss?”

NYSSA
“The meal you prepared for that couple and the croissants you made for Mr. Stedman involved food. You could have easily had every opportunity to poison those meals.”

TRUK
“But you forget! Mr. Stedman didn’t eat his croissants at all. He was dead before he ate them.”

NYSSA
“Yes, that is true. But you can’t dismiss the young couple!”

TRUK
“I didn’t kill them!”

NYSSA
“Did you go to the simi-suites after you finished serving dinner?”

TRUK
“No I didn’t”

NYSSA
“Then where were you?”

TRUK
“I was in the kitchen…drowning my sorrows.

Truk sobs for a while.

NYSSA
(gradually) “Thank you, Mr. Truk. You’ve been helpful.”

Nyssa leaves the kitchen whilst Truk has a good cry, still holding the knife.

TRUK
(sobs; dreamily) “Enuji! So beautiful!” (Pause) “I could kill myself in order to have you!”

Just then, Truk is terrified, as his hand holding the knife goes for his chest. He grabs hold of his hand to hold it back.

TRUK
“My hand!”

Very soon, the knife is at his chest.

TRUK
(cries) “No! No! When I said ‘I could kill’, I didn’t mean…”

Truk then screams in terror, as he stabs himself with the knife. He falls to the floor dead. He is left abandoned and neglected in the kitchen.


SCENE #59 – INT – CORRIDOR, LEVEL #44 – 37TH CENTURY – AFTERNOON
In a corridor on Level #44, close to where the dining room is, the Doctor; Nyssa and Admiral Brown report to each other what they’ve learnt from interrogating Gordon Rotenhend and Truk the chef.

NYSSA
“Mr. Truk said he’d been in the kitchen all night whilst Mr. Stedman was in his room. And he was in the kitchen serving the couple Jo and Joe before they died. But he denies having killed them.”

DOCTOR
“Hmm? Well I’m not really sure we should take his word for it yet. He confirmed that the knife found in Mr. Stedman’s room was one of the kitchen’s.”

NYSSA
“He was too preoccupied to be thinking about guilt, Doctor. He seemed upset about not having Enuji the waitress as his soul mate.”

DOCTOR
“It could be a bluff.”

ADMIRAL
“Come on, Doctor. The chef might have a futile fancy with some waitress working at a hotel to be thinking about murder.”

DOCTOR
“All the same. I’d like to question this Truk person before I can make any final judgements.”

NYSSA
“What about Mr. Rotenhend?”

DOCTOR
“Well he certainly was suspicious as I expected. He’s obviously more interested in the welfare of his own hotel.”

NYSSA
“Hardly surprising. But did you suspect he might be involved.”

DOCTOR
“It’s hard to tell at this point. He seemed rather oblivious to the fact that murders have been committed and he’s not worried about his own skin. He stated that ‘it’s all tripe’!”

NYSSA
“That’s heartless of him.”

DOCTOR
“Yes. Though I wonder why he’s not so willing to take an interest in these murders. I find it rather odd.”

ADMIRAL
“Why do you find it odd, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
(challengingly) “I don’t know, Admiral! You tell me!”

ADMIRAL
“Me? Why me?”

Just then, Bruce enters as his mechanical motors echo in the corridor.

NYSSA
“Doctor! There’s that android Bruce!”

DOCTOR
“Ah! Now here’s another likely suspect we can ask.”

The Doctor; Nyssa and Admiral Brown approach Bruce the android.

DOCTOR
“Uh hello? Excuse me, Mr. Bruce. Can we talk?”

BRUCE
“Me? You wish to talk to me?” (laughs drearily) “You must be joking.”

DOCTOR
“No. We’re quite serious actually.”

NYSSA
“It’s rather important. It relates to the murders.”

Bruce stops walking.

BRUCE
“Why should that concern me? I’m an android. I have no desire to kill.”

DOCTOR
“Well maybe so, but…”

NYSSA
(interjects) “Where were you on the night of Mr. Stedman’s murder?”

BRUCE
“Where was I? I was asleep. Though I doubt my quarters were a hospitable environment to sleep in.”

NYSSA
“And on the night that the young couple was murdered?”

BRUCE
“Asleep again. Though…I want my quarters changed.”

NYSSA
“Where’s your room then, Mr. Bruce?”

BRUCE
“On level five. Where all staff members’ quarters are situated of course.”

NYSSA
“And Mr. Stedman’s room was on level twenty-three.”

BRUCE
“Yes. So if you were thinking that I had direct access to Mr. Stedman’s room when I was sleeping eighteen levels above him, you’re very much mistaken.”

DOCTOR
(raises voice) “Yes of course. But what I want to know [is…”]

NYSSA
(interjects) “Can anyone vouch for you being in your room at the time of the murders?”

BRUCE
“No. Nobody can.”

NYSSA
“No one saw you go in?”

BRUCE
“No.”

NYSSA
“You didn’t even tell anyone?”

BRUCE
“Why should I? I can do whatever I want.”

NYSSA
“Mr. Rotenhend would have liked to have known about you going to your room, surely?”

BRUCE
“Why should he? He doesn’t care. He doesn’t care about androids no more than he cares about his grandmother who got eaten by the big bad beast of Thrall.”

ADMIRAL
“Did she?”

BRUCE
“No. That’s wishful thinking.”

NYSSA
“You don’t like working or being among humans or humanoids do you, Mr. Bruce?

BRUCE
“I don’t enjoy it.”

DOCTOR
“Now that’s a very interesting point…”

NYSSA
(interjects) “Why don’t you, Mr. Bruce?”

BRUCE
“Why should I? They don’t like androids more than they like Rarg’s steak and double kidney’s pie! They say they treat me well, but they don’t mean it. They just want someone to polish their shoes for them and make sure they get their just desserts. But they don’t offer anything in return.”

NYSSA
“So your dislike for humans could be a possible motive to kill, couldn’t it?”

BRUCE
(gradually) “That’s a very logical line of reasoning.”

NYSSA
“I am a logical person, Mr. Bruce.”

BRUCE
“I am not programmed to kill anyone, my lady. The three laws prevent me from doing so.”

NYSSA
“Your programming could have changed during the time of the murders.”

BRUCE
(gradually) “I have no desire to kill, lady. I may be capable but I’m not a murderer.”

DOCTOR
“Well that’s all very well…”

BRUCE
(interjects) “Now if you will excuse me, I must attend to my duties. Though I don’t see why I should bother.”

DOCTOR
“But wait just a minute! I need to know…”

But before the Doctor can ask, Bruce is gone.

NYSSA
“Well. That’s another potential suspect. He even denies the fact that he could be reprogrammed.”

DOCTOR
(annoyed) “Nyssa!”

NYSSA
“Yes Doctor?”

DOCTOR
(annoyed) “Next time, let me do the questioning! I couldn’t get a word in edgeways!”

NYSSA
“But I questioned Mr. Bruce rather well.”

ADMIRAL
“She did, Doctor. She did it better than you!”

DOCTOR
“Nevertheless, I would appreciate it if you could let me do the talking. Carrying out a murder investigation is a very sticky business. And I would rather prefer it if you let me handle these matters with delicacy and practicality. Alright?”

NYSSA
“Yes, Doctor. Whatever you say, Doctor.”


SCENE #60 – INT – KITCHEN, LEVEL #44 – 37TH CENTURY – AFTERNOON
In the kitchen on Level #44, Enuji the waitress is about to enter before she knocks the door gently from outside.

ENUJI
(calls) “Truk? Truk? Me in come now. Cuddle no. Cuddle no. Yako?”

Enuji then enters. Once she’s in the kitchen, she screams and drops the cutlery she’s carrying onto the floor. She turns to call back through the door she came in.

ENUJI
(screams; calls) “Helpa! Helpa san! Truk ninka! Truk ninka!”

She screams, whilst Truk lies dead on the floor.


SCENE #61 – INT – KITCHEN, LEVEL #44 – 37TH CENTURY – AFTERNOON
Minutes later, the Doctor examines Truk’s dead body. Nyssa and the Admiral are also with him.

NYSSA
“How can he commit suicide like that? There’s no sense in it!”

DOCTOR
(matter-of-factually) “Who said he committed suicide, Nyssa?”

ADMIRAL
“Miss Nyssa did.”

DOCTOR
“I wasn’t talking to you, Admiral.”

NYSSA
“Well what else could it be, Doctor? The knife next to him says it all!”

DOCTOR
“Not quite.”

ADMIRAL
“Not quite? What do you mean ‘not quite’?”

Just then Enuji enters with Gordon and Billy.

GORDON
(shouts) “Fireballs and foundations! Why must you be so squeamish, girl?! A man’s dead. There’s nothing to be concerned about!”

ENUJI
“Na! Na, Mr. Rotenhend! Truk made me gowe!”

DOCTOR
(to Enuji) “Ah, Enuji! Just the person I want. Is this how you found Mr. Truk?”

Enuji then bursts into tears.

BILLY
“In other words ‘yes’, Doctor.”

NYSSA
(wryly) “That was handled well, Doctor.”

DOCTOR
“Well I can’t help it if she’s squeamish.”

GORDON
(shouts) “Don’t you start pestering me, Doctor!”

DOCTOR
“I wasn’t going to, Mr. Rotenhend.” (Pause) “In any case, I can see the evidence before me.”

GORDON
“What are you talking about?”

DOCTOR
“Lack of consideration of how you and your hotel’s reputation might be affected.”

GORDON
(shouts) “Preposterous, Doctor! I have nothing to hide!”

DOCTOR
“Then why are you being so ignorant? I see in your face you’re afraid” (to Nyssa) “You see it too don’t you, Nyssa?”

NYSSA
“I’m afraid I do, Doctor.”

GORDON
“You lot ask so many questions. Just what kind of a doctor are you, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
“A doctor that looks and seeks for the answers he requires and you’re just not giving them to me, Mr. Rotenhend.”

GORDON
“There’s nothing to say. I have my way of right. I don’t see anything to be ashamed of.”

Just then, the tannoy blares off.

ELIZABETH (V’O)
(through tannoy) “Gordon! Gordon! Come to reception at once!”

GORDON
(bitterly) “You see! You see what’s happened now! You’ve made my day worse! My wife’s calling me! Oh what a wretch!”

Gordon heads off, as he leaves the kitchen.

BILLY
“So much for the finely-established.”

ADMIRAL
“What is it about this chef’s death that you find so baffling, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
(gradually) “Oh just the fact that this knife is not as it seems.”

BILLY
“What do you mean by that, Doctor?”

The Doctor raises the knife in the air for everyone to see.

DOCTOR
“Have a look, everyone! See anything strange on the knife?”

Everyone looks at the knife to see what the Doctor’s referring to. A short while later…

NYSSA
(realises) “The knife’s clean, Doctor! There’s no blood on it!”

DOCTOR
“Precisely! And from the look of Truk’s wound, there’s no blood at all. Very unlike what happened with Mr. Stedman earlier.”

ADMIRAL
“But there must be blood on the man Truk, Doctor!”

DOCTOR
“Must there, Admiral? Must there?”

BILLY
(realises) “Wait a minute! Doctor, there is something on the knife!”

The Doctor and Nyssa look at the knife to see what Billy’s seen.

NYSSA
(gradually; realises) “Billy’s right, Doctor! Look! There’s a substance layered on the knife. Some kind of carbon compound.”

Nyssa touches the substance on the knife.

NYSSA
(disgusted) “Ugh! And it’s rather sticky too!”

DOCTOR
“This is oil.”

NYSSA
(to Doctor) “Oil?”

DOCTOR
(to Nyssa) “Oil!”

BILLY
“Oil?”

NYSSA
(to Billy) “Oil!”

ADMIRAL
“Oil?”

BILLY
(to Admiral) “Oil!”

ENUJI
“Oili!”

ADMIRAL
(to Enuji) “No, my dear. Oil!”

DOCTOR
“Yes, Admiral. We’ve gathered the idea.”

BILLY
“But how can the chef try to commit suicide and the knife somehow manage to get oil on it? He can’t have oil in his bloodstream surely?”

DOCTOR
“Well, there’s one way to find out!”

NYSSA
(apprehensively) “Doctor, you’re not going to…”

DOCTOR
“I most certainly am, Nyssa!”

BILLY
“What? What is he going to do?”

NYSSA
“The Doctor’s going to try and check Mr. Truk’s internal organs.”

ADMIRAL
“And how in heaven’s name are you going to do that, man?”

DOCTOR
“With the sonic screwdriver. Stand back, everyone!”

ENUJI
“Coo?”

DOCTOR
“Stand back!”

ENUJI
“Ah! Wee, wee, wee!”

Everyone stands back, as the Doctor kneels to check on Truk using his sonic screwdriver. He switches it on and the sonic screwdriver buzzes away. Suddenly, the once dead corpse of Truk comes to life again. He sits up on the floor. Everyone, including the Doctor, are startled once this happens.

BILLY
“What in the world?”

ADMIRAL
“Great heavens above!”

NYSSA
“Doctor! He’s sitting upright!”

DOCTOR
“Yes, Nyssa. And he gave me a start!”

NYSSA
“But how’s that possible. He was dead!”

DOCTOR
“Well he’s alive!”

Suddenly Truk explodes, with sparks of fire coming out of his body. He falls back to the floor again.

DOCTOR
“And now he’s dead again!”

BILLY
“I don’t understand this.”

NYSSA
“He’s an android, Doctor. Mr. Truk is an android.”

DOCTOR
(wearingly) “Yes, Nyssa.”

NYSSA
“He’s certainly a good piece of engineering. Such a beautiful machine.”

BILLY
(startled) “Well, that’s quite a…’kind’ way of putting it, Nyssa.”

ADMIRAL
“But what does it all mean, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
“It means Admiral…that Mr. Truk was never dead or alive!”

Moment of silence, as everyone is disturbed by what the Doctor has just said.


SCENE #62 – EXT – ZONDOR SPACE STATION – 37TH CENTURY – N/A
In another part of Zondor space, light years away from Rotenhend Hotel 360, is a small space station situated on the rim of the galaxy. It is surrounded by a gaseous nebula and is hidden from the hotel. Huge shockwaves emit from the space station, shooting across the stars. The space car stolen by Larry and Bob is docked at the space station.


SCENE #63 – INT – OPERATIONS ROOM (STATION) – 37TH CENTURY – AFTERNOON
In the operations room of the space station, Larry works on fixing a control panel on the operations deck. He finds it a challenge to repair the extent of the damage. The control panel keeps blowing up every time he uses a tool to fix it.

LARRY
(frustrated) “Stupid garbage!”

Just then, Bob enters.

BOB
(calls) “Larry?”

LARRY
“Bob! Where are you?”

BOB
“I’m here! Where are you?”

LARRY
“I’m here!”

BOB
“How can you be here if I’m here?”

LARRY
“I’m in the operations room!”

BOB
“Where’s the operations room?”

LARRY
“Stop asking questions and come here!”

BOB
“Alright. I’ll come. Even though I don’t know where you are, I’ll come. Can’t help getting lost on this station. If we…” (startled; realises) “Oh. Here I am!”

Bob takes in his surroundings once he’s in the operations room.

LARRY
“What have you been doing?”

BOB
“I was talking to you, wasn’t I?” (realises) “Oh yes, sorry. I mean I’ve been down to the engine room. Just to make sure all systems are functioning in normal parameters.”

LARRY
“And are they?”

BOB
“Yes.”

LARRY
“Splendid. Now see to that crystal chamber that generates the engine power. It’s right next to you.”

BOB
“Right.”

Bob goes over to the crystal chamber. He opens the lid and looks inside.

BOB
“Hmm!”

LARRY
“What’s wrong?”

BOB
“There’s no Nitrite crystals!”

LARRY
“Now what would you do in a situation like that, Bob?”

BOB
(thinks) “Um…err…err…um…”

LARRY
“Well?”

Moment of silence.

BOB
(thinks) “Go and fetch some?”

LARRY
“Certainly! It’s perfectly simple! There’s some in the bag! It’s over there in the far corner!”

Bob makes his way over to the bag and fishes out the crystals. Larry meanwhile manages to fix the control panels, as the lights come on.

LARRY
“Ah now! This is more like it! All systems go!” (to Bob) “I told you I’d have this space station running! All thanks to me!”

Larry types away at a keyboard, as he gets used to the controls on the control panel.

BOB
“Say, Larry?”

LARRY
“What?”

BOB
“Who was that woman in that portrait we saw earlier?”

LARRY
“Oh some old hag that was running the space station before we came here I expect. Someone who knew the ins and outs far longer than she would have liked to have kissed in the rose bushes with some bloke!”

BOB
“She reminded me of someone, Larry!”

LARRY
“Who?”

BOB
(thinks) “My sister. And someone else, I think.”

A beeping sound then goes off. Larry checks the control panel.

LARRY
(realises) “Wait a minute! I’m getting a connection.”

Larry checks the control panel for a while, whilst Bob is far off.

LARRY
“Yes! It’s a hailing frequency on a subspace channel. It’s code-inverted.” (realises) “It’s from her ladyship.”

BOB
(amazed; distracted) “Well, well, well! Can you beat that?”

LARRY
“Yes. I always suspected her ladyship was punctual.”

BOB
“Not that. I found this star chart. Look”.

Bob brings over a star-chart whilst Larry focuses on the communication from Lady Mite. Bob sprawls his star-chart onto the control panel in front of Larry.

BOB
“Here, Larry. Here’s where we are in Zondor space. And there’s our home. We’re not far from our home now. I hope it doesn’t get blown up by some confederacy that would fail to inform us of constructing a bypass in advance.”

LARRY
“Oh stop playing with your charts, Bob. This is important. I’m going to increase the frequency. Shut up a minute.”

Larry increases the frequency, as he attempts to establish the communications link.

LARRY
“Almost got it…now!”

Larry slams hard on the control panel. Moment of silence.

LARRY
“There! You see? You see, Bob?”

BOB
“I see, Larry. You’ve broken it.”

LARRY
“Ah now be fair, Bob. It’s a hard job working at this contraption.”

BOB
“So hard that it may never work again.”

LARRY
“Now don’t be so rude, Bob.”

Just then, they’re interrupted.

LADY MITE (V’O)
“Mr. Cooper; Mr. Hill. Are you receiving me?”

BOB
“Hey, Larry! That’s Lady Mite on the intercom, isn’t it?”

LARRY
“It certainly is, Bob! I told you so!”

Larry presses a button to switch the intercom on at his end.

LADY MITE (V’O)
(repeats) “Mr. Cooper; Mr. Hill. Are you receiving me? It’s Lady Mite here”

LARRY
(through intercom) “Yes, your ladyship. I’m receiving you loud and clear!”

BOB
(cheerfully) “I am too, your ladyship!”

LARRY
“Shut up, Bob.”

LADY MITE (V’O)
“That’s good. Now listen carefully. I haven’t got much time. I shall shortly be going to reception to do my bit. You two know what you have to do?”

LARRY
(through intercom) “Yes we do, your ladyship.”

BOB
“Do we?”

LARRY
“Yes we do, Bob.”

BOB
“Oh! We do, do we?”

LADY MITE (V’O)
“Contact me as soon as you can, once you’ve finished what you’ve done. I shall attend to my tasks now.”

LARRY
(through intercom) “Yes, my lady. Thank you so much for putting your trust in us.”

LADY MITE (V’O)
“Not at all. Now, go to it! Good luck!”

Lady Mite ends transmission, by switching off the intercom at her end. Larry then turns to Bob.

LARRY
“Right, Bob. Go in the lift to the lower levels.”

BOB
“Me?! Why does it have to be me?”

LARRY
“I can’t do it. I have to help you get through all the booby traps in those conduits to get to the cargo bay. And you’re smaller than me.”

BOB
“What’s that got to do with it?”

Just then, engines roar from outside.


SCENE #64 – EXT – ZONDOR SPACE STATION – 37TH CENTURY
In outer space, a fleet of spaceships zoom pass the space station. They head for the space hotel. These ships are foreboding and menacing, as the engines grind with age. The space station emits a shock wave through its deflector ray, as a few ships get hit and their engines sound sluggish. Despite this, the fleet maintains its course.


SCENE #65 – INT – OPERATIONS ROOM (STATION) – 37TH CENTURY – AFTERNOON
In the operations room, Larry and Bob watch the fleet of spaceships passing by.

BOB
“Will that be them?”

LARRY
“Yes, Bob. That will be them alright.”

BOB
“Bit ahead of schedule, aren’t they? I thought her ladyship said they would go to the hotel two hours later.”

LARRY
“Oh never mind that, Bob. We’ve got a job to do! Well…you’ve got a job to do!”

Bob reluctantly leaves the operations room, while Larry happily works at the control panels.


SCENE #66 – INT – LOBBY, LEVEL #1 – 37TH CENTURY – AFTERNOON
Back at the space hotel, in the lobby on Level #1, Mr. Rotenhend fumes at the reception desk.

GORDON
(shouts) “Elizabeth! Elizabeth! Where are you?!”

Just then, the turbo-lift doors slide open as Enuji steps out.

ENUJI
“Mr. Rotenhend! Mr. Rotenhend!”

GORDON
“What do you want, you stupid girl?”

ENUJI
“Doctor see you!”

GORDON
“What?”

ENUJI
(slowly) “Doctor…see…you!”

GORDON
“Where’s Elizabeth?”

ENUJI
“Coo?”

GORDON
(frustrated) “Where’s E-liz-a-beth?!”

ENUJI
(puzzled) “Err…where’s…the list of deaths?”

GORDON
(agitated) “No, not the list of deaths! This isn’t a cemetery, this is a hotel! Where’s my wife?!”

ENUJI
“Coo?”

GORDON
“Where’s my wife Elizabeth?”

ENUJI
“She not here!”

GORDON
“She is here!”

ENUJI
(insistently) “She not here!”

GORDON
(groans) “Oh never mind! Never mind!”

Just then, the lift doors slide open as the Doctor; Nyssa and the Admiral enter. The Doctor approaches Gordon at the reception desk in the lobby.

DOCTOR
“Ah, Mr. Rotenhend! I must speak to you!”

GORDON
“I’m sorry, Doctor! I can’t speak to you now!”

DOCTOR
“You can’t or you’re unwilling?”

GORDON
“I would appreciate it if you mind your own business, Doctor!”

DOCTOR
“Your hotel is holding a secret and a murderer! And while we’re at it, your chef was robotic!”

GORDON
“Thank you. Now have you seen my wife?”

DOCTOR
“You didn’t flinch!”

GORDON
“Do I need to?”

NYSSA
“Didn’t you hear what the Doctor said, Mr. Rotenhend? Your chef happens to be an android!”

ADMIRAL
“Not unlike your Mr. Bruce, Rotenhend!”

GORDON
(frustrated) “Yes, Admiral! Thank you for telling me!”

ADMIRAL
“Not at all! Oh and by the way, is there…?”

GORDON
(shouts) “No newspapers””

Just then, the turbo-lift doors slide open as Billy enters. He attempts to get the Doctor’s attention.

BILLY
(calls) “Doctor!”

DOCTOR
“Not now, Billy.” (to Gordon) “Mr. Rotenhend, it is important you help us…”

GORDON
“Stop wasting my time! Now have any of you seen my wife, Elizabeth?”

ENUJI
“Coo?”

GORDON
“Shut up!”

Elizabeth then enters.

ELIZABETH
(drearily) “Yes, Gordon.”

GORDON
“Elizabeth! I must speak to you!”

DOCTOR
“Ah, Mrs. Rotenhend. Could I talk to you?”

ELIZABETH
“Yes of course, Doctor.”

GORDON
“I was here first, Elizabeth!”

ELIZABETH
“You don’t count.”

GORDON
“Now look here…”

ELIZABETH
(shouts) “Gordon!”

Gordon staggers back. Meanwhile Billy talks quietly to Nyssa.

BILLY
(quietly) “Nyssa? There’s something I need to tell the Doctor.”

NYSSA
(quietly) “Go on, Billy.”

BILLY
(quietly) “Well Joel…”

DOCTOR
(interrupts) “Quiet, you two!”

GORDON
(protests) “But what about me?”

ELIZABETH
“You wait in the office, Gordon! I’ll be with you in a moment!”

GORDON
(groans) “Oh very well!”

Gordon leaves and goes into the office, slamming the door shut behind him.

ELIZABETH
(to Doctor) “Now, Doctor…”

DOCTOR
“Well, you’ve no doubt heard about the recent deaths that have occurred at this hotel.”

ELIZABETH
“Yes I have. It’s such a shame that Mr. Stedman died so suddenly!”

NYSSA
“Did you ever speak to Mr. Stedman then?”

ELIZABETH
“Yes. Just before he went to bed last night.”

NYSSA
“Did he say anything before he went to bed?”

ELIZABETH
“Well, just to say that he was queasy and that he was so tired.”

NYSSA
“That might be a potential cause that led to his death.”

DOCTOR
(agitated) “Please, Nyssa. Let me handle this.” (to Elizabeth) “Did you say anything to him when he went to bed, Mrs. Rotenhend?”

ELIZABETH
“No, not much. I asked him if he would like to have something to help him get better.”

NYSSA
“And did he?”

ELIZABETH
“Yes! Now you come to mention it, I gave him some sleeping pills.”

DOCTOR
“Sleeping pills?”

ELIZABETH
“Yes. I have some in my drawer here.”

Elizabeth opens a drawer from the reception desk and takes out a bottle of sleeping pills.

DOCTOR
“Can I have a look at them?”

ELIZABETH
“Certainly!”

Elizabeth hands the pills to the Doctor. The Doctor takes them and examines them for a while.

DOCTOR
(to himself) “Glasses! Where are my glasses?”

The Doctor finds and slips on his glasses on to examine the pills closely. Moment of silence occurs.

NYSSA
(gradually) “Any opinions, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
“Not yet. I’ll have to examine these pills more carefully.” (to Elizabeth) “Do you mind if I keep these?”

ELIZABETH
“Of course not. I have another set where that came from.”

DOCTOR
“Uh…I would advise you not to take any pills from now, Mrs. Rotenhend.”

BILLY
“You think they might be poisonous, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
“Yes I do, Billy. If these are what killed Mr. Stedman, then it’s best to take all necessary precautions.”

Gordon then shouts from within the office.

GORDON
(shouts) “Elizabeth! Elizabeth!”

ELIZABETH
“Will you excuse me please, Doctor.”

DOCTOR
“By all means.”

ELIZABETH
“Oh by the way! The Weerds will be arriving soon, so be best prepared for when they arrive.”

ADMIRAL
(shocked) “Weerds!”

ELIZABETH
“Oh just for a few days, Admiral. They wish to inspect the hotel.”

Elizabeth leaves the reception desk to see Gordon in the office. She shuts the door behind her. Gordon and Elizabeth bicker from inside. Meanwhile the Admiral mutters, troubled to himself.

BILLY
“Is there anything wrong, Admiral?”

ADMIRAL
(mutters; troubled) “Well, I’m not at all comfortable when the Weerds are here.”

NYSSA
“Why? What are these Weerds, Admiral?”

ADMIRAL
“Oh we’re at peace with them now. But decades ago, they were the cause of the conflict between humans and Weerds in this sector of the galaxy. They were like scout police patrols and still are. They’d give you a strike on the back and punish you without question. No negotiating with them.”

BILLY
“I don’t like the sound of them.”

NYSSA
“You mean they’re in charge of this sector of space and everything in it? Even this hotel?”

ADMIRAL
“Yes! Never cared for them much myself. Always wanted to see the back of them.” (chuckles) “Always wanted to see them throw themselves off the silly ships that they travelled in or even at this hotel. Not everyone likes the Weerds. And as far as I’m concerned, they don’t like us.”

DOCTOR
“And that Admiral Brown…is a possible motive for murder!”

BILLY
(surprised) “You mean that the Weerds might be the reason why these murders are taking place?”

NYSSA
“Or someone’s trying to sabotage the Weerds’ visit here to blame somebody!”

The Doctor, Nyssa, Billy and the Admiral ponder on these facts whilst they’re in the lobby.


TO BE CONTINUED…


© Tim Bradley, 2016

This entry was posted in Comedy, Doctor Who, Fan Fiction, Nyssa, The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

