‘The Space Hotel’ – Part Three, Chapter 10

Hello everyone! 🙂

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog and I’m Tim Bradley!

It’s time for Chapter 10 of ‘The Space Hotel’ with the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa and Billy! With the Weerd Chancellor causing trouble and chasing after Nyssa, the Doctor seeks to find out who the mysterious Lady Mite is. Will Bob and Larry also cause trouble when they’re now on the space station close by?!

Here is a brief summary of what ‘The Space Hotel’ is all about.

The TARDIS takes the Doctor, Nyssa and Billy to Rotenhend Hotel 360 in the 37th century. They meet a rude hotel manager and murders take place.

Enjoy!

Tim. 🙂


Minimalist-hotel-corridor-floors-and-walls-ideas

10. The Chancellor’s Infatuation

SCENE #82 – INT – TURBO-LIFT – 37TH CENTURY – MORNING
Inside the turbo-lift with the Doctor and Nyssa, they’re on their way to the lobby on Level #1. The Doctor reveals to Nyssa what he’s learnt recently from Mr. Rotenhend.

NYSSA
“So you think there might be another suspect connected with these murders.”

DOCTOR
“Well I wouldn’t put it like that. But when I heard Gordon mention Lady Mite’s name to me, it aroused my curiosity.”

NYSSA
“And who is this Lady Mite, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
“Oh…she’s an old acquaintance.”

NYSSA
“No, but…there’s something more to this. It seems as if you know more about her than you’re actually saying.”

DOCTOR
(astounded) “Oh really, Nyssa! When have I given you that impression?”

NYSSA
“All the time!”

DOCTOR
(mock-shocked) “Oh, Nyssa! You made me feel so bad!”

Moment of silence.

NYSSA
“Do you think Billy will be alright?”

DOCTOR
“Oh I’m sure he will. He’ll blend back into his duties soon enough. Anyway if there’s anything else he wishes to tell us, then there’s no harm in letting us know.”

NYSSA
“Well, what about Joel Rotenhend going after that space car for his father?”

DOCTOR
“What about it?”

NYSSA
“Should we do anything to ascertain any level of threat from that corner?”

DOCTOR
“I don’t see why we should, Nyssa. We’ll worry about that later.”

Just then, the turbo-lift comes to a stop.

DOCTOR
“Ah! Here we are at level one! Let’s disembark out of this turbo-lift, shall we?”

The lift doors slide open and the Doctor and Nyssa exit.


SCENE #83 – INT – LOBBY, LEVEL #1 – 37TH CENTURY – MORNING
The Doctor and Nyssa enter the lobby on Level #1. There they meet Admiral Brown, who’s reading the newspaper. The Admiral folds his newspaper away once he sees the Doctor and Nyssa.

ADMIRAL
(cheerily) “Ah! Doctor; Lady Nyssa!”

DOCTOR
(enthused) “Morning, Admiral! I’ve been meaning to find you!”

NYSSA
“How are you, Admiral?”

ADMIRAL
(jovially) “Very well, thank you.” (to Doctor) “Say, Doctor! Are you going for a game of golf? I am with these clubs of mine!”

DOCTOR
“No, Admiral. I’m afraid not.”

ADMIRAL
(saddened) “Ah! What a shame!” (to Nyssa) “What about you, girl? Do you want to play a round?”

NYSSA
“Admiral, please? What happened to you last night?”

ADMIRAL
“Last night?”

NYSSA
“Yes. Last night? Just when we were sorting out the fire?”

ADMIRAL
“Fire?”

NYSSA
“And saving those people?”

ADMIRAL
(to Doctor) “What…what’s all this about, Doctor? What’s Miss Nyssa getting at?”

DOCTOR
“Don’t you remember anything about yesterday, Admiral?”

ADMIRAL
“Yesterday?”

DOCTOR
“Yes!”

NYSSA
“You were found dead in the swimming pool yesterday. Or at least a double of you was found dead yesterday?”

ADMIRAL
“Really? Was I handsome then?”

NYSSA
“You must remember!”

DOCTOR
“You and I were playing cricket with Mr. Rotenhend in one of the simi-suites as well, Admiral!”

ADMIRAL
“Cricket? In one of the simi-suites?”

DOCTOR
“Yes!”

ADMIRAL
“I don’t remember that! Don’t even like cricket!”

DOCTOR
“But you said you liked cricket! I heard you say it!”

ADMIRAL
“No, dear man. Never cared for the game. Tennis is my game. Even though I’m carrying golf clubs.”

NYSSA
“What do you remember about yesterday, Admiral? If you don’t mind us asking?”

ADMIRAL
“Yesterday?” (thinks) “Oh yes, of course! I went to a museum! An old Earth museum in one of the simi-suites at this hotel. [I also met a number of nice ladies at the reception who I thought were so pretty and I wanted to…]”

NYSSA
(to Doctor) “Doctor, how come the Admiral can’t remember…?”

DOCTOR
(interjects, to Admiral) “That’s…very interesting, Admiral. I’m glad to hear you had a good day!”

NYSSA
“But…”

Just then, the turbo-lift doors slide open, as the Weerd Chancellor and the Weerd Elder enter the lobby.

WEERD ELDER
“Please attend for his grace, the Chancellor of the Weerd!”

ADMIRAL
(mutters; wryly) “Oh. Brilliant.”

The Weerd Chancellor and Weerd Elder approach the Doctor; Nyssa and the Admiral in the lobby.

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(besotted) “Hello, my dear!”

NYSSA
(shyly) “Good morning, Chancellor.”

Moment of silence, as the Weerd Chancellor stares at Nyssa, infatuated. Nyssa is uncomfortable whilst the Chancellor stares at her.

NYSSA
“Is there something wrong, Chancellor?”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(gasps) “You’re the one!” (to Elder) “She’s the one!”

WEERD ELDER
“She’s the one.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(giggles; to Nyssa) “You’re the one!”

NYSSA
(puzzled) “I am?”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(giggles) “I’ve got a little surprise for you if you close your eyes!”

NYSSA
“Pardon?”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“Little surprise. Now close your eyes.”

WEERD ELDER
“His grace commands it. Close your eyes.”

DOCTOR
(grudgingly) “Come on, Nyssa. Close your eyes. His grace commands it.”

NYSSA
(reluctant) “Oh. Alright.”

Nyssa closes her eyes, as the Weerd Chancellor slips something on her finger.

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“There. Do you like it?”

Nyssa looks to see a beautiful ring on her finger.

NYSSA
(astonished) “Oh. It’s a ring.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“One of the finest rings ever belonged to my great family on Weer. It’s made from a pure neutron star.”

NYSSA
“Neutron star! That must have taken a huge amount of time for you to collect it after the supernova exploded. Thank you.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“Did you say…thanks?”

NYSSA
“Yes.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“Yippee!” (Pause) “I really like you! Do you want us to go out together?”

NYSSA
(startled; hesitates) “Oh…I…um…well…maybe…”

DOCTOR
(interrupts) “Come on, Nyssa! Let’s go and find someone to ask questions. Let’s try the dining room on level forty-four.”

The Doctor takes Nyssa by the hand, as they head for the turbo-lift. The Doctor presses a button to bring it up.

DOCTOR
(to Admiral) “Goodbye, Admiral!” (to Weerd Chancellor) “Goodbye, your grace!”

NYSSA
(to Weerd Chancellor) “Yes. Thank you for the [ring…”]

DOCTOR
“Come on, Nyssa. Back in the turbo-lift we go.”

The lift doors slide open, as the Doctor and Nyssa re-enter. The lift doors slide close once they’re inside. The Weerd Chancellor stands there watching them go, whilst the Weerd Elder looks to the Admiral.

WEERD ELDER
“You, old man.”

ADMIRAL
“Are you talking to me?”

WEERD ELDER
“Yes. Have we met somewhere before?”

ADMIRAL
“We have. I fought in the Battle of Dosshil N-Dash-Three-Three-Eight-Two-Dash-Three-Four-Five-Seven-Dash-G-H-E-R-Dash-Three-Four-Three-Dash-E-D-D-D-Dash-F-L-D-Dash-F-F-F-F-F-F-N-F where the Weerds and humans fought each other.”

WEERD ELDER
“I see.” (to Chancellor) “Your grace?” (puzzled) “Your grace?”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(awed) “Oh! I fancy her! And she fancies me!” (sighs happily) “I must go after her!”


SCENE #84 – INT – DINING ROOM, LEVEL #44 – 37TH CENTURY – MORNING
Meanwhile, the Doctor and Nyssa enter the dining room on Level #44 where it is completely empty.

DOCTOR
(calls) “Hello?!” (Pause) “Hello, anybody about?”

At that moment, Bruce enters the dining room from the kitchen.

DOCTOR
“Ah, hello. I was wondering.”

BRUCE
(drearily) “Oh. It’s you. The Doctor. And…Miss Nyssa.”

DOCTOR
“That’s right. Hello, Bruce! You remember us!”

BRUCE
(drearily) “Of course I remember you. You’ve been here for the past two days for goodness sake. If you want breakfast, you’re too late. It’s finished. All gone. Breakfast kaput.”

NYSSA
(surprised) “What’s happened to your head, Bruce?”

BRUCE
“Oh my head was chopped off by a scorpion. So I had it put back on by Mr. Rotenhend.”

NYSSA
“Did he fix it?”

BRUCE
“Of course. I have my head back on. Even though I’m walking backwards.”

DOCTOR
“So that’s why your rear part of the body’s facing us instead of your front!”

BRUCE
“Yes. So it still needs fixing.”

Moment of silence.

NYSSA
“Do you remember anything from yesterday, Mr. Bruce?”

DOCTOR
“Nyssa, please. Let me handle this.”

NYSSA
“Sorry, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
“Now, Bruce. Do you remember anything from yesterday?”

BRUCE
“Of course I do. I’ve got big brain. Though nobody notices. Ask me a mathematical question.”

NYSSA
“What do you remember, Bruce?”

DOCTOR
“Nyssa!”

NYSSA
“Sorry.”

DOCTOR
(to Bruce) “What do you remember, Bruce?”

BRUCE
“Sleeping.”

DOCTOR
“Sleeping?”

BRUCE
“Sleeping.”

NYSSA
“Is that all you do?”

DOCTOR
“Is that all you do?”

BRUCE
“No.”

NYSSA
“Good.”

DOCTOR
“Good.”

BRUCE
“I play chess. With myself.”

NYSSA
“Don’t you play with anyone else?”

DOCTOR
“Don’t you play with anyone else?”

NYSSA
“Like Enuji?”

DOCTOR
“Like Enuji?”

BRUCE
“Enuji?! That little thing?! Huh! You must be joking. She’d get my crown jewels mixed up. Now ask me maths?”

NYSSA
“Don’t you remember the Doctor and me asking you questions about the murders? The Admiral was there too.”

BRUCE
“Of course I remember.”

DOCTOR
“You even remember Nyssa asking you questions and I couldn’t get a word in edgeways?”

NYSSA
“Doctor!”

DOCTOR
“Sorry, Nyssa.”

NYSSA
(to Bruce) “You even remember me asking you questions and the Doctor couldn’t get a word in edgeways?”

BRUCE
“Of course I do. Why do you ask me these questions?”

DOCTOR
“If you can remember Bruce, then how come the Admiral can’t?”

BRUCE
“Will you stop asking me these pointless rubbish questions and ask me a question on maths!”

Gordon then enters the dinning room.

GORDON
(raises voice) “Bruce?! What are you doing, you ting tong tock? What are you doing chatting and fraternising with the guests.”

BRUCE
“I wasn’t fraternizing…”

GORDON
(shouts) “Now shut up and get on with your work!”

BRUCE
“But I was…”

GORDON
“Shut up!”

BRUCE
“Mr…”

GORDON
“Shut up!”

DOCTOR
(interjects) “Excuse me, Mr Rotenhend…?”

GORDON
“Shut up!” (realises; corrects himself) “Oh. Oh I’m sorry, Doctor. I didn’t realise it was you.”

DOCTOR
(interjects) “I was wondering Mr. Rotenhend if you happen to know what room Lady Mite is in?”

GORDON
“Her ladyship, Lady Mite?!”

DOCTOR
“Yes.”

GORDON
(gradually) “I’ll check on my pocket computer pad to see what room she’s in, Doctor.”

DOCTOR
“Thank you.”

Gordon takes out his pocket computer pad to check the guest list and which room Lady Mite is in.

GORDON
“Err…are you a friend of Lady Mite’s, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
“Uh…yes, sort of.”

GORDON
“I knew it! I knew it!”

Nyssa takes the Doctor to one side, whilst Gordon checks his pocket computer pad.

NYSSA
“Doctor? If Bruce can remember what happened last night, maybe he can tell us what happened after the fire.”

DOCTOR
“I’m sure he would as with all other hotel guests.”

NYSSA
“Well not everyone seems willing to be telling anything today. I mean the Admiral…”

DOCTOR
(apprehensive) “Yes Nyssa, I appreciate your concern. But at the moment I’m more concerned about this Lady Mite person I’m anxious to see.”

NYSSA
“Lady Mite? Why should you be concerned about her?”

DOCTOR
“Because if she is who I think she is, then I’m afraid it’s big trouble.”

NYSSA
“Why big trouble?”

The Doctor then picks up a newspaper from a table in the dining room. He shows it to Nyssa.

DOCTOR
“See the headline on this newspaper I’ve found from this dining room table?”

Nyssa reads it for herself.

NYSSA
“The supernova.”

DOCTOR
“If my hunch is correct, then her ladyship will be using that supernova to her imperative advantage.”

NYSSA
“Why? Who is she? How do you know so much about her?”

DOCTOR
(hesitates) “Well…”

Before the Doctor can answer Nyssa, Gordon interrupts them.

GORDON
“Excuse me, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
“Yes Mr. Rotenhend, what is it?”

GORDON
“Lady Mite is in flower suite fourteen. That’s where I put her the other day. On level thirteen.”

DOCTOR
“Oh splendid! Thank you so much, Mr. Rotenhend? Come along, Nyssa.”

Just as the Doctor and Nyssa are about to leave, the Weerd Chancellor enters. Nyssa is startled once she sees him again.

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“Ah! There you are, pretty girl! I’ve been looking for you!”

GORDON
(raises voice) “Ah, your Weerd grace! I was wondering…”

WEERD ELDER
(sharply) “Do not speak, Rotenhend! His grace is talking to the lady!”

GORDON
“Sorry.”

The Chancellor’s attempts to woo Nyssa, causing her to be nervous.

NYSSA
“Your grace, I really must be going…”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“I was hoping you would accept my generous invitation to go out together!”

NYSSA
(nervous) “That’s…very kind of you… but I…”

DOCTOR
(interjects) “I’m going to find Lady Mite in her room, Nyssa. I’ll see you later.”

NYSSA
(agitated) “Doctor! Don’t leave me!”

But the Doctor is gone, as he heads for the turbo-lift. The lift doors slide open and close once the Doctor’s inside.

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“So, my dear girl. What do you say? Do you want to go out with me?”

NYSSA
(nervously) “Err…I’m rather busy.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“Oh surely you can’t refuse his grace’s invitation.”

WEERD ELDER
“Surely you can’t refuse his grace’s invitation.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(annoyed) “Elder! Leave this to me!” (to Nyssa) “So do you want to go out with me?”

NYSSA
“No, thank you.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“Oh but I really do fancy you, you know!”

NYSSA
“Please, your grace! Stop it!”

Enuji enters from the kitchen, as she carries a jug of gravy.

GORDON
“Enuji! What are you doing? Take that jug of gravy back to the kitchen!”

ENUJI
“Coo?”

GORDON
“Take it back to the kitchen!” (Pause) “And don’t trip over the mat. There’s a lump on it, so don’t trip over it!”

ENUJI
“Coo?”

GORDON
(shouts) “DON’T TRIP OVER THE MAT!”

But it’s too late, as Enuji trips over the mat and falls over. The jug of gravy flies into the air. The gravy falls out of the jug and spills all over onto Nyssa and the Weerd Chancellor. Nyssa and the Chancellor are shocked once the gravy’s spilled onto them.

NYSSA
(shocked) “Ugh! Gravy all over my clothes. I’m going to have to change this!”

GORDON
(angrily; to Enuji) “What do you think you’re doing, girl? That gravy is all over her little ladyship and his grace!”

A loud clang then occurs.

GORDON
“And now the empty jug has just hit his grace on the head!”

The Chancellor falls to the floor with a stun.

GORDON
“Now he’s lying on the floor! You’ve killed him, Enuji!”

ENUJI
“Coo?”

WEERD ELDER
“My grace! My grace, are you alright?”

The Elder kneels to check the Chancellor. Nyssa meanwhile heads into the turbo-lift, which opens and closes for her once she’s inside.

GORDON
“Is he going to be alright?”

WEERD ELDER
“He’s fine. No thanks to your waitress.”

GORDON
“I’m sorry.” (to Enuji) “Enuji! Enuji, come here! Come here!”

Enuji approaches Gordon. He hits her on the nose and she cries out in pain.

GORDON
“Do you understand?”

ENUJI
(in pain) “Wee.”

The Chancellor then gets up. The Elder tends to him, patting him on the shoulder.

WEERD ELDER
“My grace! My grace, are you alright?”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(annoyed) “Stop patting me, Elder? Where’s the girl?”

WEERD ELDER
“The girl? She’s left!”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“Left? Where’s she gone?”

WEERD ELDER
“In the turbo-lift.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(annoyed) “Puine Patts!” (awed) “Oh but she’s one beautiful lady! She likes me! Oh she likes me!”

Meanwhile with Bruce…

BRUCE
“Mr. Rotenhend?”

GORDON
“What do you want, Bruce?”

BRUCE
“Can you fix my head, please?”

GORDON
“You can fix it yourself? You’ve got a head, haven’t you?”

BRUCE
“Yes. Thank you for noticing. You were the one who tried to fix me, remember?”

GORDON
“Well, I’m not perfect. I learned classic robotics!”

BRUCE
(sighs) “Can someone give me a maths question please?”

GORDON
(wryly) “Yes! I’ll give you a maths question! What’s eleven plus forty-five?”

BRUCE
(gradually) “That’s easy. Fifty-six.”

GORDON
“No. It makes forty-five minutes to twelve! Which means…lunch in fifteen minutes! So get down to the kitchen and sort out lunch for the guests, you stupid bot!”

Bruce groans.

GORDON
“And that includes you, girl!”

ENUJI
“Coo?”

GORDON
“Go on! Buzz off! Leave!”

Enuji and Bruce leave.


SCENE #85 – INT – CORRIDOR, LEVEL #36 – 37TH CENTURY – MORNING
On Level #36, the turbo-lift doors slide open as Nyssa exits from it. She makes her way down the corridor, flustered, before meeting up with Billy who comes out of a hotel room. Billy carries some sheets and a bunch of flowers in his hand, before going to meet up with Nyssa.

BILLY
“Oh! Hello, Nyssa! What are you doing here?”

NYSSA
(sharply) “I’m going back to my room, Billy.”

BILLY
“Well I’m afraid you’ve gone ten floors high up where we’re staying. This is the thirty-sixth floor.”

NYSSA
“Is it?”

BILLY
“Yes. Our room’s on the twenty-sixth.”

NYSSA
(calms down) “I’m sorry, Billy. I didn’t mean to snap at you like that.”

BILLY
“You didn’t snap at me.”

NYSSA
“I’ve just had some gravy spilled all over me and on my clothes.”

BILLY
(jokingly) “Ah. I wondered why you’d gone all brown. Your clothes go nice with your ravishing brunette hair.”

NYSSA
(amused) “Now stop it, Billy.”

BILLY
“Well, I’m glad I got you to smile again.”

Nyssa and Billy giggle with each other. Moment of silence.

NYSSA
(gradually) “So this is the wrong floor.”

BILLY
“Yes. So you’d better go back in the turbo-lift again. Are you going to change your clothes then?”

NYSSA
“Yes. And have a shower. The gravy must have gone through my clothes.”

BILLY
“Oh sorry about that.” (Pause) “Where’s the Doctor then?”

NYSSA
(annoyed) “He left me to find someone called Lady Mite. He left me at the mercy of his grace, the Weerd Chancellor.”

BILLY
(intrigued) “You sound rather annoyed about it.”

NYSSA
“The Doctor left me whilst I had to deal with the Chancellor. He seems to have a crush on me.”

BILLY
“A what?”

NYSSA
“A crush.”

BILLY
“The Doctor?”

NYSSA
“No, the Weerd Chancellor!”

BILLY
(astonished) “What, he fancies you?”

NYSSA
“Yes. Though I don’t see why. He hardly knows me.”

Nyssa shows the ring given to her by the Weerd Chancellor to Billy.

NYSSA
“He gave me this ring. It’s made from a neutron star apparently.”

BILLY
(intrigued) “Well, it looks nice.”

NYSSA
“Yes I thought so.”

BILLY
“Thought so?”

NYSSA
“Well since this was given to me by the Chancellor under current circumstances, I’m not quite sure.”

Moment of silence.

BILLY
“I’ve got something for you.”

Billy then gives the bunch of flowers he’s been carrying to Nyssa.

NYSSA
“Flowers?”

BILLY
“Yes. I found them in the room I’ve just been in to turn down the beds. The people that were in there happened to have left some flowers that seemed brand new. And since there’s no point wasting them or throwing them away, I thought I’d give them to you.”

NYSSA
“That’s very kind of you, Billy. Thank you.”

BILLY
(apprehensive) “Well I don’t know what kind of flowers you like, but…”

NYSSA
“No, they’re lovely. Thank you.”

Nyssa kisses Billy on the cheek. Billy blushes when this happens.

BILLY
“Well I’m glad you like them.” (Pause) “I mean…I’m not a chancellor or some higher class person to give rings away.”

NYSSA
“Oh I prefer you as you are, Billy.”

BILLY
“Really?”

NYSSA
“Yes.”

Moment of tender silence.

NYSSA
“Well…I’d better get going back to my room.”

BILLY
“Hmm. Yeah.”

Moment of silence.

NYSSA
“See you later, Billy.”

BILLY
“Yeah. See you later, Nyssa.”

Nyssa leaves, as she re-enters the turbo-lift. The lift doors slide open and close once Nyssa’s inside. Billy returns to his duties as a waiter, whilst carrying the bundle of sheets in his arms.


SCENE #86 – INT – INDIGO SUITE #4, LEVEL #20 – 37TH CENTURY – MORNING
Meanwhile, the Weerd Elder has been watching Nyssa and Billy together on the monitors in Indigo Suite #4 on Level #20. He re-watches the final moments of Billy and Nyssa’s intimate encounter . This is a reprise of the end of Scene #85.

NYSSA (V’O)
“Well…I’d better get going back to my room.”

BILLY (V’O)
“Hmm. Yeah.”

Moment of silence.

NYSSA (V’O)
“See you later, Billy.”

BILLY (V’O)
“Yeah. See you later, Nyssa.”

The Weerd Elder switches the monitor off once he finishes watching Nyssa and Billy.

WEERD ELDER
“I know I shouldn’t disturb his grace as he’s about to have a bath. But I’d better tell him this right now.”

The Weerd Elder goes off to the bathroom…


SCENE #87 – INT – BATHROOM (INDIGO SUITE #4) – 37TH CENTURY – MORNING
…and tells the Chancellor.

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(angrily) “WHAT?!!!!!!!!!”

WEERD ELDER
“He fancies her.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“What?! I fancy her! What gives him the right to fancy her?”

WEERD ELDER
“Well…he did come with her and this Doctor person at the same time.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(suspicious) “Does this Doctor person fancy her too?”

WEERD ELDER
“Not that I know of, sir.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“Well…I know what this waiter boy’s going to do.”

WEERD ELDER
“What, my grace?”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“He is going to ask her out on a date; get her to watch a Bibops-Zap movie; give her a hot, hot, hot Bloo sunny, sunny, sunny massage; and then have a Huloongian hairdo!”

WEERD ELDER
“I think you’d better have your bath before you panic, sir.” (to Weerds) “Brothers, escort his grace to his bath.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(continues) “Yes. And then he’ll ask her out on another date, and get her to go on a Eproht Towers outing; and both will get sick from eating Mous floss candy; and then…”

The Weerd Chancellor talks away, whilst he’s taken away by the other Weerds to his bath.


SCENE #88 – INT – CORRIDOR, LEVEL #13 – 37TH CENTURY – MORNING
Meanwhile, the Doctor walks to the door of Flower Suite #14 on Level #13. He presses the doorbell, which emits an unusual ringing sound.

DOCTOR
“Fancy her using that for a doorbell?”

The Doctor waits patiently for Lady Mite. But after a while there is no response.

DOCTOR
“Hmm. No response.”

Moment of silence.

DOCTOR
(calls) “Hello? Lady Mite? Are you in there?”

No response.

DOCTOR
“Hmm. She must have gone out.”

The Doctor presses a button to open the door. A negative sound comes from the Doctor’s attempt to open the door.

COMPUTER VOICE
“Access denied.”

DOCTOR
(surprised) “She’s locked the door. Of course she would. She really must have gone out.” (sighs) “I suppose I should come back later” (Pause) “Never mind. I’ll use the sonic screwdriver and let myself in.”

The Doctor takes out his sonic screwdriver and switches it on to unlock the door to Flower Suite #14. There’s a series of buzzing noises from the sonic screwdriver and the door to Flower Suite #14. The lock then clicks and the door slides open. The Doctor puts his sonic screwdriver back in his pocket.

DOCTOR
“Ah! Excellent!” (Pause) “Now. Let’s go inside.”

The Doctor makes his way inside.


SCENE #89 – INT – FLOWER SUITE #14, LEVEL #13 – 37TH CENTURY – MORNING
Inside, the Doctor looks around and takes in his surroundings of Flower Suite #14.

DOCTOR
(wryly; chuckles) “I never thought you would be one for classy suites.” (Pause) “But then I didn’t know you very well, did I?!”

The Doctor paces about the room, as he looks around to try and find Lady Mite.

DOCTOR
“Hello? Are you in here?”

No response. Moment of silence.

DOCTOR
“Hmm. Not here.” (Pause; happily) “Ah well. Since I’m here, I might as well look around and see if I can find anything interesting. This bedside table perhaps. Let’s see what’s inside these drawers.”

The Doctor goes to the bedside table and pulls out the drawers.

DOCTOR
(gradually) “Ah! Books! Let’s have a look through them, shall we? Make myself comfortable on the bed first.”

The Doctor sits on the bed, as he takes out the books from one drawer of the bedside table. Placing the books on the bed, be begins to look through them. He checks the books each in turn to see what they’re about. Moment of silence.

DOCTOR
(gradually; laughs) “Still fond of Earth literature. Good taste in authors, haven’t you? Charles Dickens! Jane Austen! H.G. Wells, of course. Not sure about why you like Leslie Charteris. And…Enid Blyton?”

The Doctor puts the books he’s found to one side, before coming to one book that fascinates him.

DOCTOR
“Ah! Now this book. This could be the book where you keep all your stolen secrets!”

The Doctor opens the book and has a read through it.

DOCTOR
(impressed) “Even better! A diary!” (Pause) “Now let’s see. These pages were two months ago!”

The Doctor turns over to the next page.

DOCTOR
(gradually) “This next page is on this month and was on last week.”

The Doctor turns over to the next page again.

DOCTOR
(gradually) “Ah! And now we’re on the page for this week. What was on for today…”

The Doctor has a closer read on the page to check.

DOCTOR
(gradually; reads) “Hmm. ‘Sort out Rotenhend; make contact with Mr. Cooper and Mr. Hill…’(realises; reads) “Oh! ‘To have dinner this evening in the dining room!’” (cheerfully) “Excellent! I wouldn’t mind having a bit of dinner myself!”

LADY MITE
“I’m glad to see you’ve made yourself comfortable.”

The Doctor turns to see Lady Mite standing there before him in the suite.

DOCTOR
“Ah. Lady Mite.”

LADY MITE
“Hello, Doctor. Again. Glad to find you’re so interested in my reading time. Though it’s very ungentlemanly to rummage through a lady’s personal diary like you’re doing.”

DOCTOR
(gradually) “Been keeping busy lately, hey?”


SCENE #90 – INT – CORRIDOR, LEVEL #26 – 37TH CENTURY – EVENING
That evening, after having her shower, Nyssa comes out of Room #126 on Level #26. The doors close shut behind her. She’s startled when she sees Bruce before her.

NYSSA
(gasps) “Why?! It’s you, Bruce!”

BRUCE
(drearily) “Did I scare you? It’s perfectly natural anyway. Even if my head’s back to normal I can still scare people.”

NYSSA
“You didn’t scare me. You just startled me. What happened to your optical sensors?”

BRUCE
“They’ve gone offline. When my head was being fixed, they forgot about switching the eyes back on. Typical employers. No sense of consideration to put things back where they belong.”

NYSSA
“Would you like me to fix them for you? I understand cybernetics…”

BRUCE
(interjects) “No, no. I’ll keep it this way. It’ll make me feel I’m noticed rather than ignored.” (Pause) “Anyway. There’s a message from your friend, the Doctor.”

NYSSA
“The Doctor! What does he say?”

BRUCE
“He says ‘Join me in the dining room. Explain everything. So long. Love the Doctor.’.”

NYSSA
“That’s all?”

BRUCE
“He said he was in a dash to state everything. But that is all, yes.”

NYSSA
“Thank you, Bruce. You may go now.”

BRUCE
“Go? Yes, go. I’ll go. I’ll go and find some guests to scare.”

Nyssa watches, as Bruce drearily walks away down the corridor.

NYSSA
“Paranoid machine.”

She then turns to make for the turbo-lift. She then stops in her tracks.

NYSSA
(annoyed) “Your grace? Stop peeking around the back!”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“But I fancy you!”

The Chancellor steps out and shows himself to Nyssa.

NYSSA
“Please leave me alone!”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“Oh come on! Surely you can’t refuse me, Chancellor of the Weerd, a teeny weenie kiss?”

NYSSA
“I’ve got to meet someone.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(pleads) “Oh come on! Just a little kiss?”

NYSSA
“No.”

Moment of silence.

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“Just one.”

NYSSA
“No.” (Pause) “You’re making a fool of yourself, your grace?”

Moment of silence.

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“Now listen, pretty lady. I am the highest authority in this sector of the galaxy. I give you a ring. I give you nice complements and flattering remarks. What more must I do to please you?”

NYSSA
“I would be pleased if you would go away and leave me alone, Chancellor!”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“But what about dinner? Do you fancy having dinner with the Chancellor of the Weerd?”

NYSSA
“No. Thank you.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(pleadingly) “Ah please…pretty lady. What’s your name?”

NYSSA
(agitated) “Nyssa.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“Nyssa?”

NYSSA
“Nyssa.”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(gradually; slightly disappointed) “Oh. Nyssa.” (Pause) “Come on. Let’s have a kiss.”

The Chancellor approaches Nyssa, as he makes to kiss her. Nyssa backs away.

NYSSA
(cries) “Get off! Don’t touch me!”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(pleads) “Don’t run away! If you run away, I’ll have to catch you!”

Nyssa runs off and the Chancellor chases after her.

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(laughs) “I’m coming to get you!”

The chase is on, as they run down the corridor. Nyssa then comes to a turbo-lift.

WEERD CHANCELLOR
“No! Don’t press the turbo-lift switch.”

Nyssa presses a switch to bring the lift up, just as the Weerd Chancellor tries to catch up with her. The turbo-lift doors slide open.

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(cries) “No! Don’t go inside!”

Nyssa goes inside the lift.

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(cries) “Don’t shut the doors on me! Don’t…!”

But the lift doors slide shut, before the Chancellor can enter in and join Nyssa. The Chancellor crashes into the face of the lift doors and falls back onto the floor. He gradually gets up from the floor, recovering from the impact of crashing into the lift doors.

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(in pain) “Oww! My face! I must speak to the manager about this.”

Just then, the Weerd Elder contacts the Chancellor via a pocket communicator. The Chancellor takes out his pocket communicator to answer the Elder.

WEERD ELDER (V’O)
“Your grace? Your grace, can you hear me?”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(through communicator) “Go away, Elder! I’m busy!”

WEERD ELDER(V’O)
“But, your grace! Don’t you know?! The supernova’s coming!”

WEERD CHANCELLOR
(through communicator) “The supernova’s coming?!”


TO BE CONTINUED…


© Tim Bradley, 2016

This entry was posted in Comedy, Doctor Who, Fan Fiction, Nyssa, The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

