‘The Space Hotel’ – Part Four, Chapter 16

Hello everyone! 🙂

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog and I’m Tim Bradley!

We’ve come to the end of this repeat of ‘The Space Hotel’ on ‘Bradley’s Basement’. I hope you’ve enjoyed it. Check out my other stories in ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ series. Meanwhile, let’s find out how the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa and Billy save the day in Chapter 16 of this gripping adventure!!

Here is a brief summary of what ‘The Space Hotel’ is all about.

The TARDIS takes the Doctor, Nyssa and Billy to Rotenhend Hotel 360 in the 37th century. They meet a rude hotel manager and murders take place.

Enjoy!

Tim. 🙂


sexy-nyssa2

16. TARDIS Defence

SCENE #144 – INT – DINING ROOM, LEVEL #44 – 37TH CENTURY – AFTERNOON
In the dining room on Level #44, Gordon pours oil all over his head that soon goes all over his body. He drops the jug containing the oil to the floor, coughing profusely as he stands over Joel’s unconscious body on a rack on a dining table. Staff members and hotel guests surround Gordon standing over Joel on the dining table, carrying torches of fire.

GORDON
“Mr. Bruce? Are the designated staff and hotel guests ready to commence the burning?”

BRUCE
(drearily) “Yes, sir. They’re all carrying torches as you can see.”

GORDON
“Good.” (shouts) “Everyone! I want you all to put fire on our bodies! And let us BURN!!!” (whispers) “Slowly!”

The staff members and hotel guests advance slowly forward, as they lower their torches to strike at the oily-drenched Gordon and Joel.

BRUCE
“Slowly, Mr. Rotenhend says. Slowly now.”

As the staff members and hotel guests make their approach, Joel slowly stirs from his sleep.

JOEL
(murmurs) “Dad? Mum?”

But Gordon doesn’t hear him whilst standing above him.

GORDON
(quietly) “Father and Son. Burning together. Goodnight, sweet prince.”

Just then, the Doctor, Nyssa and Billy burst in through the dining room door.

DOCTOR
(cries) “Stop!”

GORDON
(annoyed) “What do you want?”

NYSSA
“Your son isn’t dead, Mr. Rotenhend! Spare this madness!”

BILLY
“Yeah! Spare this…this…thing!”

GORDON
“Why should I? You can’t change my mind!”

DOCTOR
“It’s over, Mr. Rotenhend. Your wife has been caught.”

GORDON
(despairingly) “Yes. My wife. She happens to be the murderer. And she and I were working to get this hotel up and running and making sure everything’s in tip top condition. Now she’s a murderer and my son’s dead…oh woe is me!”

NYSSA
“Never mind your woe, Mr. Rotenhend. Your son’s in great peril if your staff members and these hotel guests carry their torches, ready to burn him and you to death!”

GORDON
(shouts angrily) “You three brought this outrage!” (despairingly) “My dreams of status!”

Gordon then sobs and grovels away whilst standing above Joel on the rack on the dining table.

DOCTOR
“Gordon, tell your staff to drop the torches!”

BILLY
“Doctor, they’ll burn the place down if they drop their…”

DOCTOR
(snaps) “Don’t interrupt me, Billy.” (to Gordon) “Gordon, stop this!”

Gordon then grabs a torch off from one of the hotel staff.

GORDON
(taunts) “Oh yeah? What are you going to do about it, Doctor? I’ll drop it! I really will drop it!”

DOCTOR
(panics) “No, no! You won’t drop it!”

GORDON
(determined) “Yeah, yeah I will drop it!”

DOCTOR
“You won’t!”

GORDON
“I will!”

DOCTOR
“You won’t drop it! Don’t drop it!”

GORDON
(laughs) “I will drop it! I’m dropping it! I’m dropping it!”

NYSSA
(raises voice; interrupts) “Will you two please be quiet?!”

BILLY
(interjects) “Mr. Rotenhend?!”

GORDON
(annoyed) “What do you want, boy?”

BILLY
“How much do you want me to pay you not to drop that torch?”

GORDON
“Ten credits!”

BILLY
“Right, then.”

Billy begins to search his pockets.

NYSSA
“Billy, you don’t carry any credits!”

BILLY
(realises) “Oh. No, I don’t.” (to Gordon) “Mr. Rotenhend? Do you have any spare change?”

GORDON
(fumes) “I HATE CHANGE!”

Gordon drops the torch and a fire starts surrounding him and the unconscious Joel on the rack on the dining table. The fire burns higher and stronger.

BILLY
“Oh great.”

DOCTOR
(anxiously) “Nyssa, pass me a chair!”

Nyssa passes a chair to the Doctor.

DOCTOR
(to Gordon) “Right! Mr. Rotenhend, you get off for starters!”

The Doctor strikes Gordon with the chair, which sends him flying off the dining table and onto the floor.

DOCTOR
(cries) “Nyssa; Billy! Push Joel off!”

Nyssa and Billy run over to Joel and push him off the dining table. Staff members and hotel guests stand back, as Joel falls to the floor.

NYSSA
“He’s off!”

Nyssa and Billy run to the other side of the table and kneel down to help Joel.

NYSSA
“Joel, wake up!”

Joel murmurs in his sleep, as his clothes catch fire.

BILLY
“Joel, are you alright?”

NYSSA
“He’s on fire!”

BILLY
“Oh yikes! He is on fire!”

NYSSA
“Get a fire extinguisher, Billy!”

BILLY
“Right ho, Nyssa!”

The Doctor then comes by with a fire extinguisher.

DOCTOR
“It’s alright, Billy! I’ve got the fire extinguisher!”

The Doctor turns the fire extinguisher on, unleashing foam onto Joel’s clothes. Joel splutters as the foam hits him and the fire goes out. Meanwhile, Gordon rises to his feet and goes for Nyssa, picking her off from the floor.

GORDON
(roars) “No! You will not take my son from me! I’ll rip this hair off yours!”

Nyssa cries out in pain, as she’s picked up by Gordon and gets her hair tugged on by him aggressively.

NYSSA
(cries) “Put me down! Let go of my hair!”

Gordon laughs out loud manically as he holds Nyssa, about to pull out her hair. Billy sees this and immediately runs forward to rescue Nyssa and free her from Gordon. A struggle ensues, as Billy tries to get Gordon to let go of Nyssa.

BILLY
(cries) “Oi! Let go off Nyssa, you big bully! Let her go!”

NYSSA
(cries) “Billy, please do something!”

BILLY
“I am trying, Nyssa! I’m trying!”

As Billy tries to help free Nyssa, the Doctor comes round and approaches Gordon.

DOCTOR
“Mr. Rotenhend!”

GORDON
“Yes?”

DOCTOR
“You asked for this, you know.”

The Doctor punches a fierce blow into Gordon’s face. Gordon releases Nyssa once he’s been hit and falls back onto the burning dining table.

GORDON
(staggered) “Oh my!”

Nyssa falls and lands on top of Billy onto the floor. Both Nyssa and Billy groan as they fall on top of each other. Meanwhile, the Doctor gasps in pain after punching Gordon with his fist. He tends to his hand soothingly.

DOCTOR
(in pain) “Ooh! My fist!”

Nyssa recovers, as she wakes up off Billy.

NYSSA
“I can’t believe you just punched someone, Doctor.”

DOCTOR
(in pain) “Well, I’ve had my moments. I’m glad you had a soft landing when you did, Nyssa.”

NYSSA
“Soft landing?”

Billy groans, as Nyssa’s still on him. She immediately gets off him.

NYSSA
(concerned) “Oh, Billy! I’m so sorry! Are you alright? Did I hurt you?”

BILLY
(dizzily) “No I’m fine, Nyssa. I’m just a bit… light-headed!”

NYSSA
“I’m glad I landed on you.”

BILLY
(chuckles; jokingly) “You’re free to land on me anytime you like. Though in the essential sense of course.”

NYSSA
“Of course.”

Just then, Joel wakes up, yawning from his sleep. He looks to see his father on the burning table.

JOEL
“Hey Dad!”

Gordon wakes up to see his son still alive.

GORDON
“Oh, Joel! You’re alive!” (Pause) “I knew that.”

JOEL
(puzzled) “Dad, you’re on fire.”

GORDON
“Am I?”

Gordon screams in pain, as he’s on fire. He shakes about on the dining room table with fire all over him, screaming his head off.

BILLY
“He’s on fire, Doctor! Mr. Rotenhend’s on fire!”

DOCTOR
“I’m perfectly aware that Mr. Rotenhend’s on fire, Billy!”

NYSSA
(apprehensive) “We must help him! Billy, help me get him out of that fire!”

BILLY
“Right, Nyssa.”

Before Nyssa and Billy do this, Gordon laughs wildly and cackles with delight.

GORDON
(shouts; laughs) “You are all idiots! Numskulls! Nitwits! All of you!” (Pause) “You are all doomed! Doomed! DOOMED!”

Gordon laughs crazily, before his body slumps on the dining table in a death-like manner. Moment of silence ensues.

BRUCE
(un-bothered) “Farewell…whoever you were.”

As Gordon burns, metal cracks and breaks as bits of mechanics fall out of his body.

BILLY
(astonished) “He’s an android! Just like Truk, Admiral Brown and all the others! As well as the android versions of us three and of Larry and Bob!”

NYSSA
“Of course! Mrs. Rotenhend was using him to carry out her evil tasks! She needed to have somebody to cover up for her exploits!”

BILLY
“So all that shouting and bad temper from him was a show!”

NYSSA
“Yes. Not to say that I cared for him much, but it is sad.”

DOCTOR
(anxious) “Never mind that. We must go back to the space station to sort out Mrs. Rotenhend. And I have something to return to Lady Mite. Come on!”

Nyssa and Billy follow the Doctor, as they leave the dining room. The staff members and hotel guests remain behind, baffled and puzzled. Joel also sits up from the floor.

JOEL
(puzzled) “Did I miss something, guys? What’s going on?”


SCENE #145 – INT – TOP LEVEL (STATION) – 37TH CENTURY – AFTERNOON
Back at the small space station on the top level, Lady Mite’s TARDIS arrives, whooshing and grinding loudly as it materialises. It lands close to the simi-suite entrance. The red phone box doors open, as the Doctor steps out with Nyssa and Billy.

DOCTOR
“Come on, you two! We must get [to…”]

LADY MITE
“So…Doctor!”

DOCTOR
“Ah, Lady Mite. Did you miss me?”

LADY MITE
“Not as much as I’ve missed my TARDIS which you stole…”

DOCTOR
(apprehensive) “Yes, we’ll talk about that later! Now where’s Mrs. Rotenhend?”

LADY MITE
“Oh no, you don’t! You’re not getting away so easily…”

DOCTOR
(interjects) “By the way! Would you mind getting those hotel guests from the store room of this space station into your TARDIS? If we leave as soon as possible, we don’t want to leave them behind.” (casually) “Excuse me.”

The Doctor heads off into the simi-suite with Nyssa and Billy behind him. Bewildered and irritated, Lady Mite goes off to sort out the hotel guest in the space station’s store room.


SCENE #146 – INT – SIMI-SUITE (STATION) – 37TH CENTURY – AFTERNOON
Inside the simi-suite, Larry and Bob watch Elizabeth on guard with Enuji beside them. The Doctor, Nyssa and Billy enter.

DOCTOR
“Ah! Mr. Cooper and Mr. Hill. Or Larry and Bob! Keeping well, I presume?”

LARRY
(bewildered) “Uh…yes…we are.”

DOCTOR
“Good, good. Both fit enough, are you?”

BOB
(baffled) “Yeah, we’re fit enough.”

DOCTOR
(ecstatic) “There you are, Mrs. Rotenhend! Glad to see you’re in safe hands. Though in Mr. Cooper and Mr. Hill’s case that’s an entirely different perspective.”

LARRY
“Excuse me!”

ENUJI
(interjects) “If you don’t mind please, Doctor. I’m trying to…”

DOCTOR
“Ah, Enuji! The alien waitress who turned cop! Decided to turn on your universal translator, did you?”

ENUJI
“It hasn’t been easy, Doctor. You and everyone at that hotel speak the most peculiar language that I couldn’t understand a word you were saying.”

NYSSA
“You’re a secret agent, aren’t you?!”

BILLY
“Like one of those women in James Bond who’s always got a mystery.”

ENUJI
“I am…number one of the CFIBAI (Civil Federal Integral Borstal Agency International) on Shera Coln. I was assigned under cover to this hotel to discover the real threat that was occurring in this sector of Zondor space. Reported disappearances got the CFIBAI suspicious. So central control agreed to investigate.”

LARRY
“You certainly have picked up on your language problems, girl.”

ENUJI
“I had to disguise myself as a waitress in order to give the benefit of the doubt to those who might easily discover my true identity. As the murders occurred at the hotel, I had the suspicion to report to my superiors that you Doctor were the cause of it all.”

DOCTOR
“How kind.”

ENUJI
“But then, with your help and your ingenious distraction, I didn’t think that these homicide investigations would lead all the way to Elizabeth May Rotenhend, who turned out to be unreal.”

ELIZABETH
“I’m flattered.”

BILLY
“And you had to see to it that you were less fluent in English so that everyone could make out you were dumb and witless.” (apologetic) “Um, no disrespect.”

DOCTOR
“Yes thank you, Billy. We all knew that.”

NYSSA
“Then why didn’t you mention it at the time, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
(hesitates) “I was…occupied on other things. I couldn’t have been aware!”

NYSSA
“Then you couldn’t have known about Enuji’s reason for speaking less than she already knew.” (to Billy) “I congratulate you Billy on bringing up that point. Well done! You hit it right on the head!”

BILLY
“Thank you, Nyssa.”

LARRY
“Never about congratulations. All of this has been too much for me.”

BOB
“Yeah. Larry and I are out of a job. And we’re never going to get any more decent work after what’s happened today!”

DOCTOR
(interjects) “Anyway, moving back to the point. There’s still one question left hanging in the air that needs answering.”

NYSSA
“Just one?”

DOCTOR
(to Elizabeth) “Mrs. Rotenhend? Why?”

ELIZABETH
“Why what, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
“Why did you do it? Commit all those murders. A holographic woman carrying out murders against innocent people by transferring them from the simi-suites of the hotel to this space station. And making android copies before killing them. It’s taken a lot of trouble to do, hasn’t it?” (Pause) “Is it holographic prejudice against all forms of life? Although how can that work since you have a brain stuck inside a compartment behind a portrait of yourself? The brain which is yours.”

NYSSA
“Did you have an unhappy life as a real person, Mrs. Rotenhend?”

DOCTOR
“Nyssa, please be quiet. I’m asking Mrs. Rotenhend a question.”

ELIZABETH
“You’re right, Miss Nyssa.”

DOCTOR
(startled) “What?”

NYSSA
“I am?”

ELIZABETH
(cruelly; to Doctor) “Not that I expect a man to understand.” (to Nyssa) “I was an ordinary barmaid long ago on a space freighter, when a young handsome man came to visit after dealing some wine trading negotiations.”

BILLY
“Mr. Rotenhend?”

ELIZABETH
“Yes! Mr. Rotenhend!” (Pause) “We fell in love, got married, and we decided to run a hotel.”

BILLY
“And then it started to go wrong. Mr. Rotenhend found his marriage to you unhappy.”

NYSSA
“How do you know this, Billy?”

BILLY
“Because he said so.”

DOCTOR
“When?”

BILLY
“When he made an announcement days ago. Don’t you remember?”

DOCTOR
(thinks) “Oh yes, I do remember. When he was announcing the fact that two men crashed into the space hotel.”

LARRY
“That was Bob’s fault!”

BOB
“Me?”

ELIZABETH
“That is correct. My life was unhappy when I was married to Gordon. So, I decided to live a life of emptiness by cutting up my body and allowing my brain to be connected to a simi-suite CPU.”

NYSSA
“That’s ghastly! Horrible!”

ELIZABETH
“Oh no, young girl. It’s easily done. All you need is two knives.”

Nyssa shudders, horrified and appalled.

ELIZABETH
“Anyway, when my brain was connected to the simi-suite, it meant I could simulate any scenario setting I wanted and create any characters I wished. It all seemed clear to me that I didn’t want anyone living to live any more. So I decided to have a world to myself in one simi-suite, this one on the space station, and have android copies of everyone that came to the space hotel. It took years of hard work, persuasion and technological innovation to get it all set up. But it was worth it.”

DOCTOR
“No it wasn’t, Mrs. Rotenhend. Because you’re now caught and you’re not going to hurt or kill people anymore.”

NYSSA
(appalled) “You committed murder because you hated everyone who lived. You’re an evil woman, Mrs. Rotenhend!”

ELIZABETH
“It’s an evil universe, Miss Nyssa. Get used to it!”

Moment of silence.

ENUJI
“Anyway. My mission is complete. So it’s time to shut you down altogether, Mrs. Rotenhend.”

ELIZABETH
(laughs) “That won’t be necessary.”

DOCTOR
“What do you mean?”

ELIZABETH
“You see, Doctor. I’ve been anticipating my failure for quite some time. And if I can’t have a world all to myself, then no-one will!”

Elizabeth breathes in, before something loud is shot from the space station into outer space.

BILLY
“What’s that?”

Just then, Lady Mite runs into the simi-suite.

LADY MITE
(exhausted) “Doctor! A missile has been fired into space! It was fired from this space station!”

DOCTOR
“What?!” (to Elizabeth) “Mrs. Rotenhend…?”

ELIZABETH
“Yes, Doctor. Whilst all of you have been chatting away, I still have some residual power left to access operational controls on this space station.”

BILLY
“How could she have done that? Mr. Cooper and Mr. Hill were keeping watch on her.”

Elizabeth laughs.

NYSSA
(realises) “She was connected to the simi-suite’s CPU by the brain of hers. And the simi-suite’s CPU connects directly to the operations room.”

DOCTOR
“What have you done, Mrs. Rotenhend?”

ELIZABETH
“Oh it’s very simple. I sent a missile to fire on the space hotel!”

NYSSA
“You’re going to kill everyone on that space hotel?!”

BILLY
“Even after everything you’ve done, you’re still going to kill?!”

ELIZABETH
(proudly) “It’s part of my programming now!”

DOCTOR
“That’s what Mr. Rotenhend said. We’re doomed, doomed!”

ELIZABETH
“And by the way…if you intend to stay, I should inform you. This space station will self-destruct in five minutes. Goodbye, Doctor! Goodbye…forever!”

Elizabeth then vanishes, which shuts the simi-suite down.

LARRY
(shocked) “Mrs. Rotenhend? Where’s she gone?”

BOB
“The whole place has gone dark!”

An alarm then goes off.

LARRY
“What’s that noise?”

BILLY
(worried) “She said self-destruct!”

NYSSA
“She’s going to blow up this space station into outer space!”

DOCTOR
“And we’re going to get away from here!” (to Lady Mite) “Lady Mite, may we use your valuable services in boarding your TARDIS again?”

LADY MITE
“Of course! But I’m driving!”

DOCTOR
“Did you get those people into your TARDIS?”

LADY MITE
“Of course I did.”

DOCTOR
“Good.” (to everyone else) “Come on, everyone! This space station’s going to explode! Tempting as it is to be in the actual explosion, that wouldn’t be preferable!”

The Doctor, Nyssa and Billy usher Bob, Larry and Enuji out of the simi-suite as they follow Lady Mite back to her TARDIS. The alarm blares off loudly. Pretty soon, there’s a whooshing, grinding sound as Lady Mite dematerialises, leaving the space station.


SCENE #147 – EXT – ZONDOR SPACE STATION – 37TH CENTURY – N/A
A while later, the space station is adrift in space. Suddenly, it explodes into a million pieces as the self-destruct take places. A shockwave scatters across the western sector of Zondor space.


SCENE #148 – INT – LADY MITE’S TARDIS CONSOLE ROOM – N/A
Meanwhile, the Doctor, Nyssa, Billy, Lady Mite, Larry, Bob and Enuji manage to survive. They stand in the console room of Lady Mite’s TARDIS. The time rotors rises up and down, as Lady Mite’s TARDIS is in flight.

DOCTOR
“Well. Thank goodness we got in here in a jiffy!”

BOB
“This room, Larry. It’s…”

LARRY
“Yeah, Bob. It’s bigger on the inside.”

DOCTOR
(irritated) “Oh, gentlemen! Next time I’ll arrange a quiz with questions and answers stating the obvious!”

BILLY
“Mrs. Rotenhend just killed herself. Her brain was still on that space station when it exploded!”

DOCTOR
“Just as she said, Billy. If she can’t have the world she wanted, then no one can. She was willing to sacrifice her own small life in that simi-suite to avoid interrogation and imprisonment.”

NYSSA
“Billy, come with me! We’ll go and see how the other hotel guests are in Lady Mite’s TARDIS.”

BILLY
“Right, Nyssa.”

ENUJI
“I’ll come with you.”

Nyssa and Billy, joined by Enuji, go off deeper into Lady Mite’s TARDIS to find the other hotel guests.

LADY MITE
“Well, Doctor? What are we going to do about this missile?”

BOB
“For all we know that missile could have hit the hotel by now and blown everyone up!”

LARRY
“Stop being a pessimist, Bob.”

LADY MITE
“What are we going to do, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
“Could your TARDIS generate a force-field using the deflector shield around the architectural structure of the hotel?”

LADY MITE
“What, a hotel that size? And with a type seventy like this? This baby can do anything, Doctor!”

DOCTOR
“But how much power do you need?”

LADY MITE
“How much power?”

DOCTOR
“Yes?”

LADY MITE
(thinks) “Well, a quadrant angle of seven point eight nine two three eight one zero nine billion parsecs of time vortex energy manipulated in my TARDIS’ defence grid would be required.”

DOCTOR
“Is that enough for a type eighty?”

LADY MITE
“Well…no. But it’s not enough for a type forty.”

DOCTOR
“No. But a backup still is required to prevent any shortcomings!”

LADY MITE
“What are you getting at, Doctor?”


SCENE #149 – EXT – ROTENHEND HOTEL 360 – 37TH CENTURY – N/A
In outer space, Rotenhend Hotel 360 spins on its axis. No activity occurs as there aren’t any spaceships docking or departing from the hotel. Just then, Lady Mite’s TARDIS in the form of a red phone box materialises in mid-flight beside the hotel. The Doctor’s TARDIS in the form of a blue police box also materialises in mid-flight beside Lady Mite’s TARDIS.


SCENE #150 – INT – TARDIS CONSOLE ROOM – N/A
Inside the Doctor’s TARDIS, the Doctor works at the console controls, pressing switches and buttons. Nyssa and Billy stand beside him, as the Doctor speaks on the intercom to communicate with Lady Mite in her TARDIS.

DOCTOR
(through intercom) “Are you ready, Mite?”

LADY MITE (V’O)
“Ready when you are, Doctor.”

DOCTOR
(through intercom) “Are Mr. Hill; Mr. Cooper and Miss Enuji ready to help you?”

LADY MITE (V’O)
“They are.”

ENUJI (V’O)
“Wee.”

LARRY (V’O)
“Yes.”

BOB (V’O)
“Ready and waiting!”

The Doctor presses a few more buttons at his TARDIS console.

NYSSA
“This is madness, Doctor. Not to mention it’s scientifically impossible.”

DOCTOR
“Trust me, Nyssa.”

BILLY
“I have to say Doctor, I agree with Nyssa. I’m sceptical as to how you can carry this…fantastic plan of yours out!”

DOCTOR
“With two TARDISes in place of the hotel protecting it from the missile, how can this all go wrong?”

NYSSA
“A lot if the dimensional structural integrity collapses, Doctor. We’ll be crushed to a singularity if we can’t support Lady Mite’s TARDIS.”

DOCTOR
(apprehensive) “Well if we run out of power, we might as well jettison some of the TARDIS quarters.”

NYSSA
“Oh no, Doctor. Not…”

Lady Mite then cuts in on the intercom.

LADY MITE (V’O)
“Doctor? Collision with missile in fifty seconds.”

DOCTOR
(through intercom) “Thank you, Mite. Have you got your shield around the hotel yet?”

LADY MITE (V’O)
“Setting up shield parameters around the hotel…now!”

The Doctor presses a button to activate the TARDIS scanner screen. The Doctor, Nyssa and Billy look and see Lady Mite’s TARDIS’ deflector shield surrounding the space hotel.

DOCTOR
(through intercom) “Excellent! Well done, Mite. Now if I just add the extra shielding.”

NYSSA
“Doctor! You’re not serious…”

DOCTOR
(through intercom) “Setting up shield now!”

The Doctor flicks a switch. There is then is a sudden shudder, which sends the trio falling onto the floor. They soon gets themselves back onto their feet and see the Doctor’s TARDIS has set a shield around the space hotel too.

DOCTOR
(pleased) “There we are! All set in motion!”

BILLY
“Well, you could have given us a warning before that happened!”

Lady Mite cuts in on the intercom again.

LADY MITE (V’O)
“Doctor. Missile impact in thirty seconds.”

DOCTOR
(through intercom) “Good. Standing by.” (Pause; gradually; to Nyssa) “Nyssa? I’m not saying it would happen…if anything were to go wrong!”

NYSSA
“Wrong?”

DOCTOR
“But…just in case we all die in this…thanks for everything!” (Pause) “You too, Billy!”

BILLY
“I wouldn’t have missed this for the world, Doctor. Or the universe.”

NYSSA
“Same here. Thank you, Doctor.”

DOCTOR
(modestly) “Well…”

NYSSA
“Thank you for the dates, Billy.”

BILLY
“Oh my pleasure, Nyssa.”

Lady Mite cuts in on the intercom again.

LADY MITE (V’O)
“Missile impact in fifteen seconds.”

DOCTOR
(to Nyssa; Billy) “Hold on tight, you two!”

The three of them hold onto the TARDIS console, waiting for the impact of the missile to hit the space hotel.

LADY MITE (V’O)
“Missile impact in ten…nine…eight…seven…six…five…four…”


SCENE #151 – EXT – ROTENHEND HOTEL 360 – 37TH CENTURY – N/A
In outer space, the missile sent from the space station shoot across the stars and is about to hit the space hotel. The missile then bumps into the force-field barriers of the deflector shields set up by the two TARDISes. The missile shudders, unable to break through the force-field barriers. It slowly begins to degenerate, as power is drained from the sheer pressure.


SCENE #152 – INT – TARDIS CONSOLE ROOM – N/A
Inside the Doctor’s TARDIS, the trio hold on for dear life, as mini explosions occur from various parts of the console. The pressure of the missile hitting the force-field barriers of the two TARDISes affects them too.

BILLY
“Doctor? How much longer is this going to take?”

DOCTOR
(sharply) “Until the missile explodes! I don’t know!”

NYSSA
“Doctor, we can’t keep this up! The integrity of the stabiliser field of the TARDIS can’t adapt to this much pressure!”

DOCTOR
“Just a few minutes more.”

BILLY
“And then?”

DOCTOR
“Then we will have to jettison some rooms.”

The Doctor flicks a switch to activate the intercom on.

DOCTOR
(through intercom) “Lady Mite? How are you doing?”

LADY MITE (V’O)
“Badly, Doctor! This TARDIS of mine doesn’t seem to be able to withstand the pressure of the missile. That’s Time Lord advertising for you!”

NYSSA
(through intercom; to Lady Mite) “How about the others? Enuji; Mr. Cooper and Mr. Hill?”

LADY MITE (V’O)
“Oh Enuji’s bearing it! Amazing for a girl who couldn’t speak English!”

BILLY
(through intercom; to Lady Mite) “And Mr. Cooper and Mr. Hill?”

LADY MITE (V’O)
“Oh they’re knocked out!” (to Doctor) “Doctor, I can’t keep this up for long!”

The Doctor thinks for a moment, as his TARDIS console room shudders.

DOCTOR
(through intercom) “Then we might have to give you some extra power. Unfortunately!”

NYSSA
(troubled) “By jettisoning the rooms?”

DOCTOR
“It’s the only way, Nyssa.”

BILLY
(amazed) “No, no, wait! Doctor; Nyssa, look!”

They look at the TARDIS scanner screen to see the missile exploding in space before hitting the space hotel. Moment of silence, as they look on amazed by what’s happened.

DOCTOR
“We did it! Nyssa; Billy! We did it!”

NYSSA
“We certainly did! Well done, Doctor!”

BILLY
(ecstatic) “Yes well done, Doctor!”

DOCTOR
“Thank you.” (through intercom) “Lady Mite, are you alright?”

LADY MITE (V’O)
“I’m fine on this end, Doctor. So is Enuji, and so are Mr Cooper and Mr. Hill. They’ve recovered so dramatically!”

There is faint arguing on the intercom from Bob and Larry aboard Lady Mite’s TARDIS.

DOCTOR
(relieved; through intercom) “Good thing I didn’t have to jettison those rooms then!”

LADY MITE (V’O)
“I take it we can switch off the shields!”

DOCTOR
(through intercom) “Yes. And then return to the hotel! I gather some guests would appreciate some proper rest now!”

LADY MITE (V’O)
(cheerfully) “See you soon, Doctor!”

DOCTOR
(through intercom) “You too, Mite. You too.”

The Doctor switches off the intercom and presses a few buttons to take the TARDIS back to the space hotel. He hums a little tune as he does this.

BILLY
“I still say that was madness, Doctor! But it was amazing!”

NYSSA
“Same here, Doctor. It was highly unscientific of you to conceive such an idea as that to save the space hotel.”

DOCTOR
“Well, Nyssa; Billy. It takes one to know one! But in the end…it satisfies, doesn’t it?”

The trio are jovial, as the TARDIS takes them back to the space hotel.


SCENE #153 – INT – LOBBY, LEVEL #1 – 37TH CENTURY – MORNING
Next morning at the space hotel, Enuji is behind the reception desk in the lobby on Level #1. She presses the tannoy switch.

ENUJI
(through tannoy; acting like Gordon; quietly) “Enuji?!” (loudly) “ENUJI?!”

Enuji moves behind the reception desk and looks to see someone approach.

ENUJI
(cheerfully) “Welcome to Enuji Hotel One! How are you, sir?”

GORDON
“Fine thanks, Enuji. Enjoying your new job?”

ENUJI
“Wee.”

GORDON
“I see.”

ENUJI
(gradually) “Well! What…can…I…do…for…you…now?”

GORDON
“I’d like a room please.”

ENUJI
“A room.”

GORDON
“Yes. Now I’d like to have in this room a bath with a space view for five nights. Then I’d like to have a late breakfast in bed with sausages, bacon, eggs, fried bread, two pieces of toast and baked beans with a cheese salad. Followed by a pint of beer and a packet of crisps!”

ENUJI
“Wee wee. You’re room eighty-eight.”

GORDON
“Thanks! I’m ‘room eighty-eight’.”

ENUJI
“Don’t mind blood and body. We soon clear it up.” (calls) “Bruce? Bruce?”

Mechanical motors whir, as Bruce approaches the reception desk.

BRUCE
(happily) “I had a nice sleep last night.”

ENUJI
“Good for you. Would you take Mr. Rotenhend’s cases up to room eighty-eight please?”

BRUCE
“Yes, madam.” (to Gordon) “This way, sir.”

Bruce happily leads the way, as Gordon follows him into the turbo-lift to make for Room #88. Nyssa and Billy watch nearby.

BILLY
“Do you think this happy hotel will last?”

NYSSA
“Well, if the Doctor’s reprogramming of Bruce; Enuji’s promotion and the less loud-mouth manner of Gordon deteriorates, then the result of this experiment will be evident.”

BILLY
“To think that as we leave this place, it will never be as cosy and quaint as it is now.”

NYSSA
“Things can’t always be like this I’m afraid, Billy.”

BILLY
“No. But at least it’s good while it lasts.”

NYSSA
“Oh, look! There’s Lady Mite and the two gentlemen, Larry and Bob.”

Lady Mite; Bob and Larry approach the reception desk with Enuji behind it.

LADY MITE
“Excuse me?”

ENUJI
“Ah. Welcome to Enuji Hotel One. How may I help you?”

LADY MITE
“I understand you have problems with the generator filters in the simi-suites as they are now all offline and inoperative!”

ENUJI
“Yes. True.”

LADY MITE
“Well. I have two gentlemen who could do the job tremendously!”

ENUJI
“Really?”

LARRY
(thrilled) “Really?!”

BOB
“Really?”

LADY MITE
“I’ve had these two gentlemen work for me before! And they’ve been most valuable in their services as holo-engineers. So if you will accept, I very much would appreciate it.”

LARRY
“Thanks, your ladyship.”

BOB
“Yeah, thanks.”

LADY MITE
“And I can cover for any insurances of any damage they may cause.”

LARRY; BOB
(puzzled) “Eh?”

LADY MITE
“So, what do you say?”

ENUJI
(thinks; gradually) “Wee; Wee! I would like to have someone to repair the simi-suites. So wee, wee!”

LARRY
“I’ve already paid my visit.”

BOB
“So have I.”

LADY MITE
“That’s great! Thank you, Enuji!” (Pause; realises) “Oh, excuse me!”

The Doctor then enters. Lady Mite sees him, as she excuses herself from Larry and Bob seeing Enuji. She goes over to see the Doctor. Nyssa and Billy come over to join him and Lady Mite.

LADY MITE
(calls) “Doctor?”

DOCTOR
“Ah! Hello, Lady Mite! Hello, Nyssa; Billy!”

NYSSA
“Hello, Doctor! Where have you been?”

BILLY
“Yeah? Where have you been, Doc?”

DOCTOR
“I’ve just been checking the TARDIS, my TARDIS, for any damage to its circuitry.”

NYSSA
“And is there?”

DOCTOR
“There’s still a little fragmentation and sequencing errors with the dimensional stabilisers, so we have to stay put on this hotel before we leave.”

BILLY
“And how long will that take?”

DOCTOR
(thinks) “Three days.”

NYSSA
“Three days?”

DOCTOR
“Yes. So we’ve got a few more days to spend on this hotel.” (enquiringly) “By the way, how is this homicide-less hotel? If homicide-less is a word at all?”

LADY MITE
“Enuji seems to be enjoying her new role as hotel manager. Ever since her resignation from the CFIBAI, she seems happy to be bossing about at this space hotel!”

NYSSA
“She’s still sweet as ever though.”

BILLY
(happily) “Reminds me of someone I know.”

NYSSA
“And Mr. Rotenhend just booked in for a room.”

DOCTOR
“Oh and how is Mr. Rotenhend taking it all then?”

NYSSA
“Difficult to say.”

BILLY
“We were just talking about how the happiness of this hotel will last when we leave it. I mean it’s fine for Mr. Bruce, but how changed will this hotel be.”

DOCTOR
“Change?” (laughs) “That’s definitely hard to predict for the future!”

NYSSA
“It’s a good thing we kept a few android copies of some of those dead hotel guests to keep their memories and spirits alive.”

BILLY
“Such as?”

The Admiral then enters.

ADMIRAL
“Morning, Doctor.”

DOCTOR
“Morning, Admiral.”

ADMIRAL
“Goodbye, Doctor.”

DOCTOR
“Goodbye, Admiral.”

The Admiral leaves.

BILLY
“So everything’s hunky-dory now, isn’t it?!”

DOCTOR
“Not quite.”

NYSSA
(puzzled) “What do you mean, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
“Well, there’s still one matter we haven’t solved yet.” (distracted) “A matter that concerns a certain element of temporal stability. An element so critical that without it, it can cause an almost casual reality complex to occur…where did you get that comb from Lady Mite?”

LADY MITE
“Comb? You mean my hair comb?”

They see Lady Mite combing her hair with a hair comb.

NYSSA
“Is that your hair comb, Lady Mite?”

LADY MITE
“Of course it is, my dear. After all that business with Mrs. Rotenhend and the simi-suites, one’s bound to get their hair in a mess from time to time.”

The Doctor snatches the hand comb from Lady Mite’s hand.

LADY MITE
“Hey! That’s mine, Doctor.”

DOCTOR
(apprehensive) “Hold on a second!”

The Doctor fumbles in his coat pocket and takes out the burnt comb he used to stop simi-suite #5’s polarizer panel on Level #59. He holds the two combs together in his hands, comparing them both.

DOCTOR
“They’re both identical! Exactly identical. Apart from the fact that one of them is burnt!”

NYSSA
“Is this signifcant, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
“Excuse me. I’ll be right back!”

The Doctor runs off.

LADY MITE
(calls) “Doctor!”

DOCTOR
“I promise, Lady Mite. I’ll bring your comb back!”

The Doctor is then gone, leaving Nyssa and Billy puzzled and Lady Mite irritated.

LADY MITE
(irritated) “First my TARDIS, now he’s stolen my hair comb. What’s the matter with that man?”

BILLY
(puzzled) “What was all that about, Nyssa?”

NYSSA
(intrigued) “I’ve no idea. Unless…”

Meanwhile, Admiral Brown approaches the reception desk with Enuji behind it.

ADMIRAL
“Hello, Miss Enuji!”

ENUJI
“Welcome to Enuji Hotel One, Admiral Brown. How may I help you?”

ADMIRAL
“Any sign of the papers?”

ENUJI
“Coo?”


SCENE #154 – EXT – ROTENHEND HOTEL 360 – 37TH CENTURY – N/A
Later on, the space hotel is bustling with activity again. Spaceships and freighters dock and/or leave the hotel, as new guests arrive and old guests leave. The hotel is in its stationary orbit as this activity goes on. This activity at the space hotel is more frequent in terms of arrivals than departures, as Enuji is in charge instead of Gordon and Elizabeth.


SCENE #155 – INT – DINING ROOM, LEVEL #44 – 37TH CENTURY – AFTERNOON
In the dining room on Level #44, background music is played for the song ‘Beyond the Sea’ by Jack Lawrence and Charles Trenet. This is the original version of the song, performed by Bobby Darin. Nyssa and Billy dance to this song whilst in the dining room, moving gracefully and elegantly.

NYSSA
“This is beautiful music, Billy!”

BILLY
(gradually) “You’re beautiful too, Nyssa.”

NYSSA
(shyly) “You always like to flatter me don’t you, Billy?”

Both giggle.

BILLY
“It’s good to know that we’re dancing in a real place. Not some holographic illusion of a dancing venue in a simi-suite.”

NYSSA
“Sometimes I wonder if this has been a dream.”

BILLY
“A good dream, I hope?”

NYSSA
(giggles) “I’m glad we’re able to dance tonight too, Billy!”

BILLY
“Good. I’m pleased to hear you say that, Nyssa.” (Pause) “Though I wish we had more people come here.”

NYSSA
“I don’t. After all that’s happened with the murder cases, it’s nice not to think about people for a while. You and I deserve a rest, Billy.”

BILLY
“Yeah. It’s nice to have a little break now and again. To feel carefree.”

Nyssa and Billy keep on dancing, as the music plays in the background.

BILLY
(gradually) “I wish we could keep dancing like this forever.”

NYSSA
“Well we’ll just have to hope the Doctor won’t bother us with anything else that catches his curiosity. If he keeps to his word that we can enjoy our time at this space hotel for three days more before we leave.”

BILLY
(stammers) “Yes. Um…about leaving, Nyssa. I um…I’ve been thinking about what you said about joining you and the Doctor in the TARDIS.”

NYSSA
“And?”

BILLY
“Well I thought about it. And err…I don’t want to leave you and the Doctor. I’ve enjoyed my time with you and the Doctor so far. I just don’t want to seem like…I’m overstaying my welcome with you two in the TARDIS.”

NYSSA
(thinks) “Well, we’ll see what the Doctor says. He might mention something.”

BILLY
“Yes.” (Pause) “Then again not.”

Nyssa and Billy keep dancing for a while, as the music plays in the background.

NYSSA
(gradually) “Since you’ve shown me the dances of your Earth history, Billy…perhaps I could show you how we danced on Traken.”

BILLY
(intrigued) “Traken dancing?” (Pause) “Well…do you think I can learn how to do it, Nyssa?”

NYSSA
“You seem keen and interested to learn new things, Billy. Perhaps you’ll like Traken dancing. The dances are far more formalised and complex though.”

BILLY
(thinks) “Well, I still can’t do the Charleston. So you can laugh at me if you find my Traken dancing awful.”

Both Nyssa and Billy laugh, as the ‘Beyond the Sea’ song comes to an end. They stop dancing.

BILLY
“Shall we take a rest from dancing for a moment, Nyssa?”

NYSSA
“Yes. Let’s sit back at our dining table for a moment.”

Nyssa and Billy go back to their seats at their dining table, just as some Ray Conniff music now gets played in the background. The Doctor then enters the dining room to meet up with Nyssa and Billy at their table.

DOCTOR
“Nyssa; Billy! I’m glad I’ve found you here!”

NYSSA
“Doctor! Thank goodness you’re alright!”

DOCTOR
“Of course I’m alright! Why wouldn’t I be?”

BILLY
“But you ran off, Doctor! Where did you go?”

DOCTOR
“Into the TARDIS. Oh by the way, I had some dimensional conduits damaged in my travels. So it’ll be five days now for the old girl to be fully repaired. So we’ve got a longer holiday than anticipated! Good, isn’t it?!”

NYSSA
“But where did you go, Doctor?”

DOCTOR
“Go? Oh I went to see you and Billy!”

NYSSA
“Us?”

DOCTOR
“Yes.”

BILLY
“When?”

DOCTOR
“Two days ago. In swimming pool two on level seven of the swimming pool complex.”

NYSSA
(puzzled) “Swimming pool two?”

DOCTOR
“When you were in your bikini, Nyssa. Don’t you remember? I had to give you that hair comb of Lady Mite’s. The comb you gave to me when we sorted out that polarizer panel in simi-suite five on level fifty-nine.”

NYSSA
(realises) “Of course! You gave that comb to us in order to ensure we gave it to you to save ourselves from getting out of Mrs. Rotenhend’s trap!”

BILLY
“And to be able to get to the space station to stop the missile from destroying the hotel!”

DOCTOR
“The whole temporal balance, I’m happy to say, is restored again! And will be again until…until another timey-wimey fragment occurs.”

Lady Mite then enters the dining room.

LADY MITE
“Ah! There you are, Doctor! I want a word with you!”

DOCTOR
(ecstatic) “Ah! Mite, there you are. I’ve got something that belongs to you! Here you are!”

The Doctor hands Lady Mite’s hair comb back to her. She takes it from him to see the state it’s in.

LADY MITE
(utterly shocked) “Doctor!”

DOCTOR
“Sorry for it being burnt. But I did promise I’d bring it back, didn’t I?”

LADY MITE
“You practically ruined it! It cost fifty credits to pay for this. Not to mention the insurance.”

DOCTOR
(interjects) “Excuse me Mite for interrupting! But you just saved Nyssa and Billy’s life as well as mine. We’re eternally grateful!”

LADY MITE
(startled) “Oh.” (Pause) “Well, it was a pleasure.”

NYSSA
“Thank you, Lady Mite!”

BILLY
“Yes, Lady Mite! Thank you!”

Moment of silence.

DOCTOR
“Will you be staying long at this hotel?”

LADY MITE
“Might as well. I’ve got to help those two fellows with sorting out their new career at this hotel. Then I’ll be travelling off again!”

DOCTOR
“Well do be careful now, won’t you?”

LADY MITE
“I will, Doctor.” (Pause) “Bump into me next time when you see me.”

DOCTOR
“Oh I’m sure I can think of a good reason to see you again! We have a score to settle!”

NYSSA
(interrupts) “Doctor? Billy wants to say something.” (to Billy) “Don’t you, Billy?”

BILLY
(hesitates) “Oh uh…yes! Yes I do!”

DOCTOR
“Yes, Billy? What is it?”

BILLY
(hesitates) “Are you going to take me back to Earth, Doctor? To nineteen sixty-three?”

DOCTOR
“Do you want to go back?”

BILLY
(stammers) “Well…um…I was wondering.” (Pause) “Can I stay with you and Nyssa for a little while longer?”

DOCTOR
(gradually) “You want to join us, Billy?”

BILLY
(gradually) “Yes. Very much.”

DOCTOR
“I see.”

BILLY
(stammers) “If you don’t want to have me, then that’s fine. I understand. I mean you’ve got Nyssa with you and you don’t need me to…”

DOCTOR
(interrupts) “Billy, do you want to join me and Nyssa in the TARDIS or not?”

BILLY
(apprehensive) “Yes. Yes, I just said so. I want to join you and Nyssa.”

DOCTOR
“Then you shall.”

BILLY
(gradually; startled) “Oh. Well…thank you, Doctor. That’s very kind of you.”

DOCTOR
“My pleasure. Just bear in mind though, Billy. Travelling in the TARDIS isn’t always fun. There are dangerous things on the way.”

NYSSA
“And wonderful things too, Doctor.”

DOCTOR
“Yes. And wonderful things.”

BILLY
“I understand, Doctor. But I would like to join you and Nyssa in the TARDIS please.”

DOCTOR
“Good.” (Pause) “Besides, I’ve got quite used to you anyway.”

BILLY
“Oh, really?” (Pause) “What’s that supposed to mean?”

The Ray Conniff music comes to end, as Glenn Miller’s ‘Moonlight Serenade’ gets played in the background.

DOCTOR
“Ah! Music!” (to Nyssa) “Nyssa? May I have the next dance, please?”

NYSSA
“I didn’t think you danced, Doctor.”

DOCTOR
(stunned) “Nyssa! Surely you would expected me, a Time Lord that’s lived for more than eight hundred years and travelled in time and space, to dance.”

NYSSA
(slightly amused) “Then I accept you for the next dance, Doctor!” (to Billy) “Do you mind, Billy?”

BILLY
“No of course not, Nyssa.” (to Lady Mite) “Lady Mite? May I dance with you?”

LADY MITE
(happily) “Of course you may, Billy. Let’s go and dance, shall we?”

The Doctor takes Nyssa by the hand; just as Billy takes Lady Mite by the hand, as they start dancing to ‘Moonlight Serenade’. They dance in the dining room with the music being played in the background.

LADY MITE
(to Doctor) “So, Doctor? Did you enjoy travelling in a type seventy TARDIS? Impressive, isn’t it?”

DOCTOR
“Very impressive, Lady Mite. A very good TARDIS. But mine is better.” (to Nyssa) “Don’t you agree, Nyssa?”

NYSSA
“Well…Lady Mite’s TARDIS certainly knows where it’s going.” (to Billy) “Doesn’t it, Billy?”

BILLY
“Yes, Nyssa. It definitely seems to know where it’s going!”

DOCTOR
(slightly annoyed) “That’s loyalty from your friends, isn’t it?”

Lady Mite laughs whilst Nyssa and Billy are amused by the Doctor’s slight annoyance. ‘Moonlight Serenade’ eventually comes to an end on a final note.


Sting music. Roll original 1982 Peter Davison end credits.


© Tim Bradley, 2016

Leave a Reply

