‘The Space Hotel’ – Reflection

Hello everyone! 🙂

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog and I’m Tim Bradley!

If you’ve been reading ‘The Space Hotel’ on my ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog for August this year, I hope you’ve enjoyed it. I enjoyed writing it back in 2010; posting it on my blog for the first time in 2016 and repeating it on my blog for 2017. ‘The Space Hotel’ is truly one of my favourites from my series!

Looking back, it’s amazing to believe I completed my fan-fiction series of ‘Doctor Who’ with the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa and Billy in 2015. Although for many of you, this series is yet to be completed on my blog. That first trilogy I wrote back in 2010 was one of my happiest memories as a ‘Doctor Who’ fan.

The stories I wrote in 2010 were ‘The Railway of Time’, ‘The Space Hotel’ and ‘Doom of the Daleks’. ‘The Railway of Time’ was an enjoyable story to begin the series with the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa and Billy and ‘Doom of the Daleks’ is considered to be one of the best stories ever so far by my readers!

‘The Space Hotel’ is particularly special in terms of my writing experience of ‘Doctor Who’ fan-fiction stories, because it was a story bold in ideas and concepts as well as writing my first excursion into a futuristic scenario. The story was a combination of a murder mystery as well as outer-space comedy.

My inspiration for ‘The Space Hotel’ came from my love of the BBC sitcom series ‘Fawlty Towers’. I wanted to do a story set on a ‘Fawlty Towers’ in space with my second adventure for the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa and Billy. Adding a murder mystery element to the story helped to make it so exciting.

‘The Space Hotel’ is an Agatha Christie/‘Fawlty Towers’/Douglas Adams styled adventure in my series of ‘Doctor Who’ stories. I didn’t know what to expect when writing the story and how to resolve the characters and murder mystery altogether. It was a step-by-step process and worth the enjoyment.

Since adding ‘The Space Hotel’ to my blog, I’ve added more stories to my ‘Fifth Doctor’ series including ‘The Tree of Riverloth’, ‘The Austen Code’, ‘Junglos 4198’ and ‘Chieftain’s Caves’. ‘The Space Hotel’ remains one of my favourites, because of the fresh approach that I took to write a new story.

I enjoyed re-watching episodes of ‘Fawlty Towers’ to help me with writing ‘The Space Hotel’ with adding to the story and adding in-jokes to make the story more interesting. I also enjoyed re-watching ‘Doctor Who’ stories by Douglas Adams like ‘The Pirate Planet’ to help with my inspiration.

I’m very fond of the characters I created in ‘The Space Hotel’ story. These included Gordon Rotenhend; his wife Elizabeth; Enuji; Bruce the Android; the Admiral and the ‘Chucklebrothers’-like duo Larry Cooper and Bob Hill. Some of these characters I would reuse again in future stories by me.

I also enjoyed the character journeys of the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa and Billy as a TARDIS team in this story. By this point, Billy has joined the Doctor and Nyssa as a TARDIS travelling companion. He was still in his early stages as a companion and the early stages of a relationship between him and Nyssa.

After ‘The Space Hotel’ was posted on my ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog, I received plenty of feedback from readers who’ve enjoyed reading my stories. These include people like IWishIHadATardis and Timelord 007 who’ve left positive and kind feedback on the ‘Doctor Who’ stories by me on my blog.

Here’s what IWishIHadATardis said about ‘The Space Hotel’ after she finished reading it:

Well, what a great story, Tim! I will most definitely read that again. Next time I won’t be in such a hurry to see what happens next. I can read it more slowly and pick up all the clues as I go.

Really great stuff, Tim. Well done. It’s fantastic to see you putting your writing out there like that and it’s really very good.

Here’s what Timelord007 said about ‘The Space Hotel’ after he finished reading it:

You are very talented my friend. You write such great characters along with an exciting engaging story and put some of the recent new Who TV writers to shame.

Thank you for keeping my spirits up and entertained. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘The Space Hotel.’

I’ve also had some hotel designs of ‘The Space Hotel’ made by Johnny Motely (captshade), from the ‘NYSSA OF TRAKEN and SARAH SUTTON FAN GROUP’ on Facebook. I wasn’t expecting these hotel designs to be made and it was kind of Johnny Motely to make them for me.

Check out captshade’s hotel designs of Rotenhend Hotel 360 below!

It’d be remiss of me not to thank Peter Davison and Sarah Sutton who inspired me with their performances as the Fifth Doctor and Nyssa, on TV and audio, to write these ‘Doctor Who’ stories. Without Peter and Sarah and their work in ‘Doctor Who’, this fan-fiction series wouldn’t be possible.

I’ve had my cover of ‘The Space Hotel’ (as well as my covers for ‘The Railway of Time’, ‘Doom of the Daleks’ and ‘The Tree of Riverloth’) signed by the lovely Sarah Sutton at the ‘GEEKS Salisbury Comic Con 2017’, City Hall, Salisbury in July 2017. Sarah laughed when I told her this story was a ‘Fawlty Towers’-in space adventure and I’ve shared how much I enjoyed writing these stories to her.

‘The Space Hotel’ is a ‘Doctor Who’ fan-fiction story I look back on with fond, happy memories when writing the story and adding it to my blog. It would be nice if a Big Finish audio adaptation was made of my stories, as I’d like to hear Peter Davison and Sarah Sutton play the Fifth Doctor and Nyssa in them.

Please check out my other stories in ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ series as well as some of my ‘Short Trips’. These also include a Short Trip featuring Gordon Rotenhend from ‘The Space Hotel’ with Ace and the Seventh Doctor called ‘The Space Car’.

Enjoy!

Thanks for reading!

Tim. 🙂

4 thoughts on “‘The Space Hotel’ – Reflection

  1. Big Finish really need to hire you Tim, you just get what Doctor Who is about & many Who writers consider the Fifth Doctor the most difficult to write for but you captured his incarnation perfectly.

    I can see it now BF hire you & get you to adapt these stories for audio & my wallet cries because I’d pre-order them immediately.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Simon.

    I hope the day will come when I get to write for Big Finish’s ‘Doctor Who’. I’m very pleased you enjoy my interpretation of the Fifth Doctor in my stories. I look forward to when you get round to reading my latest Fifth Doctor stories.

    It would be nice if my first trilogy of stories with the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa and Billy are adapted by BF, as I have happy memories writing them and think Peter Davison and Sarah Sutton would enjoy the dialogue given to their characters as the Fifth Doctor and Nyssa. There would be changes in the adaptation process, but I like to think I can cope with that.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

