Ben’s Timeline


Here is ‘Ben’s Timeline’.

I’ve referred to


to help me put this version of the timeline together.

I’ve included all the TV stories, audios; books; comics and short stories into this list for now.

The (TV) and (Audio) stories are highlighted in NAVY.

The (Book) stories are to remain un-highlighted for now.

The short stories are highlighted in NAVY and/or ITALICS; and are CENTRED.

The stories with links to reviews by me on my blog are highlighted in BOLD and NAVY.

Regarding the (Book) stories, I’ve identified each of them as follows in the KEY below.

*VMA – Virgin Missing Adventures
*PDA – Past Doctor Adventures

Regarding the (Audio) stories, I’ve identified each of them as follows in the KEY below.

**BAB – BBC Audio Book
**BFAD – Big Finish Audio Drama
**BFAB – Big Finish Audio Book

Please feel free to ask questions about this timeline, as I intend to revisit this and add new stories to the list as time goes on.

I’ve divided the timeline into 4 phases
1. Ben with the First Doctor and Polly (Seasons 3-4)
2. Ben with the Second Doctor and Polly (Season 4)
3. Ben with the Second Doctor, Polly and Jamie (Season 4)
4. Ben after the Doctor

1. Ben with the First Doctor and Polly (Seasons 3-4)

1. The War Machines (TV)

‘The Rag & Bone Man’s Story’ (ST)

2. The Smugglers (TV)
3. The Bonfires of the Vanities (Audio) – BFAB**

‘The Three Paths’ (ST)

4. Food For Thought (Comic)
5. Ten Little Aliens (Book)PDA*
6. The Crumbling Magician (Audio) – BFAB**
7. The Plague of Dreams (Audio) – BFAB**

‘Falling’ (ST/Audio) – BFAB**

8. The Tenth Planet (TV)

2. Ben with the Second Doctor and Polly (Season 4)

 9. The Power of the Daleks (TV)

The Second Doctor, Ben and Polly’s cameo in ‘The Light At The End’ (Audio) – BFAD** takes place here.
The flashback of the Second Doctor, Ben and Polly in ‘The Chameleon Factor’ (Comic) takes place here.
 ‘Pluto’ (ST)
‘The Sour Note’ (Annual/Audio) – BAB**
‘The Dream Masters’ (Annual)
‘The Tests of Trefus’ (Annual Comic)
‘The Word of Asiries’ (Annual)
‘Only a Matter of Time’ (Annual)
‘Planet of Bones’ (Annual)
‘When Starlight Grows Cold’ (Annual)
‘World Without Night’ (Annual Comic)
‘H.M.S. TARDIS’ (Annual)
‘The King of Golden Death’ (Annual/Audio) – BAB**

10. Invasion of the Cat-People (Book) – VMA*
11. The Murder Game (Book) – PDA*
12. Dying in the Sun (Book) – PDA*

‘Wonderland’ (Novella)
‘The Feast’ (ST)
‘Lost and Found’ (ST/Audio) – BFAB**

3. Ben with the Second Doctor, Polly and Jamie (Season 4)

13. The Highlanders (TV)

‘Something at the Door’ (Penguin/Audio) – PAB**

14. The Underwater Menace (TV)
15. The Moonbase (TV)
16. The Macra Terror (TV)
17. The Mouthless Dead (Audio) – BFAB**
18. The Yes Men (Audio) – BFAB**
19. The Roundheads (Book/Audio) – PDA*+BAB**

‘The Slave War’ (ST)

20. Resistance (Audio) – BFAB**

‘The Three Companions: Polly’s Story’ (Audio) – BFAB** takes place here.

21. The Forbidden Time (Audio) – BFAB**
22. The Selachian Gambit (Audio) – BFAB**
23. House of Cards (Audio) – BFAB**
24. The Forsaken (Audio) – BFAB**
25. The Night Witches (Audio) – BFAB**
26. The Outliers (Audio) – BFAB**
27. The Morton Legacy (Audio) – BFAB**
28. The Home Guard (Audio) – BFAB**

‘Card Conundrum’ from ‘The Many Lives of Doctor Who’ (Comic) takes place here.

29. The Faceless Ones (TV)

4. Ben after the Doctor

Ben and Polly’s appearance in ‘The Love Invasion’ (Comic) takes place here.
‘Mondas Passing’ (ST)
‘That Time I Nearly Destroyed the World Whilst Looking for a Dress’ (ST)
‘Do You Dream in Colour’ (ST)
Ben and Polly are married by the time of ‘The Three Companions’ (Audio) – BFAB** and ‘The Five Companions’ (Audio) – BFAD**.
Ben’s cameo in ‘Farewell, Sarah Jane’ (SJA) (Webcast) takes place here.

Return to The Companions’ Timelines Index
Return to Doctor Who Timelines
Return to Doctor Who
Return to Sci-Fi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.