The Ice Warriors’ Timeline


Here is ‘The Ice Warriors’ Timeline’.

I’ve referred to


to help me put this version of the timeline together.

I’ve included all the TV stories, audios; books; graphic novel/comics and adventure games into this list for now.

The (TV); (Audio) and (Video Game) stories are highlighted in TEAL.

The (Book) stories are to remain un-highlighted for now.

The short stories are highlighted in TEAL and/or ITALICS; and are CENTRED.

The stories with links to reviews by me on my blog are highlighted in BOLD and TEAL.

Regarding the (Book) stories, I’ve identified each of them as follows in the KEY below.

*VNA – Virgin New Adventures
*NSA – New Series Adventures
*TB – Target Books

Regarding the (Audio) stories, I’ve identified each of them as follows in the KEY below.

**BAB – BBC Audio Book
**BFAD – Big Finish Audio Drama
**BFAB – Big Finish Audio Book

Regarding the short stories, I’ve identified each of them as follows with abbreviations.

  • (ST) – Short Trip (either Big Finish or BBC)
  • (TAW) – ‘Twelve Angels Weeping’

Please feel free to ask questions about this timeline, as I intend to revisit this and add new stories to the list as time goes on.

I’ve divided the timeline into 15 phases
1. Early History
2. The Fall of the Ice Warriors
3. After the Fall
4. 19th Century
5. 20th Century
6. 21st Century
7. 22nd Century
8. 23rd Century
9. 24th Century
10. 26th Century
11. 27th Century
12. 31st Century
13. 40th Century
14. 41st Century
15. 51st Century

1. Early History

1. Lords of the Red Planet (Audio) – BFAB**

‘Red Planet’ (TAW)

2. Deathworld (Comic)

2. The Fall of the Ice Warriors

 The early Mars scenes from ‘The Judgement of Isskar’ (Audio) – BFAD** take place here.

3. After the Fall

3. The Judgement of Isskar (Audio) – BFAD**

4. 19th Century

4. Empress of Mars (TV)

5. 20th Century

5. Thin Ice (Audio) – BFAD**
6. 4-Dimensional Vistas (Comic)
7. Cold War (TV)
8. A Cold Day in Hell! (Comic)
9. Destiny of the Doctors (Video Game)
10. The Dying Days (Book) – VNA*

6. 21st Century

11. Red Dawn (Audio) – BFAD**
12. Frozen Time (Audio) – BFAD**
13. The Seeds of Death (TV)

‘Bazaar Adventures’ from ‘Prisoners of Time’ (Comic) takes place here.
‘Cold’ (Storybook)

14. The Silent Stars Go By (Book/Audio)NSA*+BAB**
15. Tales of Trenzalore: Let it Snow (Book/Audio) – NSA*+BAB**

7. 22nd Century

16. GodEngine (Book) – VNA*

8. 23rd Century

17. Deimos/The Resurrection of Mars (Audio) – BFAD**

9. 24th Century

18. Mission To Magnus (Book/Audio)TB*+BFAD**

10. 26th Century

 ‘…Be Forgot’ (ST)

11. 27th Century

19. The Dance of the Dead (BS) (Audio) – BFAD**

12. 31st Century

20. Descendance (Comic)
21. Ascendance (Comic)
22. Perceptions (Comic)
23. Coda (Comic)

13. 40th Century

24. The Curse of Peladon (TV)
25. The Prisoner of Peladon (Audio) – BFAB**
26. The Monster of Peladon (TV)
27. Legacy (Book) – VNA*
28. Cold-Blooded War! (Comic)

14. 41st Century

 ‘Uranus’ (ST)

29. The Bride of Peladon (Audio) – BFAD**

The brief cameo of an Ice Warrior in ‘Bang-Bang-A-Boom’ (Audio) – BFAD** takes place here.

30. Cold Vengeance (Audio)BFAD**

15. 51st Century

31. The Ice Warriors (TV)

Return to The Monsters’ Timelines Index
Return to Doctor Who Timelines
Return to Doctor Who
Return to Sci-Fi

3 thoughts on “The Ice Warriors’ Timeline

  1. Hi Tim

    A most interesting timeline for the Ice Warriors. I found this really interesting, as I have recently listened to Lords of the Red Planet, the first Ice Warriors story, and then even more recently I’ve listened to the audio of the novelisation of The Ice Warriors, which is the last Ice Warriors story!

    A most interesting alien race, and a most useful timeline, thanks, Tim.


    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Leigh.

    I’m glad you enjoyed my timeline for the Ice Warriors. This was a challenging one to do as I found the Ice Warriors’ story in the ‘Doctor Who’ not as straight-forward as it may seem. With the help of TARDIS.wikia, I found how all the various stories fit in the chronology of the Ice Warriors in terms of Earth centuries. Very unusual it is that ‘The Ice Warriors’ is the last story in their timeline.

    So far, I’ve not had any suggestions to change the stories from users on ‘The Divergent Universe’ forum (yet). So either my list is correct or it’s taking a while for the suggestions to come through.

    Thanks for sharing your viewing/listening of recent Ice Warriors stories with both versions of the first Ice Warriors story and ‘Lords of the Red Planet’.

    The Ice Warriors are a most interesting alien race indeed. I’ve not even written a ‘Doctor Who’ story with them in it yet!

    I’m glad you found my timeline for the Ice Warriors useful, Leigh.


    Tim. 🙂


  3. It is very interesting that The Ice Warriors is the last story (so far!) in the Ice Warriors timeline.

    I always think The Seeds of Death is a fantastic story, and it really evokes the menace of the Ice Warriors. I think the Ice Warriors are great creations, and it would be good to see/hear more stories with them in, definitely.

    Thanks again, Tim, most interesting and most useful.


    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.