The Gallifrey Timeline


Here is ‘The Gallifrey Timeline’.

I’ve referred to


to help me put this version of the timeline together.

I’ve included all the TV stories, audios; books; comics and short stories into this list for now.

The (TV) and (Audio) stories are highlighted in ORANGE.

The (Book) stories are to remain un-highlighted for now.

The short stories are highlighted in ORANGE and/or ITALICS; and are CENTRED.

The stories with links to reviews by me on my blog are highlighted in BOLD and ORANGE.

Regarding the (Book) stories, I’ve identified each of them as follows in the KEY below.

*VNA – Virgin New Adventures
*VMA – Virgin Missing Adventures
*EDA – Eighth Doctor Adventures
*PDA – Past Doctor Adventures
*NSA – New Series Adventures

Regarding the (Audio) stories, I’ve identified each of them as follows in the KEY below.

**BAD – BBC Audio Drama
**BAB – BBC Audio Book
**BFAD – Big Finish Audio Drama
**BFAB – Big Finish Audio Book

Regarding the short stories, I’ve identified each of them as follows with abbreviations.

  • (ST) – Short Trip (either Big Finish or BBC)
  • (DWM) – ‘Doctor Who Magazine’
  • (TS) – Target Storybook
  • (TAW) – ‘Twelve Angels Weeping’
  • (DW-W) – Doctor Who Website
  • (YB) – Yearbook

Please feel free to ask questions about this timeline, as I intend to revisit this and add new stories to the list as time goes on.

I’ve divided the timeline into 6 phases
1. The Dark Time
2. The Rassilon Era
3. The Romana Era
4. The Post-Romana Era
5. The Time War
6. After The Time War

1. The Dark Time

‘Blind Fury’ (Annual)
The flashbacks from ‘Cat’s Cradle: Time’s Crucible’ (Book) – VNA* take place here.
The flashbacks from ‘Lungbarrow’ (Book) – VNA* take place here.
The young First Doctor in the barn on Gallifrey in ‘Listen’ (TV) takes place here.

2. The Rassilon Era

Rassilon’s first declaration of the Time Lords in ‘The Final Chapter’ (Comic) takes place here.
The First Doctor’s escape from on Gallifrey in ‘Nightshade’ (Book/Audio) – VNA*+BFAD**, ‘The Name of the Doctor’ (TV) and ‘The Beginning’ (Audio) – BFAB** occurs here.
The Time Lords’ sentence of Morbius for execution takes place here.
‘The Three Paths’ (ST)

A Time Lord’s visit to the Fourth Doctor on Skaro in ‘Genesis of the Daleks’ (TV) takes place here.

  • A Device of Death (Book) – VMA*
  • Return of the Daleks! (TV Comic)

Romana I’s appearance in ‘Lies’ (G) (Audio) – BFAD** takes place here.
Romana I’s appearance in ‘Spirit’ (G) (Audio) – BFAD** takes place here.
Romana I’s appearance in ‘Imperiatrix’ (G) (Audio) – BFAD** takes place here.
Romana I’s appearance in ‘Fractures’ (G) (Audio) – BFAD** takes place here.
Romana I’s appearance in ‘Warfare’ (G) (Audio) – BFAD** takes place here.
Romana I’s appearance in ‘Reborn’ (G) (Audio) – BFAD** takes place here.

The alternative Death Zone on Gallifrey in ‘The Five Companions’ (Audio) BFAD** takes place during ‘The Five Doctors’ (TV)
‘Punting’ (TS) – TB* takes place during ‘The Five Doctors’ (TV).
The Time Lord’s involvement in ‘The Trial of a Time Lord’ (TV) takes place here.
‘The Wings of a Butterfly’ (ST/Audio) – BFAB**
Gallifrey’s cameo from ‘The Sound of Drums’ in ‘Utopia’/’The Sound of Drums’/’Last of the Time Lords’ (TV) takes place here before the Time War.

  • Cat’s Cradle: Time’s Crucible (Book) – VMA*
  • Flashback (Comic)
  • Time & Time Again (Comic)
  • Dead Romance (BS) (Book) – VNA*
  • The Eight Doctors (Book) – EDA*
  • Legacy of the Daleks (Book) – EDA*
  • The Final Chapter (Comic)

3. The Romana Era

‘Blood Invocation’ (YB/Comic)

‘The Time Lord’s Story’ (ST)
Straxus’ involvement in ‘The Light At The End’ (Audio) – BFAD** takes place here.

‘Affirmative’ (DWM)
‘Jealous, Possessive’ (ST)

  • The Worlds of Doctor Who: Second Sight (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Weapon of Choice (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Square One (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • The Inquiry (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • A Blind Eye (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Lies (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Spirit (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Pandora (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Insurgency (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Imperiatrix (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Fractures (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Warfare (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Appropriation (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Mindbomb (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Panacea (G) (Audio) – BFAD**

Straxus’ involvement in ‘Human Resources’ (Audio) – BFAD** takes place here.

  • Sisters of the Flame/The Vengeance of Morbius (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Reborn (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Disassembled (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Annihilation (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Forever (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Emancipation (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Evolution (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Arbitration (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Extermination (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Renaissance (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Ascension (G) (Audio) – BFAD**

Leela and Romana’s story in ‘Collision Course’ from ‘The Legacy of Time’ (Audio) – BFAD** takes place here.

  • Enemy Lines (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • The Shadows of Avalon (Book) – EDA*

The Faction Paradox encounters with Gallifrey take place here.

  • The Ancestor Cell (Book) – EDA*
  • The Gallifrey Chronicles (Book) – EDA*
  • The Infinity Doctors (Book) – PDA*
  • Intervention Earth (G) (Audio) – BFAD**

4. The Post-Romana Era

‘Celestial Intervention – A Gallifreyan Noir’ (TAW/Audio) – BAB**

1. The Great War
2. Fugitives
3. Tangled Web
4. X and the Daleks

‘The Eleven’ from ‘Doom Coalition 1’ (Audio) – BFAD** takes place here.
‘The Crucible of Souls’ from ‘Doom Coalition 3’ (Audio) – BFAD** takes place here.

5. The Time War

  • Celestial Intervention (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Soldier Obscura (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • The Devil You Know (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Desperate Measures (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Havoc (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Partisans (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Collateral (G) (Audio) – BFAD**
  • Assassins (G) (Audio) – BFAD**

Gallifrey’s appearance in ‘Doctor Who and the Time War’ (DW-W) takes place here – possibly in another timeline.

‘The Innocent’ from ‘Only The Monstrous’ (Audio) – BFAD** takes place here.

‘The Last Day’ (TV)

(N.B. The events of Gallifrey in ‘The End of Time’ (TV) and ‘The Day of the Doctor’ (TV) take place simultaneously with each other.)

6. After The Time War

Gallifrey’s appearance in ‘Spyfall’ (TV) takes place here.
Gallifrey’s appearance in ‘Ascension of the Cybermen’/’The Timeless Children’ (TV) takes place here.

Return to The Planets’ Timelines Index
Return to Doctor Who Timelines
Return to Doctor Who
Return to Sci-Fi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.