Theatre Review – ‘The Glenn Miller Story’

95ebba2cf3304c27ad70492bb66eaa87

Hello everyone! 🙂

Last night, I went with my parents to see ‘The Glenn Miller Story’ at the New Theatre in Cardiff. This is a musical production starring Tommy Steele as Glenn Miller. The music of Glenn Miller is one of my favourites, as I love listening to the tunes and songs performed by his big band orchestra.

I was expecting this musical production to be based on the 1954 film ‘The Glenn Miller Story’, starring James Stewart. It wasn’t exactly based on the film, but the story is still the same with more songs and dance routines performed by the stars and the orchestra that was lively and entertaining.

I loved listening to the songs/tunes performed on stage, as they are some of mine and my Dad’s favourites. The songs/tunes in ‘The Glenn Miller Story’ included ‘Moonlight Serenade’; ‘In The Mood’; ‘Pennsylvania 6500’; ‘Chattanooga Choo Choo’; ‘I’ve Got A Gal From Kalamazoo’; etc.

The production was divided into two acts. The second act had more Glenn Miller music compared to the first act. The songs performed in the first act were ones that Glenn liked in his life. These included ‘It Don’t Mean a Thing If It Ain’t Got That Swing’ and ‘Zing! Went the Strings of My Heart’.

Tommy Steele was great as Glenn Miller in ‘The Glenn Miller Story’. This was the first time I’d seen Tommy Steele (whereas my dad has seen him before years ago in ‘Singin’ in the Rain’ with Roy Castle). You could tell he’s a real Glenn Miller enthusiast as he performed/sang in this production.

‘The Glenn Miller Story’ is on tour at the moment. Check this link for when/where the next performances of this production are going to take place in the UK. If you’ve not heard of Glenn Miller and his music before, then I suggest you go; see this and find out. It’s well worth it!

I enjoyed seeing ‘The Glenn Miller Story’ on stage with my parents, and so did my Dad. These big band/jazz musical productions are the sort of thing my Dad likes, and I’m glad this made him happy.

Thanks for reading this!

Bye for now!

Tim 🙂

Leave a Reply

