Convention Report – ‘Comic Con Mania Leicester’

Hello everyone! 🙂

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog and I’m Tim Bradley!

I had a great time attending ‘Comic Con Mania’ in Leicester last Saturday. I got to reunite with my favourite ‘Doctor Who’ stars Sarah Sutton (Nyssa) and Peter Davison (the Fifth Doctor). I had lovely chats with them both, had photos with them and I took away some special moments from the event.

Let me share with you what the highlights were for me attending ‘Comic Con Mania Leicester’. Before attending the convention, I was amazed by how well-advertised the event was when I visited HMV during my three-night stay in Leicester. I didn’t expect to see a poster for the event at HMV. 🙂

As soon as I entered the Mattioli Arena where the convention took place, my first port of call was saying “Hello!” to Sarah Sutton. We were very pleased to see each other, and I gave her a box of Hotel Chocolat containing a Dozen Dapper Dogs that looked like my cuddly toy dog called Cuddles. 🙂

Sarah suggested I take a photo of her with Cuddles and the box of Dozen Dapper Dogs chocolates. I’m pleased I took the photo, and she looks genuinely happy when holding Cuddles and the chocolates. I was so looking forward to seeing more of Sarah at the convention as the day went on. 🙂

At 11:30 that morning, I enjoyed the panel talk featuring Sarah Sutton and Peter Davison. After the event, I was amazed to discover that the panel talk had been recorded on video and shared on YouTube by Sophie Le-butt1978 and EJA. I took part in the panel talk twice as an audience member.

My starring moments in Sophie Le-butt1978’s video are at 04:50 and 25:25. I helped Sarah with remembering she was once presumed to be engaged to Tom Baker, and I asked Peter and Sarah whether the Big Finish audios enable them to play their characters in ways not done in the TV series.

I later met up with Sarah and Peter for autograph and selfie sessions. I had my CD box set cover of the audio anthology ‘Conflicts of Interest’ (featuring ‘Friendly Fire’ and ‘The Edge of the War’) signed by Peter and Sarah. I also had selfies with Peter and Sarah individually and a selfie with all us three. 🙂

It was nice chatting to Sarah and Peter about the Big Finish audios of ‘Doctor Who’ that they’ve done and I told them I was looking forward to their latest audio stories, including the ones in ‘The Dream Team’ box set and ‘The Great Beyond’. I also had an enjoyable chat with Peter about ‘The Larkins’. 🙂

I also conducted an interview with Sarah Sutton about her first acting job where she played Baby Roo in a theatre production of ‘Winnie the Pooh’ at the Phoenix Theatre in Charing Cross, London in the early 1970s. It was nice to chat with Sarah about her first acting job before she did ‘Doctor Who’.

At this point, I’m looking forward to doing another interview with Sarah when I see her again soon at ‘Comic Con Mania Bolton’ in May. I’ve a topic in mind in terms of what to interview her on, but you’ll have to wait and see. I’m very pleased she got to chat to me about ‘Winnie the Pooh’ for a change. 🙂

At ‘Comic Con Mania Leciester’, I got to chat and meet up with a couple dressed up as the Fourth Doctor and Sarah Jane Smith. It was lovely chatting to them, and I even had a jelly baby given to me by the Doctor (Peter Dags Holyoake, I believe). 😀 They even had ‘the Hand of Fear’ prop with them.

There was also a Dalek at the event as well as a couple of TARDISes – one of them had K-9 nearby. 😀 Deadpool also attended ‘Comic Con Mania Leicester’. And I have to say, I’m shocked by the amount of F’s that are featured in the latest trailer for ‘Deadpool & Wolverine’ due to be released in July. 😀

Deadpool: What are you talking about, Tim? Francis was never mentioned once!

I took a photo of a dinosaur from the ‘Jurassic Park’ films, I believe (or is it the ‘Jurassic World’ films? 😀 ) I also took a photo of some model stand-ups of Deadpool and Batman at the convention. I got to say goodbye to Sarah Sutton before I left for the day, looking forward to seeing her in Bolton.

‘Comic Con Mania Leicester’ was a nice day out for me and it was a very well-put together by the Monopoly Events team for their first ‘Comic Con Mania’ event. I’m glad I got to see Sarah and Peter that day and it was nice to take part in their panel talk as well as doing a lovely interview with Sarah.

Looking forward to seeing Sarah Sutton and Peter Davison again soon in three weeks’ time at ‘Comic Con Mania Bolton’ in May.

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim 🙂

2 thoughts on “Convention Report – ‘Comic Con Mania Leicester’

    1. Tim Bradley Post author

      Thanks scifimike,

      Glad you enjoyed my latest convention report and glad you like the photo I took of the Fourth Doctor and Sarah Jane. It was nice having a chat with them.

      Best wishes,

      Tim 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.