Quick DVD Review – ‘Scooby-Doo and the Cyber Chase’

Hello everyone! 🙂

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog and I’m Tim Bradley!

Usually, I’d purchase a ‘Tom and Jerry’ film when spending a weekend attending a convention somewhere. When I was in Plymouth earlier this month, I purchased the ‘Scooby-Doo and the Cyber Chase’ DVD. This is a nice change to check out a ‘Scooby-Doo’ film instead of a ‘Tom and Jerry’ film.

I’ve had a fair share of ‘Scooby-Doo’ film reviews on ‘Bradley’s Basement’ over the years, including ‘Scooby-Doo Meets Batman’, ‘Scooby-Doo! & Batman: The Brave and the Bold’ and the latest 2020 film ‘Scoob!’. Hopefully I’ll be able to share reviews on some of the live-action ‘Scooby-Doo’ films. 😀

‘Scooby-Doo and the Cyber Chase’ is a direct-to-video animated film that was released in 2001, featuring Scooby-Doo and the Mystery Inc. gang. The gang solve a mystery about a malicious computer virus causing trouble when unleashed in the world. A fascinating concept to get behind. 🙂

I recall seeing this film once at some friends’ house back in the early 2000s. I enjoyed seeing what I saw of the film back then, but I don’t think I got to see it in its entirety. Anyway, I’ve seen this film recently and I can tell you that this is a very enjoyable ‘Scooby-Doo’ adventure that’s full of antics. 🙂

Apparently, ‘Scooby-Doo and the Cyber Chase’ is the fourth entry in a series of direct-to-video animated films featuring Scooby-Doo and his friends. I’m sure I’ll be checking out more Scooby-Doo films should I ever purchase a special DVD whenever I’m attending a convention such as in Leicester.

In ‘Scooby-Doo and the Cyber Chase’, Mystery Inc. visits their old friend and college student Eric. He’s invited them to see a prize-winning video game that he’s made, based on their adventures and a high-tech laser. The gang learn about the ‘Phantom Virus’ which materialised out of Eric’s game. 😮

Very soon, Scooby-Doo and the gang encounter the ‘Phantom Virus’ before someone uses Eric’s laser to beam them all into the ‘Scooby-Doo’ game. The Mystery Inc. gang must complete every level in the game by finding a box of Scooby Snacks to get out. Will that ‘Phantom Virus’ get in their way?

The Mystery Inc. gang of course includes Scooby-Doo, Shaggy, Fred, Daphne and Velma. Scooby and Shaggy are voiced by Scott Innes. This happens to be the last film where Scott Innes voices Scooby and Shaggy, and this is also the last film for B. J. Ward who voices Velma, which I didn’t know about.

There’s Fred, voiced by Frank Welker. Frank Welker voiced Megatron in the 1980s ‘Transformers’ TV series as well as voiced other characters in various film and TV shows over the years. Frank Welker has also voiced Fred in the ‘Scooby-Doo’ franchise since its inception in 1969, which I find incredible.

This is also happens to be the first film to feature Grey DeLisle as the voice of Daphne, who took over following the death of Mary Kay Bergman, who voiced Daphne in three previous ‘Scooby-Doo’ films before this, in 1999. At this stage, I’m on a learning curve about the history of these animated films.

As well as Eric, voiced by Bob Bergen, at the college, there’s Professor Kaufman, voiced by Tom Kane, and Bill, Eric’s best friend and a baseball-loving computer programmer, voiced by Mikey Kelley. There’s also a grumpy campus security guard named Officer Wembley, voiced by Joe Alaskey.

And there’s the Phantom Virus, voiced by Gary Sturgis. I enjoyed the various video game levels our heroes go on; including on Earth’s moon, in a Roman gladiatorial arena, a prehistoric jungle with dinosaurs and mammoths, etc. Our heroes’ final level in the game is at an amusement park at night.

The Mystery Inc. gang meet up with duplicate versions of themselves as well as real versions of monsters that the gang have previously faced and unmasked as human criminals. All in all, ‘Scooby-Doo and the Cyber Chase’ is a lot of fun. I’m certain you’ll enjoy this film should you ever consider seeing it.

Apparently, there’s a post-credits scene at the end of this film, which is longer than some of the ‘Marvel Cinematic Universe’ films’ post-credits scenes. 😀

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.