Basement Update – ‘The Sunfire Chronicles’

Hello everyone! 🙂

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog and I’m Tim Bradley!

It’s been a while since I’ve shared my ‘coming soon’ blog post about my upcoming ‘Doctor Who’ series of ‘Short Trips’ called ‘The Sunfire Chronicles’ back in January. You may have also noticed that I haven’t shared any ‘Basement News’ blog posts since 2024 began. The simple reason for that is I’ve been very busy.

I’m currently putting together ‘The Nyssa Challenge’ mini-review season for Easter from March to April 2024. Hopefully I’ll complete it in time before the end of March. I’ve also been working on the four ‘Sunfire Chronicles’ stories each in turn since I made the ‘coming soon’ announcement back in January.

It’s all coming together, as I’m about halfway through writing the fourth story of ‘The Sunfire Chronicles’ called ‘Quasar of Sarfenia’, which I hope to finish soon in March. Let me share with you more details about ‘The Sunfire Chronicles’ and how much progress I’m making to get it all finished. 🙂

Incidentally, there’s a new novel released by the Divergent Wordsmiths called ‘The Alchemists of Fear’, featuring the Sixth Doctor, Peri and Frobisher. The first episode is currently available. Please feel free to check it out. 🙂 I’ve also worked with the author Alan Camlann/Wolfie on ‘The Sunfire Chronicles’. 🙂

So far, I’ve written up the first three stories of ‘The Sunfire Chronicles’‘The Horns of Wulfe’, ‘Romance and the Cow Creamer’ and ‘The Race of Endurance’ – and I’m halfway writing up ‘Quasar of Sarfenia’. I’ve revamped ‘The Horns of Wulfe’ recently, with help from Wolfie, which I’ve found truly worthwhile.

Once I’ve finished ‘Quasar of Sarfenia’, I’m looking forward to getting onto re-reading ‘The Horns of Wulfe’ before I get onto editing ‘Romance and the Cow Creamer’, ‘The Race of Endurance’ and ‘Quasar of Sarfenia’ with some help from Wolfie as well as from Timelord007, WilliamsFan92 and AFJ Kernow.

As a reminder, the four ‘Sunfire Chronicles’ have ‘The Horns of Wulfe’ featuring the Fourth Doctor, Private James Darby and Bazoon ‘Bazooie’ the Miggie; ‘Romance and the Cow Creamer’ featuring the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa and Billy Walker; ‘The Race of Endurance’ featuring the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa, Tegan Jovanka and Michael Anderson; and ‘Quasar of Sarfenia’ featuring the Sixth Doctor, Peri Brown and Frobisher.

It’s been very challenging and exciting to write these four ‘Doctor Who’ stories and hopefully it’ll be well-worth sharing them on ‘Bradley’s Basement’. I’m still aiming to share the stories at around May, June or July time, though that might change due to how much is needed to be re-edited and revamped.

I’ve also updated the cover for ‘The Race of Endurance’, as the story features Tegan and Michael in an outer space pod race. I’ve changed the image of Tegan and Michael’s racing space pod in order to make it sleeker and manoeuvrable in outer space. Please check out the four covers for the four stories below.

That’s about it in terms of an update regarding ‘The Sunfire Chronicles’. It’s been a pretty busy year for me so far with putting together the latest ‘Nyssa Challenge’ mini-review season and writing ‘The Sunfire Chronicles’. Hopefully it’ll be worthwhile when I begin to share my latest reviews and stories soon.

I leave you now with each of the synopses for the four stories in ‘The Sunfire Chronicles’.


1. ‘THE HORNS OF WULFE’

The Fourth Doctor, Private James and Bazooie meet Becceri, a beautiful gold-haired woman who’s on the run, when they’re visiting the planet Neimor. Can they protect her from a Sontaran headhunter named Wulfe, who has horns on his head? Will they also help her to locate the powerful Sunfire jewel?


2. ‘ROMANCE AND THE COW CREAMER’

A 1920s seaside resort. An ideal holiday resort for Nyssa, Billy and the Fifth Doctor. Unfortunately, they’re swept into a mystery where the woman called Becceri happens to be at their hotel and has stolen a cow creamer from a wealthy couple of aristocrats. Will the Doctor uncover more of this mystery?


3. ‘THE RACE OF ENDURANCE’

Michael Anderson is an experienced motor racing driver. But can he do well in a space pod race? He hopes so with Tegan as his co-driver. Thing go awry, as Becceri has stowed away aboard their space pod. Will the Fifth Doctor and Nyssa save Tegan, Michael and Becceri from Wulfe the Sontaran?


4. ‘QUASAR OF SARFENIA’

The Sixth Doctor, Peri and Frobisher visit the planet Sarfenia, where the tyrant queen Melbud rules. In her chambers, she has a powerful quasar cannon that can obliterate its neighbouring world Huigo. The Doctor is about to uncover why Becceri has been on the run and why Wulfe the Sontaran hunted her.


Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim 🙂

2 thoughts on “Basement Update – ‘The Sunfire Chronicles’

  1. A F J Kernow

    Hello again Tim,

    Sounds like an awesome quartet of stories. Looking forward to working with you again during your editing process. A jewel, a mysterious royal and a horned Sontaran headhunter… hmm… interesting set of components. Have fun writing them.

    Best wishes, Tony

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Tim Bradley Post author

      Hi Tony,

      Glad you find the stories awesome. ‘The Sunfire Chronicles’ has been a challenge to write as it’s four interconnected short stories as opposed to one standalone short story, but I’ve enjoyed the challenge. I’m about four scenes away from finishing ‘Quasar of Sarfenia’. I’m looking forward to completing it this week before I get onto editing the four stories each in turn, especially over the Easter weekend. Looking forward to working with you on them.

      Best wishes,

      Tim 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.