Bernard Hill (1944-2024)

Hello everyone.

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog and I’m Tim Bradley.

I’m very saddened that Bernard Hill, who played King Théoden in ‘The Lord of the Rings’ film trilogy by director Peter Jackson, has passed away recently. I was shocked to hear the news, especially as I hoping to meet him in person at the ‘Comic Con Mania Bolton’ event happening on the 18th of May.

I planned to share with him how much I enjoyed seeing him as Théoden in ‘The Lord of the Rings’ films, especially with seeing the trilogy earlier this year at Showcase Cinemas in Nantgarw in January. It’s a shame I won’t be able to do that in Bolton this month, but I’ll remember him fondly. 🙂

As well as playing Théoden, Bernard Hill was well-known for playing Captain Edward Smith in the 1997 film ‘Titanic’. I must admit, I don’t recall him well in that role compared to ‘LOTR’, but I’m pleased he was in that film. I’ll have to revisit ‘Titanic’ again sometime to appreciate the role he played in that. 🙂

I’ve also seen Bernard Hill in a 1999 BBC TV production of ‘Great Expectations’ by Charles Dickens, which also starred Ioan Gruffudd and Justine Waddell. It’s been a while since I’ve seen and reviewed 1999’s ‘Great Expectations’ back in 2017, but I did enjoy Bernard Hill as Magwitch in that TV production.

Again, it’s a shame that I’m not going to meet Bernard Hill in Bolton this month, as it would have been very nice to have met him in person and chatted to him about playing King Théoden in ‘The Lord of the Rings’ movies. I pray he’s gone to a better place. Long live the King and “Forth Eorlingas!”

My prayers and thoughts go to the friends and family of Bernard Hill during this difficult time.

Check out the BBC News tribute to Bernard Hill – https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-68962192

Thanks for reading, everyone.

Bye for now.

Tim

10 thoughts on “Bernard Hill (1944-2024)

    1. Tim Bradley Post author

      Hi scifimike,

      It’s been a long while since I’ve seen the 1997 film ‘Titantic’. Maybe someday I’ll get the chance to check out again and do a full-on detailed review on it. After all, I did full-on detail reviews on ‘Dark Season’ and 1995’s ‘Sense & Sensibility’, both featuring Kate Winslet. Why not ‘Titantic’? 😀 And it’ll be good to see Bernard Hill in the role he played to compare it to his performance as King Théoden in ‘The Lord of the Rings’ films.

      Thanks for your comments.

      Tim 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. scifimike70

        Titanic has always been my favorite Kate Winslet movie. Although I certainly admire her work in many other things including The Reader, Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind and Mare Of Easttown.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Tim Bradley Post author

        Hi scifimiike,

        I’ve seen a touching tribute given to Bernard Hill by the four actors who played the hobbits in ‘The Lord of the Rings’ at the recent ‘Comic Con Liverpool’. It’s available on YouTube.

        As for Kate Winslet, I’ve heard her in the 2020 film adaptation of ‘Black Beauty’ and recently in the 2017 film ‘The Mountain Between Us’ with Idris Elba – both films on Disney+. I’m looking forward to checking out the ‘Dark Season’ Big Finish audio anthology ‘Legacy Rising’, featuring Kate Winslet, sometime soon.

        Best wishes,

        Tim 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. scifimike70

        Kate Winslet has come a long and prosperous way as an actress. So it’s nice that she devoted her talents to Big Finish as well.

        Liked by 2 people

      4. Tim Bradley Post author

        Hi scifimike,

        It’s amazing how very popular actors these days have done Big Finish audios like Hugh Bonneville, Benedict Cumberbatch and Hayley Atwell, and now Kate Winslet is one of them. I didn’t expect to return to do a Big Finish version of ‘Dark Season’ considering how very busy she is.

        Many thanks,

        Tim 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. scifimike70

        I’d like to see Kate Winslet make a special guest appearance somehow on Doctor Who, either via Big Finish or the TV series, because that could be awesome. Maybe she could be the new Rani.

        Liked by 2 people

      6. Tim Bradley Post author

        Hi scifimike,

        I think it would be great to see or hear Kate Winslet in a ‘Doctor Who’ production, whether TV or audio. You never know, perhaps Russell T. Davies may consider inviting her to be in ‘Doctor Who’ with Ncuti Gatwa.

        Many thanks,

        Tim 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.