Making ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ – Part Three

Hello everyone!

Welcome to ‘Making ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ – Part Three.

This trilogy of blog posts focuses on the behind-the-scenes making of the first trilogy of stories featuring the Fifth Doctor; Nyssa and Billy in ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ series. The third blog post looks into the making and writing of the third story in the series, ‘Doom of the Daleks’.

If this is your first time, check out the first blog post ‘Making ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ – Part One’ and the second blog post ‘Making ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ – Part Two’.

WARNING: If you haven’t read ‘Doom of the Daleks’ yet, check it out now by clicking the link. Read further on in this post and you do so at your own risk. This blog post contains SPOILERS!


doom of the daleks

I finished the first ‘Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ trilogy in 2010. I started writing the first ‘Doctor Who’ story ‘The Railway of Time’ in 2009 before I finished it in 2010. I wrote the second story ‘The Space Hotel’ in the summer of 2010 whilst I did the third story ‘Doom of the Daleks’ in the autumn of 2010.

‘Doom of the Daleks’ was a story I’d planned to do when writing the first trilogy in ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ series. As a ‘Doctor Who’ fan, it would be mad of me not to write an adventure with the Daleks in it and featuring the Fifth Doctor; Nyssa and Billy. I enjoyed the experience very much.

When I wrote ‘Doom of the Daleks’, it was after getting my degree at Cardiff University and seeing Sarah Sutton at the ‘Regenerations 2010’ convention in Swansea, 2010. I wrote this story whilst I was at home in the autumn. At the same time, I was looking for a job whilst I was currently unemployed.

‘Doom of the Daleks’ was a more serious affair compared to when I was writing ‘The Railway of Time’ and ‘The Space Hotel’. Whereas the first two stories were light-hearted, ‘Doom of the Daleks’ goes into darker territory; as it puts our trio of heroes in a dangerous situation and they’re put to the test.

The Daleks are easily my favourite monsters in ‘Doctor Who’. From my ‘Doctor Who’ experience in ‘Dalek’ in 2005, to watching and listening to the other Dalek adventures in TV and audio, I was into these metallic meanies that want to exterminate; conquer the universe and to destroy the Doctor.

For my first Dalek story, I wanted to tackle something that was thought-provoking and challenged the audience’s perception of the Daleks as well as the Daleks themselves. The idea I came up with wasn’t an original idea, but it was a different slant on it and it also introduced a new set of enemies.

daleks-q1

The idea I had in mind was asking ‘what if there was something far more powerful than the Daleks’. This was addressed by Nicholas Briggs, to a certain extent, in his audio story ‘The Mutant Phase’. My approach to this was to provide the Daleks with an enemy matching their aggression and superiority.

I was disappointed with the way ‘Destiny of the Daleks’ told its story of the conflict between the Daleks and the robot-like Movellans. For me, it was a lacklustre story and the story focused on the computer programming aspects instead of focusing on the brutally and aggression of both creatures.

Also, I felt it was forgotten that the Daleks had creatures inside them and they weren’t just robots. So, I decided to pit the Daleks against an adversary that would be tougher than they were and that they threatened their superiority. These new enemies became the dreaded and ultra-violent Dwaxi.

dwaxi ship doom of the daleks

I originally created the Dwaxi as villains for the spin-off series ‘Torchwood’. Most of the ideas I had about the Dwaxi for ‘Torchwood’ are included in this story ‘Doom of the Daleks’. I was also inspired by the Jem’Hadar from ‘Star Trek: Deep Space Nine’ as they were like super-thugs addicted to a drug.

The Dwaxi are a representation of the human race gone badly wrong. They come from an alternative dimension and gained access to our universe via a spatial-temporal rift. It’s open for debate whether the rift in ‘Doom of the Daleks’ is similar to the one featured in Cardiff in the new series of ‘Doctor Who’ and ‘Torchwood’.

The development of the Yentias drug; the rift; the physics of the Dwaxi universe and the reasons for their ultra-violent behaviour were a challenge to write in this story. This is especially true when I balanced the writing in developing the Dwaxi and giving justice to the Daleks’ presence in the story.

The Doctor (Peter Davison) 2 - Copy

A lot of questions go unanswered in ‘Doom of the Daleks’ about the Dwaxi. This included the Directors, the leaders of the Dwaxi, who don’t make an appearance in the story. I addressed these issues about the Dwaxi and their leaders in stories that featured them later on in this fan-fiction series.

The Daleks were a joy to write for in this story. Although they were challenging to write, in terms of their dialogue and how menacing they could be, I enjoyed trying to understand how the Daleks worked and what makes them tick. It was great to write for them and use familiar Dalek moments.

The cliff-hanger to ‘Part One’ of ‘Doom of the Daleks’ was inspired from watching ‘Scorpion, Part 1’ of the ‘Star Trek: Voyager’ series. The teaser that had the Borg destroyed instantly by Species 8472, gave me the idea to re-use it as a cliff-hanger for the Daleks when they got destroyed by the Dwaxi.

starship doom of the daleks

I also wanted to do a ‘Star Trek’-styled adventure in ‘Doctor Who’ with my Dalek story. This is where the starship Moonraker and its crew come in. Being a Trekkie first before ‘Doctor Who’ came, I enjoyed writing the scenes set on the Moonraker bridge and including the familiar ‘Star Trek’-like characters.

The Moonraker characters like Captain Sulley; Elaine Thomas and Colin Wilson developed gradually as I was writing the story. I didn’t know the outcome of these characters; in terms of whether they died or became traitor. But I knew I wanted Elaine Thomas to survive at the end of this Dalek story.

The 26th century setting of ‘Doom of the Daleks’ came from seeing ‘Earthshock’ as well as ‘Frontier in Space’. This helped me to establish the war occurring between the human and Dalek empires. The alien planets of Yondamus Prime and Yondamus IV were based on characters I created from ‘so’ long ago in old stories I wrote when I was young.

billy doom of the daleks

The heart of ‘Doom of the Daleks’ of course is Billy’s journey as a companion and how his relationship is developed between the Fifth Doctor and Nyssa. Although established as a companion after ‘The Space Hotel’, Billy has a lot to learn and he faces some harsh lessons throughout this story.

After the light-heartedness of the first two stories, it was important to have Billy enter darker territory and to realise that travelling in the TARDIS isn’t as cosy as he hoped it would be. Billy discovers this when he; the Doctor and Nyssa encounter the Moonraker; the Dwaxi and the Daleks.

Having spent a lot of time with Nyssa in the first two stories, it was time for Billy to spend some time with the Doctor when they both get separated from Nyssa on the Moonraker. It was interesting exploring the interaction between the Doctor and Billy and how they worked well together and not.

nyssa1 - Copy

It was also nice to give Nyssa an adventure of her own and how she coped without the Doctor and Billy when separated from them. Inspired by ‘The Stockbridge Trilogy’ by Big Finish, Nyssa gets to demonstrate how capable and intelligent she is as a companion as well as a very resourceful woman.

Billy also shows how emotionally attached he is to Nyssa and how determined he is to save her when he feels she’s in danger with the Dwaxi on the planet of Yondamus IV. This shows when he clashes with the Doctor aboard the Moonraker and when he meets and is helped by Boco and Hilda.

The use of a fixed-point in time with the Moonraker was developed gradually throughout the story. It is revealed late in ‘Part Four’ of the story, but for me it needed to be built upon and hinted at whilst developing the characters of the Moonraker crew. It also adds to how Billy reacts to the situation.

Billy Walker

I wanted to have Billy do something out of compassion but was wrong in the Doctor’s eyes. This was when Billy saves Elaine from the Moonraker being destroyed, knowing that all Moonraker crew-members are meant to be dead. This raises the emotional level when the trio return to the TARDIS.

I also wanted to develop Billy’s interest in Nyssa, when he asks his first request in the TARDIS to go to Traken. This strengthens the relationship between Nyssa and Billy, as he discovers the circumstances of the loss of her home planet and family before the trio go to Traken at the story’s end.

Writing the first trilogy in ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ series in 2010 was one of the happiest experiences of my life as a ‘Doctor Who’ fan. It was an invigorating experience for me to write my own fan-fiction series. I soon made preparations to write the second trilogy of stories in my series for 2011.

Now in 2016, I’m gratified at the response and feedback to my first trilogy of stories in ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ series on my ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog. I was anxious about whether it was a good idea to share my stories, but having seen the reassuring feedback on my stories, I’m glad I did.

I was also pleased to share with Sarah Sutton about the stories I wrote on my blog and have my cover of ‘The Railway of Time’ signed by her. I’m looking forward to post the next set of stories in ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ series on my blog. I’m sure you’ll enjoy them when they become available.

Where the story goes for the Fifth Doctor; Nyssa and Billy after ‘Doom of the Daleks’ will be revealed in ‘The Tree of Riverloth’. As I write this post, I’m wondering myself how Billy will continue travelling with the Doctor and Nyssa having seen the harrowing things of time-travel. Will Billy stay on? Let’s find out!

TARDIS

THE END (FOR NOW!)

5 thoughts on “Making ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ – Part Three

  1. Timelord 007

    Tim your gift is writing my friend, you have written three unique & charming Fifth Doctor & Nyssa adventures that feature wonderful rich supporting characters & mix, action, humour, romance, drama & awesomely cool cliffhangers.

    Doom Of The Daleks was my personal favourite as you made the Daleks scary & added a enemy they were afraid of with the Dwaxi, Colin was a character i loved to loathe & boy did i loathe him lol & that scene with the Doctor & Billy at the story’s climax literally gave me goosebumps as i believed & emotionally connected to every word of that scene & agreed with both characters opinions.

    If these three story’s don’t get picked up & adapted by you for Big Finish audio theres no justice in this world, you know I’m brutally honest in my reviews & if i didn’t think the quality of storytelling was there I’d say so but Tim the quality IS there & the storytelling is rich & very engaging.

    You my friend are a awesomely good writer, anyone says any different has to answer to me cause I’ll defend your story’s without hesitation there brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Tim Bradley Post author

    Hi Simon.

    Very pleased you find my three ‘Doctor Who’ stories with the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa and Billy unique and charming and that you enjoyed the characters featured in it as well as the mix of action, humour, romance, drama and the cliff-hangers in them. Thank you very much for reading them.

    I’m pleased to hear ‘Doom of the Daleks’ is your personal favourite out of the three stories I’ve written. I was tentative about that story, as I wondered whether that story would be too violent in terms of the Dwaxi featured in the story. I’ve done my best with the balance of action and drama in the story, but I’m pleased that both you and Leigh (IWishIHadATARDIS) consider ‘Doom of the Daleks’ as a favourite out of the trilogy. I must have done something right there. 😀

    I’m pleased you found the Daleks scary in that story and I’m pleased you found the Dwaxi a worthy new enemy in ‘Doctor Who’. I know how much you loathed Colin Wilson in the story. He got he just deserts in the end, didn’t he? 😀 I’m pleased that scene between the Doctor and Billy in the TARDIS gave you goosebumps and that you hung on every word they said between them.

    I’m glad the quality of these stories impressed you, Simon. I hope that someone from BF will get to read my ‘Doctor Who’ stories and enjoy them whilst they’re at it.

    I hope to upload ‘The Tree of Riverloth’ very soon to my blog once I’ve done the finishing touches on it.

    Have you read my Short Trip called ‘The Space Car’? It features Ace, the Seventh Doctor and Gordon Rotenhend in it. I hope you enjoy that one. Here’s a link for it – https://bradleybasement.wordpress.com/short-trips-by-tim-bradley/the-space-car/

    Many thanks for your comments, Simon. Glad you enjoyed my ‘Doctor Who’ stories and you enjoyed my making-of blog posts.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. IWishIHadATardis

    Hi Tim

    I enjoyed reading this third part of the Making of the Fifth Doctor stories that you have written. It has been really interesting to read about the behind the scenes planning and progress on the stories that you have written to date.

    I think Doom of the Daleks is a really good story, and it takes Daleks, which any fan of Who would know so well, and places them in quite a unique situation, which is a very challenging thing to do. It is definitely a darker story, but I like that there are some very ‘human’ and light-hearted moments in the story as well.

    I would be very interested to see a Torchwood story that incorporated the Dwaxi; I think a Torchwood story would be quite a challenge, yet very liberating to write, as there really are no limits to where you can go with a story, if you have good protagonists, as you do, to start with.

    It’s really great that you’ve accomplished these stories, and have more ideas for future stories, Tim. It’s an excellent thing that not only have you written the stories, but you’ve enjoyed the process and the end result. What could be better than creating something like these, and enjoying what you have created afterwards.

    I am looking forward to reading The Tree of Riverloth when you are ready to put it up on your blog.

    Leigh

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Tim Bradley Post author

    Hi Leigh

    I’m pleased you enjoyed ‘Part Three’ of my ‘Making-of’ series of ‘The Fifth Doctor by Tim Bradley’ trilogy. I’m glad you enjoyed how I detailed the behind-the-scenes planning and progress of writing my ‘Doctor Who’ stories.

    I’m glad I impressed you with how I wrote ‘Doom of the Daleks’ and writing a darker story with the Daleks in a unique situation. It was a challenge to write, but I enjoyed the experience of having a go in trying to develop the Daleks in a unique way for my story. I’m pleased you liked the human and light-hearted aspects of the story. Yes, that was something I wanted to include especially with characters like Boco and Hilda, in order to make the story less depressing and emotionally-driven as this one turned out to be.

    I would like to do my own ‘Torchwood’ mini-series with the Dwaxi in it. I still got my original Dwaxi ideas for that ‘Torchwood’ series. I did have in mind to involve a story for Owen connected to the Directors and include a new vehicle for the Torchwood team to ride in called the Torch Flyer that is meant to fight against the Dwaxi. I’ve yet to decide whether to write that mini-series yet. Who knows? Hopefully I will. 🙂

    I want to thank you especially Leigh (and Simon (Timelord007)) for supporting my stories on my blog. Without you and Simon liking my ‘Doctor Who’ stories in my blog, I wouldn’t have been persuaded to continue with adding my stories to my blog. I initially was just going to upload the first trilogy and see what happens. Now that you and Simon are looking forward to ‘The Tree of Riverloth’, I’m looking forward to add more stories in this series, including the 2017 trilogy which I hope to add news updates and details very soon.

    I have finished ‘The Tree of Riverloth’! I now need to do some finishing touches to the story before I can upload it to my blog. Hopefully you’ll get to read it when it comes out in October.

    Many thanks, Leigh. Glad you enjoyed my blog posts!

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. IWishIHadATardis

      You’re very welcome, Tim, if my support of your writing has helped at all. It’s a pleasure to read well-written fan fiction, and your obvious care and concern for the characters as well as the storylines has made reading your work a delight.

      Putting your work out there like that is a very brave thing to do, and I’m glad that you decided to give it a try.

      I am looking forward very much to reading The Tree of Riverloth when it comes out!

      I know you’ve got lots of ideas for further stories, Tim, and I wish you well with your future writing, as and when you get a chance to get some of those ideas on paper!

      Leigh

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.