John Hurt – 1940-2017

09. War

Hello everyone.

I’m saddened to hear the news today that the actor, Sir John Hurt, has passed away. For me, Sir John played the War Doctor in the 50th anniversary TV special of ‘Doctor Who’ called ‘The Day of the Doctor’. He was also a big Hollywood movie star, appearing in the ‘Harry Potter’ and ‘Hellboy’ film series.

I’m so pleased Sir John has appeared in more ‘Doctor Who’ stories as the War Doctor beyond ‘The Day of the Doctor’. With Big Finish, John Hurt has starred in four lavish box sets of audio adventures in ‘The War Doctor’ range. The fourth box set ‘Casualties of War’ will be released in February 2017.

I enjoyed seeing John Hurt as the War Doctor in ‘The Day of the Doctor’. I was surprised that he was playing an incarnation of the Doctor who fought in the Time War between the Eighth and Ninth Doctors, but he became popular overnight and his legacy has stayed forever with ‘Doctor Who’ fans.

Here is a news article on BBC News covering the announcement of John Hurt’s death – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-38778145. I was impressed that Sir John has appeared in 200 films. As well as ‘Doctor Who’, ‘Harry Potter’ and ‘Hellboy’, he was in ‘I, Claudius’ and ‘The Elephant Man’.

I’m so saddened to hear that Sir John Hurt has passed away. It’s sad to know that there won’t be any more ‘War Doctor’ stories in ‘Doctor Who’ with John Hurt to play him. But I’m pleased he has made his mark as the War Doctor both in TV and audio. He will be fondly remembered as a big movie star!

My prayers and thoughts go to Sir John’s family, friends and all who knew him.

Thanks for reading.

Bye for now.

Tim.

4 thoughts on “John Hurt – 1940-2017

  1. Timelord 007

    Very sad news of John’s passing he was a remarkable actor who leaves behind a fantastic catalogue of film & tv work for us to enjoy & appreciate.

    His performance of the War Doctor in Big Finishes audio dramas are phenomenal he really adds a layer of a Doctor at war within himself.

    Gone but never forgotten.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. Tim Bradley Post author

    It is very sad news! I’m saddened about the circumstances of John Hurt’s death. I’m amazed he did so many films and it was all before he became the War Doctor in ‘Doctor Who’.

    I have purchased the first box set of ‘The War Doctor’ audio series by Big Finish lately. I’ll have to listen to that sometime soon as I’m sure he’s very good in these stories. I’m pleased his War Doctor has had more stories beyond his TV appearances.

    Thanks Simon.

    Tim. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. scifimike70

    I first saw John Hurt in Alien which, along with 1984, was a good sci-fi start for the distinguished actor. R.I.P., John, and thank you for you gave us with the War Doctor.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Tim Bradley Post author

      Hi scifimike,

      Thanks for your comments. I believe ‘Doctor Who’ was the first time I ever acknowledged Sir John Hurt as an actor and I’ve enjoyed him in both the TV series and the Big Finish audios. I’ve also enjoyed him in films like ‘The Black Cauldron’, ‘Tailor Tinker Soldier Spy’ and recently in ‘Indiana Jones and the Temple of the Crystal Skull’.

      Thanks for sharing the video too.

      Best wishes,

      Tim 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.