Movie Review – ‘Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice’

batman_v_superman_poster

Hello everyone! 🙂

I’ve seen the film ‘Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice’ at the cinema. I was wary about seeing this movie as I heard criticism about it beforehand and I’m more into the Marvel superheroes compared to the DC Comics ones. In the end, my parents and I went to see it and I’m pleased to have done so.

This film follows on after ‘Man of Steel’, the first Superman film with Henry Cavill in 2013. I enjoyed ‘Batman v Superman’, but I’m afraid it’s not the best superhero movie I’ve seen. It has good moments and it was fun to see how Superman and Batman meet on the big screen for the first time.

I’m afraid I did get lost in the plot in certain places. Things were made complicated during the events of the story in what should have been a relatively straight-forward film. My Dad said that this film was a lot of ‘flash-bang-wallop’. And I have to agree. It is a lot of ‘flash-bang-wallop’ with this film.

It was good to see Henry Cavill as Superman in this movie. Ben Affleck (from ‘Daredevil’) stars as Batman in this movie and does an interesting take on the character. It was also nice to see Amy Adams return as Lois Lane in this movie and Jesse Eisenberg plays a very young villainous Lex Luthor.

I was surprised and pleased to see Jeremy Irons as Alfred, Bruce Wayne’s butler in this movie. Wonder Woman also makes an appearance in this movie and is played by Gal Gadot. This is the beginning of the Justice League as Superman; Batman and Wonder Woman appear together in this.

I’m afraid I was disappointed by the ending of the movie. If you’ve not seen this movie yet, I’ll let you find out for yourself what it is and not spoil anything for you. I will say though that there’s a teaser at the end of this movie that was abruptly cut with the end credits rolling that got me annoyed indeed.

So ‘Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice’ isn’t the greatest superhero movie I’ve seen. It’s obviously meant to start the Justice League storyline as it had been done with the Avengers from the Marvel superhero universe. But it should have been a lot better and the story less complicated in the film.

I wouldn’t mind seeing ‘The LEGO Batman Movie’ in 2017, as there was a trailer for that at the cinema before ‘Batman v Superman’ started.

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Movie Review – ‘Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice’

  1. Timelord 007

    Completely agree with your excellent spot on review Tim, the Doomsday arc has been done way too quickly, DC haven’t built up their characters from Man of Steel then go add a new Batman, Wonder Woman & Lex Luthor.

    I liked Ben Affleck as Batman & Henry Cavill’s an awesome Superman but their fight was nothing special, the ending was just a lot of CGI & Jesse Eisenberg is hands down the worst Lex Luthor even if he’s playing Lex’s son.

    I felt disappointed & rated it 4/10 there’s a 3 hour R rated (15) cut being released in July so I’ll give that a watch & see if it improves the movie any.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Tim Bradley Post author

    Hello Timelord Simon! Glad you enjoyed my review on the ‘Batman v Superman’ movie.

    I’m afraid I’m not familiar with the ‘Doomsday’ or ‘The Death of Superman’ arc as you seem to be well-aware of, as I didn’t read many ‘Superman’ comics as a kid. I read mostly ‘Spider-Man’ comics when I was in the heyday of ‘Spider-Mania’ in the 2000s. Ah, so that’s what that monster in the movie was called. I wondered what that was about. Now I know. Thanks Simon.

    Yes it did seem like too much was put into one film with the addition of Batman and Wonder Woman in a Superman movie. I’m wondering if the one film should have been extended into a trilogy to explain all that was happening. I guess there’s going to be another film soon about the ‘Justice League’ at the cinemas.

    Yes Ben Affleck was pretty interesting as Batman (very different to how he did Daredevil, hey?). I like Henry Cavill as Superman. I too couldn’t see why there needed to be a fight between Superman and Batman, as the two surely could have worked more together in the story to beat the bad guys. Yes there was too much CGI included in the climax of the movie, even to follow it.

    I had no idea that Jesse Eisenberg was Lex Luthor until I discovered it later on in the film when he was announced as him. I thought he was just some kid who seemed to be a know-it-all and liked being cheeky. I found it an interesting interpretation of Lex Luthor. The moments where he taunts Superman were quite chilling for me. He almost sounded like a bad-boy Master at some points. But I think of Lex Luthor as being older than younger when I see a Superman film.

    Oh, so they’re releasing an extended cut of the movie that’s 3 hours then. Well that makes sense. Perhaps it will improve and enhance the story further as it should. Why couldn’t they put that in the cinema instead of the 2 1/2 hr film we’ve just had? 15-rated, you say? Oh my! Not many kids will be watching that then, will they?

    Thanks for your comments, Simon. Very pleased you enjoyed my review on ‘Batman v Superman’. I’m looking forward to ‘The LEGO Batman Movie’ next.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Timelord 007

    Yeah Doomsday was the creature who killed Superman in the comics, well Superman killed him but died himself due to his injuries but they gone about it differently in the movie which works but i think it’s to early to introduce a character who kills Superman when we haven’t got to know this Superman yet so his death didn’t give me the emotional impact it should have done.

    BBC did a full cast audio drama called Doomsday & Beyond which is getting re-released.

    The R rated cut includes a scene were Lex discovers Darksied is coming to earth which is another Superman villain a bit like Avengers or Guardians Of The Galaxy’s Thanos.

    Marvel have established their characters with their own movies before The Avengers so if anyone dies in Civil War movie the audience will feel the ramifications & sadness of that character’s death.

    You reviewed & rated this brilliantly my friend, the R rated cut includes a more violent Batman takedown scene, extended Doomsday fight & more story which was cut for timing but i agree with you that if people can go watch LOTR for three hours then they’d watch Batman V Superman.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.