TV Review – ‘Grantchester’, Series 6, Episode 6

Hello everyone. 🙂

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog and I’m Tim Bradley.

I’ve seen the sixth episode of Series 6 of ‘Grantchester’ on ITV1 shown last Friday! Usually, this is where a season of ‘Grantchester’ ends, but there are two more episodes to follow since Series 6’s episode count has been extended from 6 to 8 episodes, which isn’t the case in the previous seasons.

I enjoyed Series 6’s sixth episode, but I must admit I’m baffled by the decisions and journeys made by our two main leads. This is especially when Tom Brittney’s Will ends up in bed with someone and I’m not entirely sure what’s going on between Robson Green’s Geordie and an old friend of his here.

In the episode, the leader of a student CND group – Aimée Kelly as Rachel – falls to her death from a college building whilst staging a daring protest. Will and Geordie discover her death wasn’t an accident and there are sinister motivations behind the people who knew her who caused her death.

The murder mystery aspect of the episode is quite compelling and I enjoyed how the murderer was revealed. Will goes through a tough time as he’s missing Al Weaver as Leonard who’s currently in prison. Will is also angry with Stuart Bowman as Bishop Aubrey Gray once he gives him a new curate.

The new curate happens to be Ahmed Elhaj as Henry Jones. He’s nice enough, but Will doesn’t provide a good impression on Henry. This is especially when Will’s out and about solving the current crime case with Geordie and when he ends up sleeping with his stepsister Emily Patrick as Tamara. 😐

Understandably, Will was drunk at the time, but the last place he should have taken her to spend the night with her was in his bed at the vicarage. I was shocked at that. Thankfully, Tessa Peake-Jones didn’t spot them. 😀 I’m not certain how long Henry will last for as the new curate in Grantchester. 😐

Shaun Dooley also makes a return as Johnny Richards, Geordie’s old war friend in the episode. I’m not sure what’s going on between Geordie and Johnny, especially as the resolution to the previous episode doesn’t seem to be followed up here. I need to revisit the previous episode to check things.

Johnny is invited to dinner at Geordie’s place with Kacey Ainsworth as Cathy and Skye Lucia Degruttola as Esme. I’m not sure why Geordie seemed preoccupied over breakfast next morning concerning Johnny as he lashes out at Cathy at one point. Perhaps more is to be revealed in Series 6.

I like how the episode ended with Will visiting Leonard in prison. Leonard asks to be prayed for and Will obliges. I wonder if Leonard will be released from prison by Series 6’s end. Nick Brimble as Jack Chapman, Bradley Hall as Larry and Melissa Johns as Miss Scott also guest star in the sixth episode. 🙂

Series 6, Episode 6 is another enjoyable episode in the ‘Grantchester’ series. I’m not sure how things will turn out for Will as he was caught with his stepsister Tamara and I’m curious about what’s going on between Geordie and his old friend Johnny. I hope Leonard’s six months in prison will end soon. 🙂

There will be a delay to my review on the seventh episode of Series 6 of ‘Grantchester’, as I’ll be attending the ‘Bedford Who Charity Con’ next week. Hopefully my review on Series 6, Episode 7 of ‘Grantchester’ will be up on my blog soon! Stay tuned!

Thanks for reading.

Bye for now.

Tim. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.