Richard Franklin (1936-2023)

Hello everyone.

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog and I’m Tim Bradley.

I’m saddened by the news that Richard Franklin passed away on Christmas Day in December 2023. Richard played Captain Mike Yates in the classic ‘Doctor Who’ TV series with Jon Pertwee as the Third Doctor in the early 1970s. I’ve greatly enjoyed Richard Franklin playing Mike in ‘Doctor Who’. 🙂

I’ve had the pleasure of meeting Richard at four exciting conventions over the years. This includes ‘Big Blue Box 2’ in Tunbridge Wells, March 2013; ‘Time Warp’ in Weston-super-Mare, July 2014; ‘Valiant 2015’ in Sheffield, March 2015, and the ‘Folkestone Film, TV and Comic Con’ in May 2018. 🙂

In all the times I’ve met Richard at conventions, he always came across as very kind and very friendly. I’m pleased that I’ve met Richard at conventions, had items signed by him and had photos with him. The conversations I’ve had with Richard over the years have been very pleasant and enjoyable.

As well as playing Mike Yates in ‘Doctor Who’ with Jon Pertwee, Richard Franklin reprised the role for a cameo appearance in ‘The Five Doctors’. He’s also reprised the role in ‘The Nest Cottage Chronicles’ with Tom Baker by BBC Audio as well as in the Big Finish audios with Katy Manning et al.

Richard has also guest-starred in an episode of ‘Blake’s 7’ in Series 3. I’ve had the chance to write ‘Doctor Who’ stories featuring Mike Yates, including the ‘Zorbius’ story ‘The Matter of Reality’ and recently in ‘The Thirteen+ Doctors’. I’m glad I’ve included Mike Yates in my recent ‘Doctor Who’ story.

I regard Richard Franklin highly as Mike Yates in ‘Doctor Who’ and it’s so sad to think he’s no longer with us. I pray that he’s found peace after fighting the long-term illness he’s had. He’ll certainly be missed by the ‘Doctor Who’ family, especially as Katy Manning and John Levene have paid tributes to him. 🙂

My prayers and thoughts go to the friends and family of Richard Franklin during this difficult time.

Check out the BBC News tribute to Richard Franklin – https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-67820877

Thanks for reading, everyone.

Bye for now.

Tim

2 thoughts on “Richard Franklin (1936-2023)

    1. Tim Bradley Post author

      Hi scifimike,

      It’s very sad that Richard Franklin is no longer with us. I’m pleased I saw him at conventions. I guessed he wasn’t feeling very well lately since he didn’t do many conventions in the early 2020s. I’m glad he did the ‘Behind the Sofa’ items for the Season 10 Blu-ray box set with Katy Manning and John Levene, and I believe he did at least one ‘Spearhead’ virtual convention Zoom call run by Ian Kubiak in 2021.

      Many thanks,

      Tim 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.