TV Review – ‘Great British Car Journeys’ – Series 2, Episode 2

Hello everyone! 🙂

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog and I’m Tim Bradley!

Here we are again on another episode of ‘Great British Car Journeys’, starring Christopher Timothy and Peter Davison from ‘All Creatures Great and Small’. I currently look forward to Saturday evenings this month. I do enjoy seeing Chris and Peter driving together on the country roads via car.

In this episode, Chris and Peter set off on ‘a classic British seaside adventure’. They go from the New Forest through the Jurassic Coast to reaching Burgh Island. My parents commented about driving through New Forest before on holiday. I do not recall that and can’t remember which holiday it was.

Chris and Peter also get to drive in some famous cars on their seaside adventure. One of the cars is…Bessie from ‘Doctor Who’! Oh yeah, now we’re talking! This is like a perfect marriage of ‘All Creatures’ and ‘Doctor Who’ with Peter driving Bessie and Chris accompanying him as his passenger.

The funny fact is that Peter never got to drive Bessie in his era of ‘Doctor Who’. I mean, he sat in Bessie once during a photo shoot for ‘The Five Doctors’, but…that doesn’t really count, does it? It was wonderful to see Peter drive Bessie with Chris joining him. Peter drove Bessie well, didn’t he? 🙂

Back on the journey, the gents drove their Morgan 4/4 into Bournemouth. Hey, I’ve been Bournemouth! I went there for the ‘Bournemouth Film & Comic Con’ back in August 2015. 😀 Peter and Chris also met up with an owner of a red sports car from the 1970s. It looked pretty impressive.

I was disappointed that Peter and Chris never got to have a ride in that red sports car. That would’ve been amazing. But this got made up for when Peter and Chris meet up with this nice lady named Poppy in Weymouth. Peter got to drive a jeep before he drove a HalfTrack. Must’ve been exciting! 😀

Throughout the episode, Peter teased Chris about camping in a two-man tent. This was something Chris wasn’t looking forward to. I don’t blame him. It was funny to see them putting up a tent next door to a nice married couple who were in a caravan. The caravan looked small inside and out to me.

There was even a TARDIS reference! Gosh, how is it I can never escape from ‘Doctor Who’ when watching this series? With seeing Peter Davison and Bessie and hearing a TARDIS reference, can there be more? 😀 I’m disappointed though we never saw Peter and Chris sleeping in a tent at night.

It was great fun to see Peter and Chris race up a hill via a car and a cliff train. Peter was in his Morgan 4/4 whilst Chris rode up via the Babbacombe Cliff Railway to reach the top of the hill. I also enjoyed it when Peter and Chris drove into Torquay before they reached their last destination in the episode!

Torquay of course was the home of literary author Agatha Christie. I’m disappointed they didn’t have include ‘Fawlty Towers’ reference when they were in Torquay. 😀 I liked it when Peter mentioned to Chris he was in two ‘Miss Marple’s. One was ‘A Pocketful of Rye’ with Joan Hickson. 😀

Peter also drove a Morris Cowley, a car that Agatha Christie used to like. Chris sat in the back whilst Peter drove the car. I think Chris enjoyed being driven around by Peter in this episode. 😀 Thankfully, the two reached their destination and relaxed at the Burgh Island Hotel with glasses of champagne.

They had to do the last part of their journey on foot though. Sad, isn’t it? Interestingly, the hotel was where Agatha Christie got her inspiration to write her novel ‘And Then There Were None’. I hope the original novel by Agatha Christie is better than the TV production I watched back in December 2015.

The latest episode of ‘Great British Car Journey’ was a lot of fun. I enjoyed seeing Bessie from ‘Doctor Who’ in this episode and it was good to see Peter and Chris enjoying themselves in these car journeys they do. At this point, I wonder if a Christmas Special of this TV series will be made soon. 😀

Stay tuned for my review on Series 2, Episode 3 of ‘Great British Car Journeys’ next week! Catch up on other episodes in the ‘Great British Car Journeys’ series via the Channel 4.com link here.

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.