Movie Trailer Review – ‘Wonder Woman 1984’

Hello everyone! 🙂

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’s blog and I’m Tim Bradley!

A lot of films to be released at cinemas in 2020 have been rescheduled for later dates due to the coronavirus pandemic and the lockdown of many countries in the world – please keep safe. This of course is a pain. Many of us have been looking forward to seeing these films at the cinema this year.

There will come a time when we’ll see these movies at the cinema soon. Until then, I’m going to try and do something a little different on my blog. I’m going to review the trailers for the movies I’m looking forward to seeing at the cinema. This will be handy for me when I see these movies in future.

By reviewing the trailers, I’ll be sharing some thoughts and predictions on what I think the movies are going to be like when they come out. This should be a fun exercise. I can’t guarantee I’ll do this every week for every movie I’m looking forward to seeing at the cinema. But I’m hoping to enjoy it. 🙂

In the meantime, let’s take a look at a trailer for a movie I’m looking forward to seeing at the cinema soon – ‘Wonder Woman 1984’!

This is of course the sequel to the 2017 film ‘Wonder Woman’ staring Gal Gadot as Diana. I liked that movie when I saw it at cinemas and I enjoyed Gal Gadot in the lead role as well as seeing her play Wonder Woman in ‘Batman v Superman’ and ‘Justice League’. It’ll be nice to see her again here.

‘Wonder Woman 1984’ of course takes place in the year 1984. According to the synopsis, Diana Prince confronts two formidable foes which happen to be media businessman Maxwell Lord and friend-turned-enemy Barbara Ann Minerva/Cheetah. Diana also reunites with her lover Steve Trevor.

Now, I don’t know much about Wonder Woman in the comics but I can assume Maxwell Lord and Cheetah are definite foes in the ‘Wonder Woman’ comics’ universe. They seem to be interesting as villains. At least that’s the impression I got from the trailer. I hope it’ll be the case in the actual film.

Pedro Pascal stars as Maxwell Lord whilst Kristen Wiig stars as Barbara/Cheetah. Apparently, Barbara is an archaeologist. It was fascinating to see her being friends with Diana in the trailer. Not sure how she’ll become an enemy in the film. Max Lord seems to be an archetypal arrogant business villain type.

It’s nice to see Chris Pine’s coming back as Steve Trevor in the sequel. Odd though. I thought he died during the events of the first film. How come he’s back in the sequel? Is it the real Steve Trevor? Or did he get frozen in time like Captain America? Very intriguing questions which I hope will get answered in the movie.

I hope we’ll get to see some more romantic scenes between Diana and Steve in the sequel compared to the first film. There seems to be a promise of that for me according to the trailer. Gal Gadot continues to be super sexy whether she’s Diana or Wonder Woman. Hope it’s the same in the film. 😀

The film also features the return of Robin Wright as Antiope, Diana’s aunt and Connie Nielsen as Hippolyta, Diana’s mother. Not sure how they’ll fit into the film but I assume it’ll be in a flashback considering I saw Diana as a little girl in the trailer. It’ll be interesting to see if a flashback’s connected to 1984.

Speaking of which, there does seem to be a groovier atmosphere in the setting of 1984 for the sequel compared to the atmosphere of the first film which was set in the First World War. Wonder Woman even gets a new armoured costume at the trailer’s end. I actually prefer Wonder Woman’s original costume. 😀

I’m looking forward to seeing ‘Wonder Woman 1984’ when it gets released at cinemas. I hope to have a good time when I see the movie and hope to enjoy how the story of Wonder Woman continues in the ‘DC Extended Universe’. Whether it’ll connect to other films, I don’t know. That remains to be seen. 🙂

Hopefully ‘Wonder Woman 1984’ will be released in the UK and the USA on the 14th of August 2020. Let’s hope that will happen. If not, let’s hope at least it’ll get a digital download release. 😀

Thanks for watching and reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.