Adam West – 1928-2017

Hello everyone. 😦

Holy smoke! This is a real blow for me!

Adam West, the actor who played ‘Batman’ in the 1960s TV series, has passed away. Here is a news article on BBC News covering the announcement of Adam West’s death – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-40235142.

For my birthday this year, I had the complete DVD box set of ‘Batman’. I’m currently watching the series at the moment and on my way through the middle of Season 2. I’m really enjoying ‘Batman’ with Adam West and Burt Ward. It’s really cheesy yes, but it is fun and I find it better than the movies! 😀

I was hoping to see Adam West at the ‘London Film and Comic Con’ taking place in July 2017. In fact, my parents, my best mate Stephen and I were talking about meeting Adam West last Saturday afternoon. That was a minute before the announcement came that Adam West had passed away.

I was so gutted and devastated to hear the news. I was hoping perhaps to get my DVD box set of ‘Batman’ signed by Adam West as well as having a photo-shoot with him, including one with the Batmobile at the ‘London Film and Comic Con’. Sadly it wasn’t to be. A shame and a disappointment.

I’m so pleased that I’ve been able to enjoy ‘Batman’ with Adam West on DVD, as I’ve been able to appreciate the fun and cheesiness of the episodes featured in the TV series. My best mate Stephen and I watched episodes of ‘Batman’ last Saturday to commemorate and pay tribute to the actor who played him.

Many tributes have been made to Adam West including from Julie Newmar who played Catwoman in the TV series and Val Kilmer who played Batman in ‘Batman Forever’. I’m sad I never got to meet the caped crusader, but I’m looking forward to see the rest of the ‘Batman’ TV series later this year.

My prayers and thoughts go to Adam’s family; friends and all who knew him.

Thanks for reading.

Bye for now.

Tim.

2 thoughts on “Adam West – 1928-2017

  1. Timelord007

    I’m gutted too Tim, I grew up watching the re-runs in the early 80s on tv Saturday mornings at 10am I’d be plonked by the tv & we had wait a week for the resolution to the cliffhanger.

    While Nolans Batman trilogys is my favourite with Christian Bale as Batman the tv series has a special nostalgic place in my heart.

    I used to love Frank Gorshins Riddler he was unhinged & quite disturbing with that laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Tim Bradley Post author

    Hi Simon.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about Adam West. I’m pleased you have happy memories of him in the ‘Batman’ TV series and that you enjoyed it on Saturday mornings during the 80s, even though it is really campy.

    The joy about the ‘Batman’ TV series with Adam West and ‘The LEGO Batman Movie’ is that you don’t have to take it too seriously. The ‘Batman’ TV series is so much fun, compared to the darker quality of the movies which I also enjoy. I’m looking forward to reviewing the DVD box set of ‘Batman’ when I get through finishing Season 2 and 3.

    Frank Gorshin’s Riddler is my favourite villain from the TV series. In no way, is he Jim Carrey! 😀 I can do the Riddler’s laugh whenever I think of Frank Gorshin in that role. I laughed when he went “HO HO HO, HO HO HO, HEH, HEH, HEY” before Batman blew a hole in a wall and Robin went “Holy Smoke!” There was even a point when he ‘kissed’ a glass wall trapping Batman and Robin inside and laughing as well in the same episode. I watched that last weekend with my best mate Stephen to pay tribute to Adam West.

    And of course it would be remiss of me not to mention that Frank Gorshin played Bele in ‘Let That Be Your Last Battlefield’ in the original ‘Star Trek’.

    Stay tuned for my DVD box set review on ‘Batman’ coming soon – SAME BAT-TIME; SAME BAT-CHANNEL!

    Thanks Simon.

    Tim. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.