Holiday Report – Amroth (September 2023)

Hello everyone! 🙂

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog and I’m Tim Bradley!

After attending the ‘Popcorn TV, Film & Comic Con Sheffield’, I went on a family holiday in West Wales for about a week. On Tuesday 12th of September 2023, I caught the train from Cardiff to Tenby and met up with my parents before we got the bus to go to the caravan we were staying at in Amroth. 🙂

Yes, my parents were in Amroth already by the time I met up with them on Tuesday 12th of September. It was nice to spend a family holiday with them and I had a relaxing time after the excitement I had from Sheffield. There was quite a bit to enjoy whilst staying at the Amroth caravan.

Most of the things that my parents and I did in Amroth in September 2023 are similar to previous holidays in 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2022. It didn’t matter that we had these holidays before. It was a really nice opportunity to relax, especially after the busyness for the majority of the 2023 year.

I took photos of my cuddly dogs whilst holidaying, including Cuddles, Puddles, Buggles, Snuggles and Fuggles – Snuggles and Fuggles are Buggles’ parents. 😀 I took a photo of Cuddles, Buggles and Fuggles whilst on the bus to Amroth and I took a photo of Buggles whilst walking about in Amroth. 😀

It was good to take photos of the seaside as well as the big fish made out of plastic bottles that’s still in Amroth. For the most part, the weather was pretty good in terms of being dry and sunny. It started to get autumnal by the end of the week, as the last day of our holiday was so wet and windy.

On the Wednesday, my parents and I did a walk to Wiseman’s Bridge and eventually, we arrived in Saundersfoot. I enjoyed taking photos of the beach as we walked through Wiseman’s Bridge to Saundersfoot. We had a drink in Wiseman’s Bridge, and it was good to go through the dark tunnel. 🙂

Arriving in Saundersfoot, we had a meal at the Captain’s Table restaurant, and we even had ice creams afterwards. I took a photo of a Guide Dogs for the Blind charity box in Saundersfoot for some reason. 😀 And I purchased a rubber duck whom we named Donald. Buggles took to Donald well. 😀

Thursday was another relaxing day. I believed it rained early in the morning, but it got dry later on. Snuggles and Fuggles accompanied us on another trip to Wiseman’s Bridge and Saundersfoot that day. 😀 Once we got into Saundersfoot, we sat by where the harbour was. I think I fell asleep then. 😀

Friday was a very exciting day, as my parents and I went to Tenby. I took photos of the sea resort, and I purchased some items including a new wallet, a mountain walking stick and chocolate bars. I even purchased the latest issue of ‘Doctor Who Magazine’ whilst visiting Tenby that day. 🙂

We went on the beach, and it was a nice opportunity to take some photos of Cuddles, Buggles and his rubber duck friend Donald. Before going back to Amroth, my parents and I shared a bag of chips between us. We also stopped off at a Cadwaladers where Dad and I enjoyed our Coca-Cola floats. 😀

Mum had some vanilla ice cream instead. Back in Amroth, we had some photos taken of us as a threesome. We also enjoyed a little meal at the Temple Bar Inn, which included cups of tea to go along with them. Actually, we visited the Temple Bar Inn a couple of times for our meals and drinks.

The last full day of our holiday was Saturday, and we spent the day in Pendine. The weather wasn’t great, but we enjoyed looking around Pendine. This included a visit to the Museum of Land Speed. It was intriguing to uncover the vehicles driven by people at fast speeds in the 20th and 21st centuries.

This included the Babs vehicle, driven by John Godfrey Parry-Thomas, who was the first driver to be killed in pursuit of the land speed record in 1927. The rest of our day was spent walking around Pendine before we got the bus back to Amroth. Puddles joined us for the certain Pendine day too. 🙂

We finished off the day by having a meal at the Smugglers. I believe I had a cheese burger meal whilst my Mum had lasagne meal and my Dad had fish and chips. By that point, the evening was dry and sunnier, which is a contrast compared to earlier that day, as there was a lot of wind and rain to contend with.

Whilst staying at the caravan, we had our evening entertainment of watching episodes of ‘Allo, ‘Allo’ via Britbox. We also saw two ‘Doctor Who’ stories from Season 15 of the classic TV series on Britbox, including ‘Horror of Fang Rock’ and ‘The Invisible Enemy’. We also enjoyed seeing ‘Postman Pat: The Movie’ on Google Play. 🙂

My Mum and I checked out a few audio episodes of ‘The Avengers’ by Big Finish, starring Anthony Howell and Julian Wadham. Before going to bed, Dad read my latest ‘Doctor Who’ story ‘Interdimensional Rescue’ every night. I’m impressed that my Dad read the two-part story within the space of five nights.

We went home on the Sunday from Amroth to Cardiff via car. It was very heavy rain when we drove home. 😀 It’s surreal to think that I got to Tenby via train on the way up and came home from Amroth to Cardiff via car with my parents. Holidays do have very peculiar ways in how they turn out.

My latest West Wales holiday with my parents isn’t what you would call exciting, but then, it didn’t need to be. It was a nice opportunity to relax following the excitement of the Sheffield weekend. It wouldn’t be long before my parents and I ventured off for a ‘Doctor Who’ convention in Swansea. 🙂

Incidentally, the latest West Wales holiday happens to be the last time my parents and I will spend a holiday in a friend’s caravan. We’re considering returning to West Wales in the future, but it might be at a B&B in Amroth instead. Or we could stay overnight at the Premier Inn in Tenby. Who knows?

Thanks for reading!

Stay tuned for my convention report on ‘Regenerations 2023’ in Swansea, September 2023, which is coming soon.

Bye for now!

Tim 🙂

2 thoughts on “Holiday Report – Amroth (September 2023)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.