TV Review – ‘Great British Car Journeys’ – Series 2, Episode 4

Hello everyone! 🙂

Welcome to ‘Bradley’s Basement’ blog and I’m Tim Bradley!

I’ve seen the fourth and final episode of Series 2 of ‘Great British Car Journeys’ with Peter Davison and Christopher Timothy. My parents and I have had a good time of four weeks of TV entertainment via Channel 4, watching Peter and Chris driving in their Morgan 4/4 and enjoying country road journeys.

The Series 2 finale of ‘Great British Car Journeys’ has certainly been a lot fun! It certainly was better than the previous episode. In this episode, Peter and Chris drive along the Fosse Way through the historical heartland of the car industry to the centre of Roman Britain. This was so interesting to see.

I like how this latest car journey combined Peter’s love for motoring and Chris’ love for history with a right balance. It was amusing to see Peter baffled by some of Chris’ historical expertise and vice versa with Chris baffled by Peter’s knowledge of cars. The camaraderie between them is really good.

The car journey takes them from Devon through the British counties to reach the destination of Lincoln. It was amazing they drove through so many counties including Leicestershire and Nottinghamshire. My Dad wondered whether they’d be staying overnight at hotels within four days.

Thankfully they did. It was amusing to hear Peter Davison’s rant on a hotel’s nitpicky-ness regarding stealing coat-hangers. I didn’t think that was a thing. 😀 I enjoyed the stops Peter and Chris made to certain parts of their journey where they discovering little pieces of Roman history and car history. 🙂

Chris got the opportunity to try out a 1937 driving test. This brings back memories of when I had to pass my driving test back in 2017. I could tell Chris was nervous about doing the test under 1937 conditions. Peter was amusing playing the part of the car examiner when Chris made some mistakes.

A highlight of this episode is when Chris and Peter visited Bath and actually went through the Roman Baths. That was so surreal for me as I’ve been Bath many times and hopefully will be very soon. 😀 I’ve even written a ‘Doctor Who’ story featuring the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa and Billy set in Bath called ‘The Austen Code’. I wish Big Finish completed the circle by adapting ‘The Austen Code’ for audio. 😀

It was tense when Peter and Chris drove around a roundabout and their car doors nearly opened wide. It was also intriguing how Peter and Chris’ journey through the Fosse Way had roads closed off and they went on diversions. My parents and I have had experiences like that on country roads too.

With Peter and Chris driving through Leicestershire, it put me in mind of me seeing Peter at the ‘Science of the Time Lords’ events in Leicester in 2016 and 2019. It was fun to see Peter getting into an old fashioned bus in the Leicestershire area. He even had a go at tooting the horn in the bus. 😀

Peter also got the experience to drive a Minx car which what he had as his first car years ago. It was surreal to see Peter behind the wheel of the green Minx with Chris sitting next to him as it put me in mind of Sarah Jane’s car from ‘The Sarah Jane Adventures’. The car can be used for romance as well.

It was slightly scary when Chris and Peter were forced to stop by an old fashioned policeman in a police car. I thought for a moment that Chris and Peter had travelled back in time. Apparently they weren’t driving fast enough according to the policeman. Thankfully they didn’t get arrested here. 😀

Thankfully, Chris and Peter eventually arrive in Lincoln and may possibly consider retiring after their long journey. Who knows? They might. 😀 I like how the episode ends with Chris and Peter sharing their enjoyment of doing these car journeys, especially as they are life-long friends achieving all this.

I’ve greatly enjoyed Series 2 of ‘Great British Car Journeys’. I found it better than the first series back in February this year. The first two episodes were exciting whilst the third dipped and the fourth was a great and satisfying finale. I wonder if there’ll be a Christmas Special for this documentary series. 🙂

Catch up on other episodes in the ‘Great British Car Journeys’ series via the Channel 4.com link here.

Thanks for reading!

Bye for now!

Tim. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.